1992 Ford F150 XLT 5.9

Summary:

Plenty of power- Wonderful truck

Faults:

Nothing. Just normal wear and tear. 60,000 miles and it needed tires. Wonderful truck!

General Comments:

Best truck I have ever had!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

1992 Ford F150 LX 4.9 In line 6

Summary:

A great car... better with a little tender loving care

Faults:

Needed a new alternator at 140000 miles.

Needed a new voltage regulator at 145000 miles.

Needed a new starter at 147000 miles.

Seats are starting to wear.

Tailgate centerpiece fell off leaving the 6 bolt holes.

General Comments:

This is my first car. I got it as soon as I had my drivers license.

When I first got it it was bone stock.

Over time I turned this slow truck into a street machine. With just the addition of a performance camshaft a new air filter and some exhaust work this truck went from running 19 second quarter miles to running 16 second ones. Now keep in mind this is with a 4.9 in-line six.

And that is not to mention what it can tow. This truck tows campers, trailers, tractors, other cars, anything without a second thought.

This truck is my baby, my first love, and the other woman in my life. I will own this truck forever barring its complete destruction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

1992 Ford F150 LXT 351, 5.8

Summary:

I will never get rid of it!

Faults:

I have just had the simple repairs. Some bad wires, alternator, and brakes. Nothing was too serious. My brakes had to be fixed due to some hard driving. The other repairs were at 160,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is the best truck I have ever had. Everyone wants me to trade it in, but I refuse. It has never let me down. Even when I run out of gas, it will coast to a gas station. We have beat this truck up while hunting and diggin', we even got stuck on top of a boulder. At 173,000 miles, he runs great!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2004

1992 Ford F150 XLT 4.9L inline 6

Summary:

A great buy for 4500.00

Faults:

I replaced the exhaust system.

General Comments:

I have never owned an Ford truck, but now I am sold on them.

The interior is comfortable and spacious.

I like the power from the 300 cubic inch engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

25th Feb 2005, 10:07

I have never owned a ford vehicle in my entire life, until I purchased a 1992 Ford Flareside 4x4 truck a couple months ago for $4200. It had a couple extra's on it. So far it has been very dependable. The only things that have had to be done is routine work, fix the fuel line where it rusted through, and the check engine light is on, but nothing is wrong. So overall... a great truck.

1992 Ford F150 XLT 302 EFI

Summary:

Solid Truck

Faults:

Water Pump (4 Times, but my own fault)

Engine oil seal (again, most likely my own fault due to problem above)

General Comments:

I see a lot of people complaining about losing the fuel pumps in the dual fuel tank models. This is a common problem since the operator (this means you) actually has to switch tanks when one is low. If you fail to do this, or run the tank until the engine begins to stall, then there is little or no fuel in the tank to cool the pumps, and they will eventually burn out. There are very few pumps (water, fuel, etc) that are designed to run dry. And those that are, are generally less efficient.

My only advice is to switch tanks when the needle goes to empty, don't try to push it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

23rd Jun 2008, 18:31

Just wondering, what kind of fuel mileage does your truck get?

1992 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 4.9Litre I-6

Summary:

Dependable as daylight

Faults:

Alternator died at 144,000 miles

Front springs have started sagging with age causing camber related tire wear issues. Replacing springs with new load levelor brand units from J.C. Whitney resolved this issue.

General Comments:

All in all the best vehicle I've ever owned. It has not left me sitting one single day. The alternator died on the way to work and fortunately the repair shop I use was on the way. They had the part in stock and changed it on their parking lot for $90 part and labor with a lifetime warranty. It's a little thirsty in city traffic, but manages 19 mpg on the highway. It has so much torque with the injected 6 cylinder that pulling my medium sized camper of 21 feet and about 4100 lbs. wet is no problem at all. The reason I got this particular truck is a friend who drives for UPS. He had 300ci. 6 cylinder engines in his delivery truck and said his and most he was aware of had well over 300 thousand miles before being rebuilt. I have to agree and will be able to soon as I already have 202000 on mine and counting. Still runs great, using Mobil 1 synthetic oil and changing it every 4500 miles I expect to die owning this truck. She just came back from the body shop where some new sheet metal was welded in to repair some rust damage and a new paint job to boot. I had at least 5 offers to buy the truck since her "makeover" that included a new set of Michelin's, new brakes and a new stainless cat back exhaust. The next hundred thou should be a breeze.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2004