2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews from North America - Page 8 of 10

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe LX 6 cylinder

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Faults:

We purchased the car in June of 2004. In August we also heard a funny noise when we put on the brakes or begin to back up.

We took the car into the dealer. They told us that we would need to have the transmission replaced. I am a little upset because I am afraid that we have bought a lemon, but we did purchase the 10 year bumper to bumper warranty.

General Comments:

I read reviews on the car before we purchased it and it got really good ratings. Hopefully, nothing else will go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance600 miles

Summary:

Disaster

Faults:

The alarm never worked and one week after I got it, the transmission went out. I had the car for 5 days and then it was in the shop and has been there since. The transmission has to be replaced after one week!!

General Comments:

I read the great reviews and wonder if I'm the only one who has had these problems. I was going to buy a Toyota RAV4 and now regret that I didn't do that - unfortunately, its too late for me now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

19th Sep 2004, 08:33

I would venture to say that you are DEFINITELY one of those people who got a lemon. YOu REALLY need to check out the lemon law and how you can make it work for you!

22nd Sep 2004, 12:37

You are not the only one this has happened to. I to had to have a transmission replaced during the first week of ownership. I have owned the car since June and it has been in the shop 3 times for the same problem. I have received no satisfaction from anyone. It is still making the same noise that it did the first time I took it and they thought it was the transmission. I understand your frustration.

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Base 2.4

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

3.5 liter is the only one worth buying

Faults:

The one and only thing that has gone wrong with the car is that the car pulses at times, It vibrates severely. I took it to the dealer to get it fixed, but they couldn't get it to pulse, so they did nothing. I had the manager sit in it when it pulsed and he told me they would fix it. I haven't had the opportunity to drop it buy because they have no loaner and I have to work. (Pulses till this day.)

General Comments:

This car has no pick-up.

Rides surprisingly smooth.

I get 20mpg on the highway, (very disappointed)

Good factory radio.

Great safety features.

Back seats recline. Why is Hyundai one of few that recline?

Very disappointing performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

26th Oct 2004, 05:29

I have a 2004 Sonata that vibrates to. They keep telling me I have to break it in. I also don't have great pick up. I am actually mad a t myself for trading my Monte Carlo. I will stick with Chevy next time. Great cars and you get good service.

27th Oct 2004, 07:19

If it has ABS, there has been a recall for the dealer to adjust the ABS programming. If your shudder starts at low speed, when it is damp or wet it sounds like the recall. Check it out!

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 2.7

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance3217 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Excellent quality for a reasonable price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very smooth driving, and comfortable seating. Very good view, controls well placed. Does shift a bit jerky at times, but no big deal. Running pretty much at 24 mpg most of time, varied driving. Towed my boat quite well, 1850 pounds, plus 450 for motor and? for heavy trailer. Does not have a lot of oomph at very low rpm when towing, Does real well once rpm hits 2k, not at all uncommon on V6 engines.

I use father's Blazer with a 4.3L and I find the similarities quite close in performance, but it only gets 21mpg in exact situation. Sure isn't near as comfortable as the sante, by a long shot. Father was quite impressed as well.

I have had some minor noise when I moved the roof rails into certain positions, easily cured that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

25th Apr 2007, 08:25

Now have 45K on the Sante. Only issue so far was the Bridgestone tires, which hydroplaned horribly. Replaced with Michelins and am very pleased with them. Still getting 24 MPG. Replaced the spark plugs which was a bit of work to move the engine forward to access them. Found very good directions on that process on the Sante Fe bulleting board.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 28 reviews