1992 Ford F150 Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 6

1992 Ford F150 300 straight six

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 300 straight six Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Burn evil truck burn

Faults:

Both fuel pumps failing.

Alternator caught on fire 4 times.

Transmission went out 3 times.

Lights staying on with electrical switch's in the off position.

Ciggarette lighter actaully caught on fire.

Both door handles on the inside broke every 5 months.

Entire fuel system failed at about 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

The funny thing is that all the problems that I listed were not mileage related.

I paid nothing for this truck and I still got ripped, never accept free fords from your relatives.

Surprisingly enough it lasted over 300k miles.

Everything catches on fire on these trucks.

Thank god the alternator had a recall on it, fire damage in engine compartments is expensive.

The smell of the burning electrical systems still haunts me to this day.

The coolest thing ford has ever done was when they circled the problem in their emblem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2003

13th May 2006, 00:56

Dude, you're whining about reliability issues with a truck with 300k miles on it? That someone gave you? Friend, just make sure nobody gives you a Dodge or else you'll really have something to complain about.

13th May 2006, 13:11

I concur 300k on a car you got for free. You have no right to complain. There is no such thing as a free lunch,

26th Aug 2007, 19:27

After you and your family have driven this vehicle for eleven years and accumulating THREE HUNDRED THOUSAND MILES, this truck owed you absolutely nothing at least 150,000 thousand miles ago.

I just can't imagine if it was that horrible a truck, why you and your family would torture yourselves by owning it for eleven years and averaging approximately 30,000 miles per year.

I am not excusing Ford for some of its shortcomings, but let's agree you and your family easily got your moneys worth out of this vehicle, and in my opinion really can't complain.

I have owned vehicles which I have HATED in the past and have parted with them quickly. I also know other people which have owned the same make and model who absolutely love the model I detest. The lesson I have learned is buy what you like, and can afford, but if it doesn't work out for you, it doesn't mean that they are a bad choice for everyone else. Enough said, and be grateful for 300,000 miles whatever the circumstances.

1992 Ford F150 Flareside XLT 4.9L

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.9L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired172000 miles
Most recent distance252000 miles

Summary:

One of these days I think it will be a true classic

Faults:

The only major thing that happened to this truck was the engine got out of time and the exhaust manifolds starting leaking bad so I had that fixed. This happened at about 230,000 miles and just the other day I had to put a slave cylinder in it. Not bad for a truck that has traveled 252,000 miles. It also has had just general maintenance repairs made to it to keep it in good shape.

General Comments:

This a very dependable truck and it will always stay in the family if I got anything to do with it. The truck looks like new on the inside and expect for the clear coat coming off on the passegar side door the outside shines like a jewel. They built a good truck when they made this one and that 300 in-line 6 cylinder engine is the toughest ever made. This pickup still has many miles ahead of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2003

1992 Ford F150 XL 302

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 302 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance207563 kilometres
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

A BIG BOAT

Faults:

2nd engine.

Oil leak, but fixed.

Running board came off.

Radiator leak fixed.

General Comments:

Lots of power, great for skids, captain chairs are very comfortable, good stock speakers.

Could get another 100 000 km on it

Bought it for $12 000, worth right now $5 000.

Lots of head and leg room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2003

1992 Ford F150 LX 5.0L V8

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carGMC 1984 Chevy 1/2 ton.

Summary:

A good farm truck

Faults:

Right after I got the F-150 the starter went. ($250.00).

Then, on a long trip (1600 km) from Winnipeg to Minneapolis, the housing behind the water pump had a crack in it. (I didn't know this). Repair cost: $260 US (replaced water pump).

Transmission repair (leaking fluid at Torque converter) - 100,000 KM Cost: $990 dollars. (It leaked every time it would sit after running). Basic replace of torque converter. Mechanic said "This happens on all Ford Electronic Overdrive transmissions".

New tires (normal), new brakes (normal wear). Several manual fixes to the cracked seal behind the water pump (I could not afford the costs to replace the housing). So I baby'd it.

The front fuel tank was impossible to fill in Canada (kept burping up). But it worked great in the US because many stations there use "vacuum pumps" in their gas stations. They suck the air out of the tank while filling. Canada ones don't do that. : (

General Comments:

It was a nice truck over all, but the reliability was starting to get to me ($$). And, the hungry V-8 engine was very thirsty! 30.00 in gas every 4 days. Wow!

The truck drives, well, like a damn truck. I grew up driving them so I expected a 'so-so' ride on a bench seat. I loved the over drive. It would never jump out of O/D even going UP a hill and loaded!

I miss it. But I don't miss the repair issues and the high cost of gasoline consumption.

-CS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

16th Jan 2003, 18:38

All of the reasons that you listed are exactly why you don't, but from Ford. Next time go with something not made in America, such as a Toyota.

10th Nov 2004, 17:56

Actually, I would consider a 2005 Ford F150 over a Toyota Tundra any day. The truck is solid and works.

-CS.

2nd Apr 2006, 21:21

Looking back at my 2004 comments... I would not buy another truck at this time. I spent too many years driving them. I have driven quite a few sports cars and even some regular "imports". I love German cars. Anyway, my original comments ring the same... now that gas is 1.10 per liter (Canadian), I am grateful I got rid of it.

Stoneman / CS.

18th Mar 2009, 20:49

Where in the world would you pay 250 to get a starter replaced? That's way too much, I think your mechanic was ripping you off big time. Labor is so simple for a starter. 15 minute job. Look for other mechanics. 250 with starter included is high.

1992 Ford F150 4.9L I-6 300ci

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 4.9L I-6 300ci
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

General Comments:

Don't ever have to worry about changing the timing chain in this engine, like you do in the V8s. It has no chain, just gear drive (lasts forever).

Unlike the other survey person with the same truck, I have had no troubles. Don't listen to him, he thinks the I-6 is a 302 - everyone knows the 302 is a popular V8. So which engine does he have? And again, he blames Ford for his lack of transmission skills (thinks he is a mechanic). Goes to show you lack of brain cells.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 1999

25th Jul 2001, 21:04

You are exactly right. That guy doesn't know what he is talking about. And as far as I am concerned the 302 is the best V8 ever built. Might not have as much power as say a 351 Windsor, but in my opinion the 302 will last a lot longer. And any Ford will out last a Chevy any day, even if a young boy is driving the Ford and an old man is driving the Chevy.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 31 reviews