2007 Honda Civic Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 6

2007 Honda Civic EX Coupe 1.8

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Most reliable car on the road!

Faults:

I bought this car brand new, and have put 82,000 miles on it so far. I only had to replace two things; the brakes & rotors, and a set of tires.

General Comments:

This car has been very dependable, great on gas, 35-40 mpg all the time.

Very cheap to maintain. General maintenance is about it.

The car handles pretty well, and is fun to drive with the manual transmission.

Interior of the car is really nice for the price of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2011

2007 Honda Civic EX 1.8

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carChrysler Pacifica

Summary:

Honda is over-rated!

Faults:

Head gasket failed at 45,000.

Tires wear quickly.

General Comments:

Head gasket blew at 45,000. The car was under warranty, and Honda still refused to "participate" as they call it in expense to repair. Said there was a chance we could have overheated the car. The engine never got hot until after the head gasket blew.

Also very uncomfortable seats. The reason we purchased the car was because the wife wanted a gas mileage car for her and our 2 small kids to run to different activities. Honda has really let their quality slip the past few years. Tried to appeal their denial of warranty coverage, but no one will let you talk to district rep that denied, even though the rep never actually looked at car.

Also have 2 GM vehicles, and they have been very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2010

26th Dec 2010, 15:15

A lot says about the way a car is driven. And I obviously don't know you well enough to critique your driving, but my wife and I have an '07 that still runs as smooth today as it did 3 years ago. And I still have yet to see a car out there that has as nice of a dash layout, and rare windshield wipers as that of the Civic, and if you think the Civic has lost any of its reliability, then explain to me why Civic just won its 11th straight "Best Selling Car" category.

22nd Feb 2011, 08:51

Wow, that's crazy, I have never heard of that problem. My entire family drives Hondas. Three out of four of us have Civics. I have an 07 EX Coupe, bought it new and had no problems up to 84,000 miles. Brakes had to be replaced at 80,000, but that's above average life for brakes. I have owned Fords, Chevys and Dodge, and I will never drive another one.

22nd Feb 2011, 15:41

People seem to fail to realize cars are mass produced, and therefore there will be lemons out there or faulty parts. This car probably had a bad head gasket or a weak one from day one. I haven't heard of too many Civics blowing head gaskets.

Also, the fact the dealer didn't honor the warranty on this suggests they thought abuse or neglect was involved. This would have been covered had they felt it was the fault of the car only. People seem think you can buy a Honda and drive it forever without doing things like changing fluids and such. Hondas take maintenance just like any other car. Did you flush your coolant regularly?

2007 Honda Civic EX

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I will never buy another Honda again

Faults:

Alternator needed to be replaced at 70,000.

Sun visors routinely split in half and need to be replaced.

Daytime Running Lights/High Beams stopped working at 80,000.

Car's performance is severely hindered when A/C is on.

General Comments:

Car gets awesome gas mileage.

However, despite Honda's reputation, this car is falling apart.

Honda admits to faulty parts/known problems but will not help in any capacity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2010

26th Dec 2010, 15:26

I find it odd that your visors would just split in half for no reason. We have an 07 as well, and our visors have never been replaced.

I will say we have had to replace our right headlight though, but that is only because I use either the Nighthawk headlamps or the Silver stars, and refuse to go back to the factory ones. A headlight problem would not cause me to diss a Civic though.

27th Dec 2010, 19:39

You say this car is falling apart, and then list a few minor issues as problems you've had. How does a bad alternator and a faulty headlight mean your car is falling apart? Try GM cars, and then you'll see what it means for a car to fall apart. I've had a few, and they literally fell apart.

3rd Mar 2012, 18:15

The driver side visor split in two about 40K. Dealer replaced that at no charge.

4th Jul 2012, 21:09

I own a '07 Civic as well, and the visors do split. Dealer said this was a common problem, and changed mine under warranty.

6th Jul 2012, 16:26

Our Honda also fell apart very quickly. It was using oil at 50,000 miles, and the CV joints were hammering then as well. The car never made 100,000 miles.

On the other hand, our 10-year-old GM has well over 100,000 miles and has never had a single repair, not even a brake job. I never even bother to check the oil between the 10,000 mile change intervals, because it never uses a drop. No more Hondas (or any Japanese cars) for us ever again.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 23 reviews