1992 Ford F150 XL 5.0L 302 gas

Summary:

It's a great truck to have for driving with decent fuel economy

Faults:

The main issue is that there is a starting issue with it; once you drive it for a while and shut it off, then wait 15 minutes or so, it turns over for a long time before it starts.

The engine seems to run good, but does get pretty warm, but not warm enough to overheat.

General Comments:

The seats are comfortable.

The truck drives and handles great.

Has lots of power when I need it.

The 4X4 is helpful.

However the starting issue is a pain. And it gets way too hot to work on after a short running time.

The truck does get decent fuel mileage too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2014

1992 Ford F150 XLT Flairside 5.0 gas

Summary:

A strong and fun truck that looks good

Faults:

The fuel pump went at 150,000.

Replaced the seat with a custom bucket. The old seat was fine.

General Comments:

Excellent truck. I own two of them; the 92 has the 5.0, and I have a 94 with the 4.9. Both are 4x4. The 5.0 runs on the highway better, but the 4.9 handles towing and has more torque.

My only issue with the truck is with current gas prices, and I only get about 16 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2013

1992 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 5.0 V8

Summary:

Great truck

Faults:

Bought it from my brother with a blown engine at 155000.

Brakes were shot.

No A/C bad compressor and lines.

Power windows needed new motors.

Paint job was peeling off.

General Comments:

Fixed everything on a budget.

Everything works great.

4-wheel drive is excellent; haven't got stuck yet.

Always come out to find people leaving offers to buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2010

1992 Ford F150 Flareside 5.0

Summary:

This truck is fast, well built, and reliable

Faults:

NONE that I consider major.

General Comments:

I've had my F-150 Flareside for 12 years. When I got it, it had 48000 miles on it, and it now has 219000 on it.

Other than maintenance such as oil changes, transmission filter and fluid changes, I have only had to do minor things such as heater hoses/serpentine belt, new brakes etc. I haven't had to do anything.

Now I have replaced by choice the radiator with a larger 4 core all aluminum, as well as a cold air system.

At around 145000 miles, I did replace the shocks as well as factory tie rods, however I did not waste my money on Ford parts; I instead used MOOG's.

I upgraded exhaust to true duals and Hooker headers.

All my vehicles are Ford's, and will continue to be. MAINTENANCE is the key here. Minor things only remain that way if you fix it when it's minor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2010

1992 Ford F150 XLT inline 6

Summary:

The best truck money can buy!

Faults:

New water pump at 90,00.

New pan (rusted out) 110,000.

New ignition switch 130,000.

New seat belt latch 179,000.

General Comments:

It has been like family member, still runs like a champ.

It is in need of a new blower motor (189,000).

I have never owned a car or truck this long before. If I had any idea I would have kept it sooo long, I would have put stainless exhaust on it. I have replace it several times through the years.

I can't say enough good things about the old girl. Never has failed me... Can't say as much about other things...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2010

15th Nov 2011, 16:01

343,000 miles on Nov, 15 2011, oil pan is rusting away, replaced radial arm bushings twice, and is in need again.

Tie rods need replaced, and the water pump was replaced at 189,000 miles.

Rear gas tank rusted away at 200,000 miles, didn't repair it, have two tanks.

New heater core last year, and this is the third time I have had to replace the brakes and rotors.

This truck has been the best vehicle a person could possibly buy. I thank my lucky stars they didn't have the Chevy 1500 I originally was looking to purchase in 1994.

1992 Ford F150 Custom 300 CID inline 6

Summary:

A hard working truck

Faults:

Needed new clutch and clutch slave cylinder.

Inside door latches quit working.

Replaced exhaust system.

Replaced starter.

General Comments:

All in all, it's been a really good no-frills working, hauling truck. I got it at an auction for $600 and the only major repair it's needed is to have the clutch and clutch slave cylinder replaced.

Air conditioning still works very well.

The gas mileage is not all that great though; it gets probably about 10-12 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2010