2004 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS AWD 2.7 V6 Gas


The problem that I am having with the Hyundai Santa Fe is that the rims are damaged. I took it to the dealer and they told me that it's the factories fault when they made them, so they can't do anything about it, only sell me new rims!

Besides that, the car is in perfect condition, runs amazing, and yes I would buy a new Santa Fe, great car for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2009

28th Jul 2009, 15:37

What do you mean by "Damaged"?

Is the finish flaking off, or are they bent or something?

If it is a finish problem, then yeah, there is nothing the dealer can do, and if they are bent due to driver error or pot holes then there is still nothing the dealer can do. Warranty doesn't cover bad driving or bad road conditions, sorry.

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Base 2.4L


I wouldn't buy another vehicle like this one


My Crankshaft position sensor went out in December 2007.

My Fuel Temperature sensor went out in June 2008.

General Comments:

The vehicle is very comfortable and good on gas but it breaks down too much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2008

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe


If the clutch goes again, I'd have to say it's a piece of crap


I was recently awarded the cost of clutch repairs for my Hyundai Santa Fe by the Better Business Bureau to the tune of $930.00 and change. That was the amount I paid a non-Hyundai repair shop when Hyundai wanted to charge me $1,900 for a new clutch after 33,700 miles. (Hyundai had already replaced the clutch once for free at 13,000 miles.)

I can't say enough positive about the Better Business Bureau and their arbitrator for making a wise and compassionate decision for a beleaguered consumer. And I can't say enough negative about a manufacturer (and dealer) who don't honor a 50,000 mile warranty, and who don't stand by their repairs.

People, don't be used when they tell you your driving habits are to blame when the clutch goes prematurely on the Santa Fe (again, and again). In my case, I used numerous examples from the Internet about Hyundai Santa Fe clutches failing after low miles. And don't let Hyundai or anyone else -including local mechanics - try to blame you for driving habits - it's bull----.

I'm no mechanic, but I have been driving standard cars for 20 years, and know how to drive 'em quite well, thank you. I'm just thankful there was a support system in the form of the Better Business Bureau to see that justice was served.

General Comments:

If you want to build a car cheap, at least make sure the transmission holds up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2008

22nd Aug 2008, 07:30

This problem that you had, shows two things:

1) The low quality of Hyundai, because at low mileage serious issues appeared.

2) The worthless warranty that they use to fool the consumers.

Come to this forum I opened and write your opinion about Hyundai:


1st Mar 2011, 15:24

I have to agree with you. I've also posted my own comment regarding my Sante Fe (which I sold this weekend to a mechanic and wished him my best). After all the repairs made, each repair exceeding $900.00, I was told my fly wheel was bad due to my clutch going out.

I now drive a Buick.

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Standard 4 cylinder


Not much to complain about, until a major part fails prematurely and Hyundai fails to cover it


At 13,000, my Hyundai Santa Fe's clutch failed. The manufacturer agreed to replace it as "a courtesy", citing heat destroying the flywheel as an apparent defect, after I protested vigorously that it was covered under the warranty.

Now, at 33,000 miles, my clutch has failed again. Hyundai is refusing to cover it under the warranty. I have been driving standard, clutch-driven cars for 20 years, and have never experienced such deficient components.

I'm taking this to arbitration with the Better Business Bureau. For those who have been similarly abused by Hyundai, please contact me at wllmthom82@aol.com so we can fight the good fight against this chicanery.

General Comments:

This pseudo SUV - i.e. Hyundai Santa Fe built atop Hyundai Sonata chassis, is a good ride and economical - if only they didn't put a defective clutch in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th November, 2007