2006 Honda Accord Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 4

2006 Honda Accord EX Coupe 2.4

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance19500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great Car, Great Price! This one is a keeper!

Faults:

Nothing So far, only had it for 1 month.

General Comments:

I traded my 2006 Honda Civic Ex Sedan, 1.8 5 Speed manual because I just couldn't stand it!! it was too slow and had no response what so ever. Only had that car for 4 months. Any how, I broke almost even in the trade, for only $1,000 more I got a 2006 Honda Accord Ex Coupe 5 speed manual with leather, and all... I must say comparing the civic and the accord are like comparing 2 cars from 2 different manufacturers. I think Honda's newer generations here and to come are not as well built as the old... the 2008 Accord coming out looks like a bigger civic... yuck... But to the point I am very happy with the car, gas mileage is awesome, the clutch and transmission are smooth (unlike the civic) car handles well on the highway and is 10 times quieter and smoother than the civic, Seats are very comfortable, I feel like I'm driving a car that is almost high end compared to the civic, I just really have no complaints about this car, and really I complain about everything!! Great Car, Great price!!

If your thinking about the buying a civic, I recommend you price out an Accord first, the 2007 / 06 Accord's are far better than the civic and you might be surprised in the price. Also dealers are discounting accords a lot more. Not so sure I like the 2008 model to come, I anticipate it will have the same issues as the new civic, only time will tell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2007

2006 Honda Accord SE 2.4

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good except clutch problem

Faults:

Clutch slipping in Accord 2.4 l with a manual transmission with only 32000 km mostly highway driven.

General Comments:

No other problems experienced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2007

12th May 2008, 04:04

Does your clutch pedal squeak or grind when you push it down? The Acura TSX transmissions reported a problem with a faulty master cylinders for their manual transmissions, some TSX owners have had very early clutch failures as a result. If it's still under warranty get them to check it, its from a batch of dodgy clutch master cylinders.

14th Apr 2012, 10:19

I have a 2.4 Accord with 5 speed manual. My clutch has been squeaking since about 40,000 miles, now have 89,000 miles, but it still shifts smooth and works fine...

2006 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4 4 cylinder.

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance23456 miles
Previous carHonda Pilot

Summary:

Very nice, sporty, and fun to drive

Faults:

Nothing has EVER gone wrong with this auto, I've owned for 11 months, but have driven many miles so far, and will continue.

General Comments:

This auto is sporty/comfortable and VERY cheap. Traveling on the interstate highways, I have been getting 41 mpg, without the air conditioner on, which I use only if the temp is 80 or higher. With the a/c on I get 36 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2007

2006 Honda Accord LX 2.4 gasoline

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Very reliable good looking car

Faults:

No problems, check engine came on 1 time, the wife did not put the fuel cap on correctly, easily fixed by tightening it.

General Comments:

Fun to drive, extremely responsive for 4 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2007

2006 Honda Accord

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Wish it was a Civic

General Comments:

Having driven a Honda Civic for over twenty years, I am not happy with my 2006 Honda Accord. Apparently others are not either since the Civic is much more popular than the Accord. The body is too wide. This makes for a tighter fit in garages and parking spots; increasing the likelihood of nicks and dings. The chassis material is fragile and scratches easily. What car ever sits in a china cabinet? The heating and cooling system is substandard. In warm weather, even the air conditioning booster button does not kick out what the Civic did on a regular basis. Not only is the cooling element substandard, the blower is as well. And the heat? Get your earmuffs and blankets out. The car will get warm just as you arrive home and then it’s too late. Give me a Civic any day. I can see why Civic popularity exceeds that of the Accord.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th December, 2006

6th Dec 2006, 12:24

I'll give you a tenner for it.

6th Dec 2006, 18:48

I thought they sold more Accords than Civics???

11th Dec 2006, 10:36

There is no way that the Civic outsells and Accord. Just look at what car is right behind the Camry in sales. Sure the Accord is a larger and wider car, but I think that it is a step above the Civic, (especially the new one.) Maybe it just takes time getting aquainted with a larger car.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews