2003 Honda Element

Summary:

Great versatility, but cracking windshields a major problem

Faults:

The windshield has cracked four times.

Seats tear and wear badly.

Passenger door lock doesn't work.

Driver and passenger windows starting to show stress fractures.

General Comments:

Windshield cracking is not due to stones or pebbles, but manufacture defect which the manufacturer is not addressing.

Seats are wearing badly and are cracking. My 87 Toyota still has seats that have held up.

Passenger doorlock failed shortly after purchased. Supposedly fixed, but still doesn't work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2006

21st Mar 2007, 08:11

A good idea with the Element is to get the hood fin. It helps deflect the windshear away from the flat windsheild. Baring that I have found the 10 dollar window repair kits work great. I have gotten a few rocks that left a star dink and fixed them right away. The kit keeps it from cracking the windsheild and I even made it through winter (really cold here) with a hitch.

2003 Honda Element LX

Summary:

The Element is a good value for the money, but it has problems.

Faults:

I have had two cracked windshields in 50,000 miles, both during highway driving. Fortunately, my state has no insurance deductible on auto-glass, but the repairs are inconvenient.

The entire horn unit has failed twice. The first time, at 25,000 miles, the car was under warranty. The dealer says that the current failure, at 50,000 miles, is not warrantied.

General Comments:

I love the car. It is reasonable spacious and fuel efficient, handles well, and best of all, it is dog-proof--that is, easy to clean.

The stereo system is awesome.

The Mp3 plug is handy.

I do not like the fact that I have had to replace the windshield twice in 50,000 miles.

I do not like the fact that the horn has had to be replaced twice (once under warranty and once at my expense) in 50,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

31st Jan 2006, 17:37

I just read your review and wanted to say check your local laws about auto warranties. My state law says if it was replaced once under warranty, then if it fails again within 2 years, I believe, then it has to be repaired at no charge to you since it was a warranty repair. Just a though you may be able to get your money back.

5th Feb 2006, 18:59

How much do you use your horn for it to go out twice? I think the Element is great. We love ours and so does everyone else I know who owns one.

9th Aug 2006, 14:48

Despite how ugly this car is, I bought a 2005 since I got it really cheap.

The windshield also broke by itself!!! I have contacted Honda several times, and have been given the run around. They build great cars, too bad most of them are expensive and they don't stand by them! Besides that, the rest of the car/truck is great for now.

2003 Honda Element Base Small

Summary:

Ugly

Faults:

The car is a big plastic box. Every time I go through my local car wash, which I have gone through since 1992, the rear wiper ripples off. So now before I go through a car wash I need to get out and take the wiper off before going in, which is a pain to do when it's 20F in January.

General Comments:

It's ugly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2006

1st Jul 2006, 21:40

Why did you buy a vehicle you think is ugly?

24th Jan 2007, 13:51

I agree, I would never buy a car that I did not like inside and out and that I was not comfortable in! duh!

17th Jan 2008, 21:25

Washing your can in 20F? You must be trying to break the wiper!?!

2003 Honda Element EX

Summary:

Sure it's a cute car but a financial nightmare and whimpy engine.

Faults:

In the last 1.5 years, I have replaced the windshield 3 times, the lock on the driver side door jams up frequently, due to ease with which the doors swing open wildly in wind, has caused me having to pay $600 worth of damage to another car. Now I must go through efforts to see if I can get reimbursed for the poorly designed windshield.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

13th Jan 2006, 19:50

I thought about buying an Element, but after seeing all the compliants about broken windshields I gave up on the idea. The excuse I read was that the windshield for the Element is more upright so it gets hit by rocks easier. Maybe so, but old Chevy van I had an upright windshield and it never got cracked or broken after a rock hit. Honda must be making cheap windshields.