1992 Ford F150 Reviews from North America - Page 5 of 6

1992 Ford F150 XLT 4.9L inline 6

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.9L inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A great buy for 4500.00

Faults:

I replaced the exhaust system.

General Comments:

I have never owned an Ford truck, but now I am sold on them.

The interior is comfortable and spacious.

I like the power from the 300 cubic inch engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

25th Feb 2005, 10:07

I have never owned a ford vehicle in my entire life, until I purchased a 1992 Ford Flareside 4x4 truck a couple months ago for $4200. It had a couple extra's on it. So far it has been very dependable. The only things that have had to be done is routine work, fix the fuel line where it rusted through, and the check engine light is on, but nothing is wrong. So overall... a great truck.

1992 Ford F150 XLT 302 EFI

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 302 EFI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Solid Truck

Faults:

Water Pump (4 Times, but my own fault)

Engine oil seal (again, most likely my own fault due to problem above)

General Comments:

I see a lot of people complaining about losing the fuel pumps in the dual fuel tank models. This is a common problem since the operator (this means you) actually has to switch tanks when one is low. If you fail to do this, or run the tank until the engine begins to stall, then there is little or no fuel in the tank to cool the pumps, and they will eventually burn out. There are very few pumps (water, fuel, etc) that are designed to run dry. And those that are, are generally less efficient.

My only advice is to switch tanks when the needle goes to empty, don't try to push it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

23rd Jun 2008, 18:31

Just wondering, what kind of fuel mileage does your truck get?

1992 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 4.9Litre I-6

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.9Litre I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance202000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Dependable as daylight

Faults:

Alternator died at 144,000 miles

Front springs have started sagging with age causing camber related tire wear issues. Replacing springs with new load levelor brand units from J.C. Whitney resolved this issue.

General Comments:

All in all the best vehicle I've ever owned. It has not left me sitting one single day. The alternator died on the way to work and fortunately the repair shop I use was on the way. They had the part in stock and changed it on their parking lot for $90 part and labor with a lifetime warranty. It's a little thirsty in city traffic, but manages 19 mpg on the highway. It has so much torque with the injected 6 cylinder that pulling my medium sized camper of 21 feet and about 4100 lbs. wet is no problem at all. The reason I got this particular truck is a friend who drives for UPS. He had 300ci. 6 cylinder engines in his delivery truck and said his and most he was aware of had well over 300 thousand miles before being rebuilt. I have to agree and will be able to soon as I already have 202000 on mine and counting. Still runs great, using Mobil 1 synthetic oil and changing it every 4500 miles I expect to die owning this truck. She just came back from the body shop where some new sheet metal was welded in to repair some rust damage and a new paint job to boot. I had at least 5 offers to buy the truck since her "makeover" that included a new set of Michelin's, new brakes and a new stainless cat back exhaust. The next hundred thou should be a breeze.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

1992 Ford F150 Custom 4.9L six cylinder

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.9L six cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Best $2500 ever spent

Faults:

No major repairs. I put new tires on it when I bought it. A few months later I went through the brakes, exhaust and suspension, more as prevention than immediate necessity.

General Comments:

The bed is in bad shape and the front fenders need to be replaced. The interior is in very good shape, especially with the rubber floor. The bench seat is sinking daily on the drivers side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

5th Feb 2005, 22:43

Love my Custom too. Sorry to hear that you had to spend so much money though. I have a '92 with over 200,000 miles on it. I have had it for almost a year and only spent $400 on it. Best $400 I ever spent. I have also had no major problems with it just some normal repairs, you know Ford problems, ie TWIN I BEAM SUSPENSION. It has got new ball joints, brakes, shocks, and a high pressure power steering hose. by the way make sure that you watch that hose. The design on that is not so swell. Look down at the bottom of the line where it goes into the gear box on the steel line. Where it makes that dip tends to catch dirt and water and salt, make sure to keep that area relatively clean. The bed has held up nice on mine on the inside, but the wheel wells in the front and back are rotting out. Overall I think that it is the best truck I have bought yet for the price!!! I will drive it until it dies!!!

11th May 2005, 16:22

Bought '92 Custom for $1000.

Very reliable, drive it on 8 hour road trips to and from school on a regular basis.

New tires, tie-rod, brake-lines are the only things that I've replaced/fixed.

Just a little rot around the wheel wells, nothing major.

It has 145,000 on it, and I hope it lasts to 200,000.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 31 reviews