1993 Geo Prizm LSI

Summary:

I wish they still built it; I would buy another in NY minute

Faults:

Alternator twice.

Broken door handle.

Timing belt changed once at 100K.

Speakers going bad.

Needs a paint job.

General Comments:

I have driven this car on CA freeways, all over LA, and it moved great in traffic.

Now live in the high desert; bad roads and a long distance to town, but still get 238 miles per fill up (same as LA) for $30 every 2 weeks.

I did car pool with 4 kids and 2 dogs, so the seats could use a cleaning.

Drove from the San Fernando Valley to Northern Arizona on a tank and a half of gas. That surprised me.

A/C works. So does the rear defroster

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2013

22nd Apr 2013, 15:30

You "wish they still built it"?

They do. It's called a Toyota Corolla.

1993 Geo Prizm LSi S4

Summary:

I love this car, and it only has 79000 miles on it

Faults:

Within the past year, I have had four episodes of brake malfunction - nothing previous to that in the 17 years I've owned the car. Bought it new in 1993.

All the episodes have been while approaching an intersection at a slow speed (under 5-10 mph), usually very soon after starting the car for the first time that day and within a mile of that start. The brake pedal goes down about an inch, and then won't go any further and the car will not stop.

One mechanic replaced front brake pads, another rear pads. Ran fine for 3 months, but last week it happened again.

Fortunately, I haven't hit anyone or anything yet, but it's just a matter of time.

A mechanic is now looking at the ABS sensor. The ABS light has been on most of the time I've owned the car. Do you think he's looking in the right place? Any other thoughts from anyone?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2010

21st Apr 2013, 09:19

Start with the brake lines, then look at the brake master cylinder, and finally, replace that ABS sensor.

Brakes are not rocket science. The mechanic should have looked at these components given your problem.

All the best!

23rd Apr 2013, 20:03

I disagree. The ABS system should not affect the base brake system operation, and since the pedal isn't simply dropping to the floor, you can probably rule out any hydraulic system concerns.

If the pedal only goes down a small distance and then stops and becomes very hard, this is more likely to be a power booster concern. If there is air getting into the constant pressure chamber in the booster, pressing on the brake pedal will eventually deplete the vacuum and cause the pedal to become very hard and braking force will be decreased. After some time, brake assist may build back up again if the brakes aren't depressed due to the engine pulling constant vacuum on the constant and variable pressure chambers.

A vehicle with a problem like this may also exhibit signs of a vacuum leak.

1993 Geo Prizm LSI

Summary:

This is a great starting out car, I love my GEO

Faults:

Had the alternator replaced after 13 years of owning it.

The door handles break, but that's classic.

General Comments:

I love my GEO Prizm.

This is the most reliable car.

I got this car on my 16th birthday, and would recommend it for any 16 year old.

It handles well in the snow because it's front wheel drive.

Gets wonderful gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2009

1993 Geo Prizm LSI Don't Know

Summary:

Cheap car, good bang for the buck

Faults:

Gas gauge varies, and provides incorrect reads.

Gas light will not activate.

Temperature gauge is inaccurate and provides false reads.

Passenger interior door handle snapped off.

Little bit of rattling noise when driving, and when starting. I know it's nothing serious, because I can put my hand on the dash and make it dull or even stop, so it's probably some loose wire thwacking the inside of the dash, probably a line to one of the broken gauges! LOL.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable, and I really think it is comparable to my old Honda Accord. I used to own a 1990 Honda Accord LX; while old, it was sporty and boasted a quick acceleration and quality performance. I eventually sold it at 206k Miles and purchased this Geo.

I feel that all the good reviews for this car are well deserved, IF you find one in good condition. The key here is to find one in good condition, and keep it that way. In turn, the car will last a lifetime. If you find one abused however, the car will fall apart quick fast and in a hurry.

I have been told that this car gets amazing fuel range, however it seems to only be getting 22-26 MPG, the same as my old Honda. While this is not poor, it is not quite what I expected, and I am generally a gentle driver. It could also be that I am still a new driver to this car, and just need to get used to it. Also, remember my gauge is not working correctly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2008

30th Oct 2008, 04:50

Yes, I had a 1990 Prizm, and it lasted until around 257,000 miles. It was a wonderful car.

The transmission failed at this time, but the engine and transmission were the original, and the A/C was still ice cold. It had so many miles, but it still had great pick up, and the transmission gave no warning before it went. If I could find another one I would buy it in a second.

The 93-97 Prizm doesn't have half the pick up of the 89-92 Prizm.