2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews from North America - Page 7 of 10

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.7 V6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

Good vehicle, despite my doubts..

Faults:

Nothing at all. It did mysteriously fail to start on one occasion, was towed to dealer... where it started right up. No idea what that was about.

General Comments:

I was skeptical about purchasing this car, but my wife liked it. I have to say that I am really pretty impressed. It is not fancy, but does seem well screwed together. Performance is... well, it's a small SUV. Not fast, not agile. Competent, though. Interior is comfortable, and pretty roomy. Quite quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2007

23rd Jul 2011, 08:02

I love my Santa Fe. Never had a problem with it. I'll probably write a review soon. I had a few doubts too, but the Santa Fe had me pleasantly surprised!

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe LX-4WD 3.5 V6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe - Happy Motoring

Faults:

No problems as of yet.

General Comments:

Well, I should start by saying that I found my Hyundai the same way I found the car it was replacing. Cruising the dealer lots looking at stickers. I was in the need to replacing a very relialbe 1997 Chrysler Cirrus; and I found myself looking for a Hyundai Tucson. The problem was, none were available with the features I wanted. Leather seats, etc. I shopped other brands and found the best overall deal was going to be on the Santa Fe. In all honestly I'm shocked by my luck again. I found a very nice (if somewhat cheap looking) reliable vehicle.

The only areas of concern has been the turns during rain. The truck seems to slide to the side a little more than I'd like. It just sends a gentle reminder to slow down; or use the handy Shift-Tronic "gate". Either that or it needs better tires. I've replaced them, and don't feel much safer. Only time will tell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2006

1st Sep 2006, 16:47

The Sante Fe is a very good vehicle, and very reliable. Tires can make a very BIG difference in wet cornering, and I highly recommend spending a little extra for some high-end all weather tires. They will make your Sante Fe much safer in wet weather.

3rd Jul 2007, 23:23

Thanks for the tip!

I now how 102,000 miles on it, and I still LOVE my Hyundai.

The tire swapout did help, somewhat. I think I need wider tires on it. I dunno.

But I'm still trouble free - and loving it!

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.7

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance18300 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Santa Fe

Summary:

Enjoy the comfortable ride!

Faults:

There is a rattling noise that the service department can't seem to determine where it is originating from.

General Comments:

I quite like my Santa Fe! It's my second one. I traded in my 2001 when Hyundai introduced their new warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2005

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance14200 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Unique styled SUV worth the money

Faults:

Not really any problems, but, I think that the doors need some lithium grease because sometimes they don't open up the easiest.

The interior cloth seats are a little cheesy and cheap looking.

General Comments:

This vehicle gets really good gas mileage.

It rides like a car, very smooth.

Overall, I have been really pleased with my Santa Fe. I haven't had any problems with it. It seats 5 people comfortably. The cargo space is surprisingly good, and of course the design of the Santa Fe is unique. Nothing else looks like it. I recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a small SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2005

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 2WD 3.5

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Super!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I’m 6’ 2 ” and 250 pounds. I‘ve had the Santa Fe (2004) GLS 3.5L for about 8 months. I’ve had no problems at all. That A/C thing – I never experienced it. I don’t know what the guy is talking about.

I researched crash data and prices first and this was the best vehicle that met my needs.

Point: I fit in the driving position – but just barely. I’d like a little more room, but I’m not willing to pay 30K for it (I got the car for 19K flat). There is a little delay between pressing on the gas and acceleration; however, there is a factory service bulletin that addresses that.

I’m not sorry I got the Santa Fe. Other vehicles had some serious problems (like the back hatch swings to the right and not up) and, by comparison, pricey with fewer features. This has been an exceptional buy – a really good car. You’d be nuts not to consider the Santa Fe if a medium-small SUV is what your after (mines a 2WD and silver)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2005

3rd Apr 2009, 13:32

I agree. I love my Santa Fe. It's a 2004 as well and do not regret buying it at all. I would buy another one just so my wife can have one too. I have the 2.4L Theta in it and it gets great gas mileage, about 30 combined. I definitely recommend this to anyone. I wanted a Dodge Dakota Quad Cab but my wife talked about Hyundai's like they were the best thing out there and I think they are definitely up there. We took her 2002 Elantra from Kingsport, Tn to Jacksonville, Fl on one tank of gas. I now swear by this company. They make a fine set of automobiles.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 28 reviews