1989 Yugo GV Review

1989 Yugo GV 1.1 from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

Great car for the price

Faults:

Cable clutch broke (normal).

Brakes stay locked.

Window handles brake easily.

Timing belt broke.

General Comments:

This car runs great. It gives a good mileage per gallon of gas.

I like the style (European).

People make fun of it, but I will keep it until death do us apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2001

15th Apr 2006, 10:04

Yugo is crap to me... I live in Serbia and nobody likes it!

16th Apr 2006, 09:29

Read the reviews on this site and scan the Internet and you will find the Yugo now has a cult following, similar to the Trabant or Citroen 2CV. To each his own.

31st May 2006, 01:33

I hate how fashion conscience everyone is! I love cars like Citroen 2cv, Fiat 500, Trabant, Lloyd, and King Midget, but I would never be caught driving them in America. Ill have to move to a Country with open minded people, like France and Russia or Spain. But fortunately I would drive a Yugo and not feel like people are laughing at me (much). But all unique cars are fun until some one sees you in it.

31st May 2006, 23:58

Could not agree with you more! Unique cars ARE fun. Those who have a need to "conform to fashion" are boring and dull.

1st Jun 2006, 12:11

Other than the fact the Yugo was extremely easy to work on and fix, this car WAS a certified piece of junk because it ALWAYS needed fixing.

2nd Jun 2006, 02:26

Really? Speaking from personal experience, are we? Strange then, that the vast majority of Yugo owners enjoy years of trouble-free motoring. A responsible owner, who maintains his (or her) car diligently, should not experience the "always fixing" problems you refer to.

18th Jan 2007, 06:34

I bought a new Yugo in the USA for $3,000. I drove it for 4 years and put 148,000 miles on it. I spent less than $100. over that time on un-scheduled repairs, (emergency brake cable, outter tie-rod end, leaking heater core/control valve gasket). changed oil every 5,000 miles with Mobil-1. No car has EVER given me the service I got from my Yugo. Shame they stopped importing them...

Don

Kansas, USA.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 1 review