Ford Five Hundred Reviews from North America - Page 5 of 15

2005 Ford Five Hundred SEL 3.0

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carChrysler 300

Summary:

It's a great car. Too bad they stopped making them

General Comments:

I've had my car for 4 years, and all it has needed were brakes and a battery. I've replaced my brakes 2 times.

It's one of the best cars I have owned. I hope to get 250 thousand miles from it. It's one of the most comfortable cars I've ever driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2009

10th May 2009, 19:01

Ford still makes the Five Hundred, they just call it the Taurus now. Same for the Ford Freestyle, which was rebadged as the Taurus X.

This all came out of the realization by Ford that making all of their model names start with the letter 'F' was a poor decision; this has since been nicknamed the "Ford Fiasco".

2006 Ford Five Hundred Limited 3.0L V6

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52 miles
Most recent distance61650 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

This is an amazing car.

Faults:

Had to replace driver seat frame at 55K and the right tail light keeps burning out often.

General Comments:

The car runs great. I have not had any major issues and love the command seating. I would however update the radio/CD player.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2009

2006 Ford Five Hundred XL

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65 miles
Most recent distance52500 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Attractive, comfortable, but Ford's customer service is lacking

Faults:

Had problems with my rear brakes and rotors. Dealership replaced under warranty.

Our transmission, has always made a strange noise. Was checked 7 or 8 times.

At 52,000 miles, the noise in the transmission became constant. Have the extended warranty, all of my oil changes and work done through the dealership, but Ford's warranty department is giving the dealership a very hard time about replacing the transmission. The cost is $7,000. They have had our car for 21 days and have not approved replacing it. If this doesn't get resolved soon... back to foreign I go.

General Comments:

Car is nice and roomy.

Stereo system seems inexpensive, and the sound isn't that great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2009

2006 Ford Five Hundred SEL 3 liter

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Avoid purchasing the Ford 500

Faults:

Brakes shot at 18,000 miles.

Dashboard bubbled at 10,000 miles.

Tires worn from rear shock tower failure.

Front wheel bearings shot at 22,000 miles.

Transmission computer problems at 34,000 miles.

General Comments:

The idea of the 500 is great. A large, comfortable, safe and incredibly economical car (31 mpg on the highway at 75 mph).

The car was cared for under service contract from Ford. I had the car serviced at 3000 to 3500 mile intervals by Ford dealership I purchased car new from. All highway miles in southern states.

The car literally fell apart. Physically and electronically. Ford kept throwing parts at the car. At least one day per month in the shop.

Too many sorries for the car. I had to purchase another vehicle for reliability purposes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2009

2005 Ford Five Hundred SE

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carFord Five Hundred

Summary:

Not dependable

Faults:

My drive shaft off of my transmission went bad.

My rear rotors needed replaced.

My front rotors needs replaced.

And now my car will not start. I think it's my starter but not sure. It's Friday late and now I have to wait till Monday to get checked.

General Comments:

The body and construction makes me feel safe, and is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2008

13th Mar 2011, 11:08

When were rotors replaced? This is a front wheel drive car how can a drive shaft dislodge? It seems as though this was a neglected car and that's why it had starting problems. It also may have been a rental.

George.

2005 Ford Five Hundred SE 3.0L V6

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Nice Ride, if you can afford to keep it on the road

Faults:

Rear brakes went out at 34,000 Miles.

Front tires needed replaced at 30,000 miles.

Trunk Wouldn't open at 35,000 miles.

Shifter Grinds going out of park, was replaced at 40,000 (warranty), now its doing it again.

Uses a quart of oil every 3k miles.

Occasionally when on cruise it will stutter and pick up.

General Comments:

The car gets decent mileage, though acceleration is kind of slow. Regardless I still get better mileage in my daily driver Toyota pickup.

I like the C.V.T.

The A-pillars are huge and limit visibility.

Everything works.

Goes through brakes fast, the fronts are now acting up.

Not a cheap car to own, for some reason.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th July, 2008

7th Oct 2009, 12:06

Goes through a quart of oil every 3k miles? Maybe that's because you should change your oil every 3 months or 3k miles...

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 55 reviews