Chrysler Voyager Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 3

1993 Chrysler Voyager 3.0 3.0 V6

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Last Chrysler I'll ever buy.

Faults:

At 68,000 miles, the transmission locked up, Chrysler replaced it for free under warranty. Now the transmission shifts really hard to second.

The head gaskets began to leak oil to exterior of engine at 45,000 miles.

Keep replacing engine mounts, a V6 transverse mounted engine seems to be too much horsepower.

Parts are very expensive, e.g. rubber bumpers...etc.

Radio works when it wants to.

Engine dies at intersections since vehicle was about 6 months old.

Power door locks and security alarm had to be disabled after 9 months. Power locks were replaced twice for free and then at $45.00 each once they lasted about two months.

Rear view mirror fell off twice since purchase. Approximately at two years and five years.

General Comments:

Advertised as "buy American" and comes equipped with 3.0 Mitsubishi's engine. Very disappointed at quality control department.

Chrysler knowingly sold these vehicles with less than transmissions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

26th Dec 2003, 09:35

There is a simple solution to your gearbox problem: have your garage drain some oil from it.

I've had the exact same problem after a second (!) gearbox change. It seems that if the oil level is just a bit to high it starts to malfunction...

I'm also wondering if your door-lock actuators are well adjusted. If you put to much stress on them they don't last long.

I have owned two of these baby's and find the engine the cars strongest point. It's practically flawless, (it should, made in Japan) unlike the real American 3.3 and 3.8 engine...

20th Mar 2004, 16:10

I bought one used in 1995 with 60K on it. It now has 165K on it and the only parts replaced other than normal wear (brakes, etc) has been one window control switch and one power steering pump.

My transmission had the lurching shifts, but I installed Amsoil synthetic fluid and the problem gradually went away over a month or so and is now just starting to come back. Time to change the fluid after nearly 90,000 miles!

The Mitsubishi engine is known among mechanics as a problem engine. The Chrysler 3.3 is just about bullet proof!

19th Sep 2005, 19:33

In response to the comment about the Mitsubishi 3.0L engine built in Japan. Yeah, they're real flawless alright. You can identify that engine with the large cloud of blue smoke trailing the vehicle it's stuck in. For reliability, go with the Chrysler 3.3L or 3.8L.

2002 Chrysler Voyager eC 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

A lemon, and no buy back provided without legal hassle

Faults:

Transmission defaulted 3 times in first 10,0000 miles, causing car to not shift. (One time this occurred when I was turning left off a highway, in front of an 18-wheeler. Thankfully, I managed to manually shift to Neutral and avoid being struck.) These have each been diagnosed as "computer" problems - once the solenoid was replaced, once the transmission control module was replaced, and last they tell me there was moisture on the connection (on a hot dry Texas day with no puddles or road moisture for weeks).

In addition, the locks sporadically lock and unlock - even when the van is not running. This means that when you leave your van in the parking lot, locked up safely, there's a good chance it will be unlocked when you return to it. The dealership stated they did not know how to fix this, and merely installed a security system on the van in order to reduce the probability of theft if the van unlocks itself.

General Comments:

I have been more than patient with the dealership and Chrysler up to now. I realize that problems sometimes occur in a new vehicle. However, averaging 3 days in the shop for every 2,000 miles we have driven - it's obvious that this van is a lemon. I have been extremely disappointed that neither the dealership nor Chrysler will stand behind the product they sell/manufacture and "buy back" this defective vehicle unless I go through a long and involved legal hassle, which could take up to 150 days - during which I have no "dependable" vehicle to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

8th Apr 2004, 11:29

I am glad to here I am not the only one living a nightmare, if theres any advice to anyone I could give if you want your family safe, do not buy from the Chrysler motor corp, it could kill you.

15th May 2006, 17:12

I too have had transmission problems with a 2002 Chrysler voyager, but my problems didn't start until about 35,000 miles (about 1 year ago). It has been in the shop about 8 times with the same symptoms, the check engine light comes on, the transmission goes into limp mode (doesn't shift out of first). If we go on a long trip we rent a vehicle because we trust the car. Luckily I purchased the extended warranty and all repairs have been made under warranty with 1 $50 copay.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews