2003 Honda Element Reviews from North America

2003 Honda Element

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110 miles
Most recent distance320000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Citation

General Comments:

This car is fun.

The car does not do well on windy days. It also has no arm rest.

This car has locked me out. The key will not unlock either side. You must ask strangers to help you gain entry to the car. I am handicapped and cannot crawl through a car. My local dealer will charge $719.00 to repair it.

I need divine intervention. Help!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2014

18th Apr 2014, 11:39

No disrespect... but the car has been good to you. Now you have to return the favor. Please fix her... she deserves it.

18th Apr 2014, 22:35

Hello. I believe this link to a Honda forum that explains how to fix this problem should help you with your current situation.

http://www.elementownersclub.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41502

Tony

19th Apr 2014, 01:11

Is this "review" a joke? Looks like you have had this car for 10 years and 300000 miles of trouble free motoring (well, you haven't listed any faults) and you are complaining about replacing the locks? If that's the only problem you have had, just go ahead and REPLACE THE LOCKS.

2003 Honda Element EX 2.4

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance146630 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Not the best vehicle I have ever owned, but definitely my favourite one

Faults:

Engine mount at 80,000 miles.

Driver's side door lock at 80,000 miles.

Right power window motor at 84,000 miles.

Gas gauge at 124,000 miles.

Windshield cracked at 132,500 miles.

Left power window motor at 134,000 miles.

Still though, the engine and drivetrain have been very reliable. Still on the original clutch at 146,630 miles.

Original front brake pads lasted until 127,000 miles; the original rear brake pads lasted until 138,000 miles.

General Comments:

Other than these few issues above, I have been very happy with this vehicle. No car is perfect. I have owned it 10 years as of today.

It is roomy, useful (lots of cargo space), easy to park, and not that bad on gas (about 20 MPG city, 27 MPG highway). Fun to drive with the manual transmission.

Dealer service wasn't that great. I found an independent mechanic I trust. That is a better way to go. Given the problems with the windshields with this model and year, I am lucky my windshield lasted to 132,500 miles before cracking. The replacement windshield is doing well so far (knock on wood).

All in all, I love this vehicle and plan on keeping it until it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2013

23rd Apr 2014, 12:17

OP here. The vehicle was in a wreck last month (at 162,300 miles) and totaled. I decided to buy it back as salvage and fix it... I found someone who could fix it, and it was finished last week and works just fine. I loved the vehicle and didn't want to get a new one, and I am glad I made this decision. Working just fine again, and I think it will last several more years.

2003 Honda Element

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles

Summary:

I love the car

Faults:

I love my Honda, but the locks stopped working. I have to open the back door and crawl in to open the locks. This is dangerous for a woman and so uncomfortable. I don't go out at night, because I can't be crawling thru the back door. A locksmith told me only the dealership can fix it. After reading all the reviews, and others having the same problem, why hasn't Honda issued a recall?

Also, the passenger window got stuck after letting it down, costing me over $200 for Honda to fix it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2013

2003 Honda Element

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carHonda Element

Summary:

Love it, but hate getting in on the passenger side

Faults:

I too have had issues with the driver's side lock. I have been looking online, and could see many complaints about this issue, so I called Honda America 1800-999-1099, and was told to have it fixed at my expense, and that they do not have a lot of complaints.

So anyone who has this issue, needs to go to this website www.nhtsa.gov and leave a complaint to get them on a recall. The more complaints, the better chance of a recall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2011

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 45 reviews