Mitsubishi RVR Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 5

1994 Mitsubishi RVR space gear 2 litre turbo diesel

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2 litre turbo diesel Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Honda

Summary:

Don't buy a diesel version

Faults:

Manifold cracked, required welding.

Being a 4 wheel drive had changed 4 new tyres within a period of 2 years.

Knocking sound in the automatic gearbox.

Poor acceleration.

High consumption of fuel.

This model has low diesel technology and very noisy engine!

General Comments:

My first comment regarding this vehicle was on 28.07.2004.Some of you will be wondering why I had kept this RV for so long even though I had given a lot of negative comments. The reason being it has no resale value. For potential buyers of RV turbo diesel, please look for other petrol models of Mitsubishi. It will save you time and money. Best of luck mate!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2006

9th Oct 2007, 13:18

Couldn't agree more with this chap. The diesel is slow and very uneconomical - I'm getting less than 25mpg and it drives like a slug.

20th May 2009, 16:17

I just don't get this, I've just purchased a 1996 turbo diesel and it's pretty good fuel economy is not bad, about 30 to 35 mpg. It's comfy, it's not that fast but not that slow either. Maybe I just got a good un.

1995 Mitsubishi RVR

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

Excellent

General Comments:

RVR a real manly choice. I love driving it. Its seating arrangement is great. it gives plenty of room for use. I get reasonable mileage.

The multicommunication system is really confusing.

I really don't understand how to use it. could somebody help me?. I would like to know that can we play CD in it.

Thank you very much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th April, 2006

1997 Mitsubishi RVR Sportsgear X2 2.4 GDi

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 GDi Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired62500 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Chariot

Summary:

A modern mini-SUV that hides its true passion

Faults:

There's no workbook manual available for this model.

General Comments:

The choice of either using the automatic or the tiptronic part of the INVECCS-II transmission is absolutely thrilling, especially with overtaking.

Because it's a bit high like a 4x4 it tends to over-steer through corners.

The car is a bit more sensitive to cornering than my previous car, which was easier to point in the direction I wanted to go.

Although a four-seater, the storage and passenger room is fantastic.

With the fully adjustable rear bench, rear seat passengers have o lot of head, shoulder and legroom, as much as the driver and front passenger.

Even though my other car is a seven-seater I still prefer the safety features of my current mini-SUV to the 1980's style of my old '90s Chariot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2005

30th May 2007, 22:08

No - you can't get a workshop manual, but you can get an Owners Handbook translated by JPNZ - $NZ56.25 online in NZ, $NZ55.00 from Techbooks, Newmarket, Auckland.

Also Stg19.95 from the UK. (Google Handbooks-Translated)

5th Aug 2008, 21:23

There was a pdf available as the car shares many components with the Chariot Grandis.

1995 Mitsubishi RVR Super Sports Gear 2.0 turbo

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Awesome performance meets practical family car

Faults:

Purchased 2 days ago. Have noticed a bad "miss" under hard acceleration around 2500RPM.

Suspect the front suspension bushes require replacing as they rattle at speeds below 60Km/H.

Exhaust tip is fairly black so I suspect it's running rich and will require adjustment.

CD player keeps skipping so it will be discarded for a new model.

General Comments:

This car was purchased due to it's flexible seating arrangement. Performance was initially secondary - until I learned what was under the bonnet.

I find it's amazingly quick and have enjoyed the extra power. Will be running some tests to see what fuel consumption is.

After going around corners I feel like stopping to check to see if some has put it on rails!

Wheels are 16" alloy wearing Yokohama 225/60R16 tires that look near new.

It has a bullbar, foglights, side rails and Haymen Reese towbar.

Visibility is excellent.

Couple of points:

How do you set the compass?

What does the A/T button (on the next to the exterior mirrors control) do?

What is the little mirror on the front left guard for?

How do you activate the headlight washers?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2005

1st Nov 2005, 20:35

Have put together a log file of my fuel consumption - since purchasing this car it's average is 11.56L/100Km.

That's a mixture of town running and long distance runs (2X 420Km and 4X120Km).

Still has the "miss" and still seems to be running rich so will be working on it over the next month and see if the fuel exconomy improves.

8th Apr 2006, 17:08

The miss-fire type thing at around 2500 rpm is apparenty caused by using incorrect spark plugs. Replacing them with Denso Iridium IW22 plugs should solve that problem.

The engine is essentially out of a Lancer EVO 3, so many SSR drivers frequent evo forums for tips.

14th May 2006, 09:02

How To Set The Compass.

Press the "S" button briefly while stationary.

You'll notice the arrow go back and forth (Side to Side).

While this is happening, very slowly drive off and make a full turn (full circle).

This should automatically reset the Compass to where it's suppose to be! It's amazing...

14th May 2006, 09:12

To activate the headlight washers all you have to do is press the button on the tip of the indicator column.

The mirror on the front left is purely to check the blind spot around the front left wheel. It's useful when reversing or to check how far away from the curb you are when parking.

It must be positioned so that the arrow meets the dot where it turns!

6th Oct 2008, 21:38

I am looking at using a 1995 non turbo 2l petrol RVR for towing a small-ish boat (4-5 metre). Has anyone ever towed anything with an RVR and how did they get on?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews