1997 Mitsubishi RVR Sportsgear X3 2.4 GDi




Braking feels like a block of wood under the pedal.

Replaced a couple of bulbs.

Paint dim and flaking.

No workshop manual available in print. However a pdf file is available.

General Comments:

Made from 1997-2002, the RVR New Shape was voted Car of the Year in 1997.

Apart from it being a four-seater, the legroom for those of us above average height is exceptional. If you're 6'5" like me, you'll find it very comfy with the driver's seat back and will almost reach the optimal driving position. If you're used to folding yourself up in impossible positions just to get into a car or 4x4, then prepare to unwind yourself from cramped driving positions to great relief for your back.

It's surprisingly quick and extremely stable in corners. The Inveccs-II tip-tronic 4-speed transmission is a dream to handle when wanting a little extra grunt to overtake, and the computer remembers your drive style so it will mimic it when you reach the threshold.

The latest incarnation of the Outlander range has an Inveccs-III 6-speed transmission in comparison. It's not as much fun to drive though.

Apart from obvious cosmetic differences, a large portion of the mechanicals and some body panels like the front doors, dashboard and seats are shared with the Chariot Grandis/Nimbus 7-seater. The engines are also shared with the Galant and Magna models.

I sometimes use this car to camp out in, especially after a long drive it's nice to flatten the seats and really stretch out. Current 4x4 and even the Outlander somehow do not have the camping out capabilities I seek in a car. My old Chariot had it, but most of the modern cars do not, however the Daihatsu Materia comes real close to that personal level of comfort.

It has two airbags standard. The tinted windows won't shatter, only splinter, so security and safety are exceptionally high.

My RVR is the All-Wheel drive version. Stands tall on 16" standard factory mags, and a year ago I replaced all 4 tires M/S tires, great in the rain and whatever else nature throws my way. Off-roading is out of the question, it's a city/rural road type car. Good thing it's a tad higher, but is still cute next to the bigger SUVs.

Workshop Manual is not available in print, however found a site that sells a pdf file format of the '98 Spacerunner. So far it's helped keep the costs down by applying the do-it-yourself method.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2008

23rd Mar 2013, 10:28

I like this car. I have it, but now its gear box has broken. Help me, I'm in Zimbabwe. My email is thulanigumbo2002@yahoo.co.uk

1995 Mitsubishi RVR X3 2.0L turbo petrol


One big adrenalin rush


Fuel economy

General Comments:

The best, quickest, most reliable car I have owned in 35 years.

Look for the X3, they are a sleeper. No bull-bars, no spare whell on the rear door, no steps. I make "boy-racers" look sick in front of their friends, as this car just obliterates them.

Standing 1/4 mile in my factory RVR X3 was 14:55sec.

This year, with only $500 spent, it will do 13:6?.

Try one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2007

15th Apr 2011, 23:50

I have owned my 95 X3 for eight years now. In all that time, the only faults I have suffered are:

1. Cigarette lighter not working.

2. Reversing light not working. I have spent around $500.00 on it, a 2 1/4 in exhaust, pod filter and manual boost control, running 15lbs PSI.

I have raced it in 1/4 mile and 1/8 mile, quickest 1/4 was 13:97 sec. This is the quickest car I have owned and the boy racers surely don't like old grandpa beating their all show, no go cars.

1995 Mitsubishi RVR Super sports gear 4G63 2L turbo


Swift, Practical, reliable, affordable, though experienced drivers only need apply


I have a leaky Exhaust gasket.

General Comments:

This vehicle is incredibly practical. A camping weekend away or a swift trip down the strip, your choices are endless.

It's a performance RV with heaps of space for a small family, a moderate ground clearance, and a strong and reliable 4WD system. Weight is reasonable for its size with the scales tipping 1500kg. Straight line speed is exceptional, then again it does have Mitsubishi's legendary 4G63T mill gifting 170kw to spin the 215x65 15R's, though whilst off boost can return fuel economy that would put most medium cross-overs to shame. And with relatively inexpensive mods can be Quick enough to return 13sec quarter mile times.

There are no real negatives with this unique offering from Mitsubishi, though if you want to go hard around corners, your choosing the wrong car. And as with all vehicles with a higher centre of gravity (particularly quick ones), bury the accelerator, you get under steer, and as the car is getting frighteningly close to the edge of the road, you lift off like mad, and the result will be devastating over steer and most likely a serious crash for the inexperienced. This, along having to change direction quickly to avoid a possible accident are equally detrimental to your health.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2006

10th Oct 2006, 02:45

I was wondering what the fuel economy is for an RVR as I am thinking about purchasing a Hypergear.

16th Oct 2006, 23:36

12-13L per hundred kilometres for the hyper-gear off boost.

10L per hundred kilometres for the Super Sport Gear off boost.

7th Nov 2006, 21:39

What does anyone know about the acquiring of spare parts of this vehicle? I'm hearing that they are compatible with Mitsubishi Galants and thus it is quite easy to obtain parts. Is this true? I'm looking at a Mitsubishi RVR 20 series sportsgear 95 version.

9th Nov 2006, 16:07

The RVR's basic engine and driveline layout are very similar. Many parts can be carried from the Galant. I haven't had the car for too long though some parts for service were a little more difficult to come by and had to be ordered. Some other vehicle parts may have to be ordered through Mitsubishi. And if you want the thing too go quickly, things like FMIC will need be custom fabrication and fitting, and pro coilovers are really your only option for handling. This car is for individualists and there aren't many around so parts will be less common and more expensive. If you want cheap thrills, you'll have to drive a much more common/less interesting car like Commodore/Silvia or even Corolla (Yawn).