Ford Five Hundred Reviews from North America - Page 15 of 15

2005 Ford Five Hundred 6 cylinder

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Do not like the sound of the engine and would trade it in today

Faults:

Needed new starter at 200 miles.

General Comments:

Got great gas mileage when new. Now down 5 mpg in city and highway with same driving habits.

Engine sounds like it is running on 4, not 6, cylinders.

Comfortable ride and roomy trunk and plenty of room for passengers in back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

29th Jan 2006, 15:30

You do not have to be obnoxious. I recognize your commenting from other posts on this site. This is a site about reviewing cars, not maligning people.

29th Jan 2006, 21:01

I took my car in for a front-wheel malignment yesterday.

30th Jan 2006, 11:30

No surprise if you took it to a Ford dealer.

15th Feb 2006, 09:23

The five hundred is a nice car to look at and sit it. I have never ridden one, so I can't comment on its ride or handling. However, I will say that teh 205 horsepower is inadequate, thus causing all that commotion which you complained about. Horsepower is not all about going fast. It's about having a smooth idling, quiet engine.

2005 Ford Five Hundred

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I may have a lemon

Faults:

Car has been in the shop more than not and it only has 500 miles on the Ford five hundred. Transmission had to be replaced. Then later the computer. What next?

General Comments:

Very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2005

21st Sep 2005, 15:22

Never buy a car it's first year out. I learned that the hard way with my lemon 04 Malibu. Keep track of your down time and familiarize yourself with your state's Lemon Law.

5th Dec 2005, 18:23

I'm an owner of a Five -Hundred and I love the car so far.I've not had 1 thing wrong or fail (probably just jinxed myself).I live in Chicago so I been through all seasons and the car has met my expectations except 1, gas mileage not as advertised.

2005 Ford Five Hundred LIMITED V 6 Dura tek

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V 6 Dura tek Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance3200 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Love the car so far

Faults:

Nothing major, driver side mirror cracked, dealer fixed it. Sometimes acceleration hesitates when taking off.

General Comments:

Love the car rides great and the 200 horses gives plenty of power.

Higher seating a plus, very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2005

15th Oct 2005, 10:11

Driving with the CVT transmission makes the car feel much quicker than if it had a six speed. We drove both and settled on an AWD with a CVT over a six speed.

9th Mar 2006, 14:42

I agree. I have the Limited AWD and compared it to the 6 speed before deciding on it. The 6 speed "feels" quicker because of the initial launch and engine noise, on the car I tried it had a shrill dentist drill noise, not noticeable on the awd tranny car.

2005 Ford Five Hundred SE 3.0

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance2300 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Love the car so far

Faults:

Nothing major. A bit of hesitation intermittently on takeoff. Stay tuned, I'll give regular updates.

General Comments:

The cabin is very comfortable. I love the height of the seats.

The mileage is not what was advertised, I get about 18 miles a gallon in mixed driving, but it's still being broken in. I've heard it may improve. Check for updates.

We drove the Crown Victoria and liked the 500 much better because of the size and sportiness, and seat height of the 500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2005

19th Sep 2005, 20:53

Ford made such a big deal about 2004 being the "year of the car," yet they forgot to put a decent powerplant in the five-hundred. These cars look great. From a styling standpoint, it almost looks like an Audi A6. Ford should have put a little more effort into this car. For all of the resources that FoMoCo has, they could have put a V6 in this car that was faster, quieter, and more fuel efficient than the competition.

25th Jan 2006, 16:30

Update from original poster. Jan.25, 2006 5000 Mi. I haven't had any major problems. The pop-up compartment on the dash got a few bubbles in the heat of the summer; the dealer said they would replace it. My wife said it still has the bit of hesitation on take off, but I’ve never noticed it when I drive the car.It’s her car that she drives most every day. The gas mileage has improved to closer to what the sticker said it would get. Overall still very satisfied with the car.

22nd Apr 2009, 01:40

Another update from the original owner 4/21/09: I only have 17000 miles on it. Still very happy with the car and have had no problems.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 55 reviews