1982 Ford Meteor GA 1.5 Stock


It has treated me well for a first car!


My flange gasket blew, Cheap to fix.

Brake line cracked, Cheap to fix.

Manifold cover started glowing red, since been removed.

General Comments:

My Meteor is quite slow, almost seems like it does 0-100 kms in about 20 seconds.

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas or suggestions, that I could do to my car, remembering I'm poor, to make it go faster and look better.

All advice would be appreciated.

I have had my little beast doing 170 km's, but decided to slow down, as I was going down hill and I swear it had the death wobbles.

I want to get a body kit or something for it to make it look better and take off the strips on the doors and quarters.

Let me what you think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

17th Apr 2003, 22:21


I actually have a question in relation to my 1982 Ford Meteor. The engine has been cutting out whilst driving. It only happens when I have been at a red light and just about off again, or at a round-about when I need to slow down. The car has now been at the mechanics for just over 2 weeks, and he cannot figure out the problem. He has checked and doubled checked the dif, carburetor, the needle value, the petrol tank for a possible "build up" still to no avail.

I would appreciate any feedback/comments. We really stuck on this one...thanks.

9th Jul 2005, 07:32

Simply change the fuel filter!

18th Jun 2014, 07:37


That's what I did to mine. It's still all stock under the hood though; just tuned it a little.

1982 Ford Meteor GA Ghia 1.5L


A sweet first car


Dirt in the Carburetter.

Cracked Engine Mount.

General Comments:

I haven't had this car for very long, but so far its proving itself pretty well, apart from the few minor problems.

I will eventually do the car up, bigger engine, manual, etc. But for now, the performance is pretty good for the standard 1.5 L Auto. (0 - 100 10.5 seconds)

It's front wheel drive, so I can't really spin the wheels out round corners, but I can do handbrake slides in wet weather, and it handles them with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2002

1982 Ford Meteor GA 1.8 DOHC 16v EFI turbo


Extreme madness needed



General Comments:

I have owned this car for so many years. I have updated the engine to a BP 1.8 Ltr, DOHC 16 Valve EFI Turbo. It is a class 2e race car and has a kilowatt rating at the wheels of 248kw running a KF TX3 Turbo 5 speed manual, Turbo TX3 KF Front and rear disk brakes, and weighing only 856kg, it eats V8 HSV Commodores and XR8's alive, without even running max boost.

Now some people may say why would you do it, the answer to that question is that it was my first car, and I know most guy's out there would like to have their first car back...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

3rd Jul 2001, 19:09

Any Pics???

22nd Jul 2001, 05:12

The TX3 turbo was the fastest four cylinder car in Australia so I would appreciate any avaliable pictures of sucha sweet car. Ohh, and besides that, it's a Ford because FORDS RULE.

22nd Jul 2001, 18:13

Hahahaha meteors kick ass, I've got a GB meteor & its given me hassles, but it's going great now :). It's my first car.. & I've run out of money so I can't modify it ATM.. but I've increased the cam timing and the fuel/oil mixture. I'm gonna get extractors on it once I get the money.