2003 Honda Element Reviews from North America - Page 9 of 12

2003 Honda Element EX

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance43500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Great, except for the windshield

Faults:

The windshield has cracked three times.

General Comments:

The windshield cracking 3 times has seriously started to annoy me, especially since I've only owned the car for 1.5 years.

Aside from the windshield, my only other complaint would be the lack of air flow in the vehicle. The back windows should open up more, not just crack open an inch.

The design is perfect and quite comfortable for cross-country trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2004

3rd Oct 2005, 06:48

I have a 2003 EX Element. It has 23,000 miles on it.

Developed a windshield crack running from the bottom of

the shield. There are no hit marks near the area. Might

be a car defect.

2003 Honda Element EX 2.4

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Was hideous, but it really grows on you.

Faults:

I haven't it owned this car long enough to experience problems.

General Comments:

So far I have had this car three weeks.

I bought it used with 19k. I wasn't worried though, I know Honda reliability having owned two Civics.

It is very spacious. I have two big dogs, and they look small in the back with the chairs removed.

I have read that the rear chairs were hard to move, and I thought it was easy.

MPG is great 24 - 28 with A/C on 90% of the time.

I am only 5'6" and I feel small in it. I had three people with me and they couldn't believe how spacious it was. They all had to take turns sitting in front seat.

I the turning radius is a big thumbs up.

My previous car was horrible, and it was considered compact. That was the first thing I noticed when I test drove it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

2003 Honda Element EX

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Love the car, can't afford the deductibles for windshield damage

Faults:

I have had 4 windshield cracks in the last 12 months for a total of $1000 extra, paid into owning the car. I really do love the car and its versatility, but unless the windshield stops being a problem, I will have to sell the vehicle and get a different one.

All of the windshield cracks have happened in the same general circumstances - highway driving at speeds between 55 and 75 miles per hour. I don't get cracked windshields every time I get on the highway, but I'm starting to get the feeling that I should only drive on back roads at slow speeds.

General Comments:

The Element seems to be prone to getting cracks in the windshield.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

10th Oct 2004, 22:11

I also have a cracked windshield on my 2month old 2004 Element!!! Mine happened while it was sitting at a gas station after being driven on the highway-the dealer is looking into other complaints w/NHTSA & other internet sites.

16th Nov 2004, 11:34

I think that windsheild cracks are probably a common problem for any vehicle that has such a verticle windsheild design. Since the windsheild is not angled back, like many cars, rocks and debris cannot deflect away as easily and are more likely to do damage. I'm no expert, I'm just making a guess.

2003 Honda Element EX 160 HP DOHC

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 160 HP DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carGMC Montana

Summary:

A fun and practical vehicle, but the windshield is a problem

Faults:

Original windshield cracked after 2300 miles - dealer claimed it was a rock chip that was located under the passenger windshield wiper, but ended up replacing it as a "good will" gesture because I had bought several vehicles there. Original windshield had also suffered numerous micro-rock chips, as I had done most of the miles on the highway. After having the new windshield 4 weeks, there were multiple rock chips in it also after making several road trips. Either the glass used is not strong enough or the angle of the windshield is causing a problem. Honda really needs to address this problem or they are going to lose a lot of customers over this.

General Comments:

Other than the windshield problems, the car is a real treat to drive, is comfortable on long trips, and is basically ideal for me and the way I use it. Unfortunately if I have to keep replacing windshields on it I don't know if it's going to be worth keeping. If they ever do get the windshield problem fixed, I would probably get another one, I like it that much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2004

26th Dec 2004, 11:13

I'm seriously considering buying an Element in the next couple weeks, but it has come to my attention there's a huge problem with the windshields cracking. I talked to a guy the other day who had one and I noticed right away his windshield was cracked. He said everyone he's known with an Element has a cracked windshield otherwise he liked the car. My windshields take a fair bit of abuse so I don't know if buying an Element would be a good idea.

16th Oct 2007, 00:18

Don't worry about how sturdy this car is built. Two years ago my Boss was in a very serious accident in his 2 week old Honda Element. His car was hit head on by a GMC pickup truck and then thrown into the middle divider rail. He said he thought "this is it, I'm going to die"...but when it was all over... he survived without a scratch on him... just a little sore..that's it. He now has another Element and loves it.. (he also has a 700 series BMW.. beautiful car, but he says he loves the Element.. and respects it)...I'm buying one too.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 44 reviews