Jaguar XK8 Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 4

1999 Jaguar XK8 Convertible 4.0 V8 5-speed ZF

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 5-speed ZF Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

It's a keeper!

Faults:

One seal was replaced where the top meets the window ($90).

The car came with only one remote and one key. A new remote and key from the dealer was about $400.

The power antenna must had to be repaired (<$200).

After over a year of trouble-free motoring, one of the timing chain guide rails failed causing one or more of the tensioners to fail, so the engine had to be replaced at 65,000 miles. The new engine has updated timing components that are not supposed to fail. This job would have been $12,000 if it weren't for the Select Edition warranty.

General Comments:

This is my grandmother's car. The car has been great with the exception of the timing chain failure. Fortunately, this was covered under the Select Edition warranty. She was aware when she got the car that this problem exists with Jaguars of this generation. There are usually some indicators before engine failure such as clicking noises or rough startups. She experienced none of these warning signs.

If buying one of these cars, I would strongly recommend having the "third generation" timing parts installed as a preventive measure if it has not already been done. The preventive work costs $2,800 at a Jaguar dealer versus $12,000 for engine replacement.

The interior of this car is cozy and has a lot of nice features. The materials are top-shelf and the controls are well-designed. The Jag is very fun to drive and looks most dashing in British Racing Green with the Camel top.

I feel that this car is much safer for my grandmother than the Mustang convertible that she had before. The Jaguar has been a very reliable car with the one exception and is still her favorite car that she has ever had. The dealer, Jaguar Hilton Head, has been wonderful in helping her with the car and provided an S-Type 4.2 loaner without delay when the car had to stay overnight unexpectedly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

17th Aug 2006, 14:48

During which model year did the "3rd Generation timing components" become a running production change?

21st Aug 2006, 21:50

According to our research, it was 2005. The "2nd generation" components came out in 2000 and are supposed to last longer than the 1st gen., but they're still not as good as the 3rd gen. components.

1997 Jaguar XK8

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

1997 models have engine engineering flaws

Faults:

Engine had to be replaced at 67,000 miles.

General Comments:

This automobile was meticulously maintained by Jaguar dealers and no formal explanation for the failure. $11,000 bill of which Jaguar NA contributed $4,000. Terrible experience. $72,000 car with dime store service attitude.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

16th Nov 2003, 16:16

Should have never left BMW! What were you thinking man?

7th Apr 2004, 14:19

They replaced my engine free of charge!

21st Jan 2005, 08:47

Probably left BMW because the Jag is a beautiful car, and the Germans engineer very good machines, but have never built anything pretty in their history?

28th Sep 2006, 20:10

I was hoping that Ford had got Jaguar quality right when I bought my 1997 XK8 with FJSH at 53K, unfortunately I have been proved wrong. I replaced the tensioners straightaway and they were cracked. Since then the traction control is coming on intermittently for no reason shutting down the engine revs usually when I most need them. The final drive clutch pack is rasping/vibrating so it will be a new auto box because this is not repairable. In addition the CATS suspension has failed somewhere and so I am in default mode. After only 9000 miles I am less than impressed. Beautiful car and a good drive, but that's my 7th and last Jaguar they are all way too much trouble, I'm buying Japanese next. From some of the reviews posted elsewhere I can see I am not alone.

2000 Jaguar XK8 Coupe 4.0L AJ-V8

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L AJ-V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired450 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

A work of art in motion

Faults:

Engine rumbles violently when restarted 1 hour of rest after a long distance run (>2hours). Coventry is aware of this problem, but no solutions as of 2003. It's just one of those British eccentricities you have to live with if you love British cars. Otherwise, despite this fear inducing glitch, all other machine parts functioning without heartaches.

General Comments:

Beautiful work of art that also happens to be an automobile. Reeks of British class and cool. Up until recently, shamed Aston Martin as overpriced imitation. Only the rear design fails to live up to the rest, which looks too generic and Ford-like. Performance is respectable and can compete with non-turbo 911 Carrera. Supercar feel without supercar bankruptcy. Clearly a superior choice over Aston Martin DB7.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2003

1st Jul 2003, 17:01

The performance cannot compare with a Carrera. Carrera coupes run stock 4.8 in 0-60 and the quarter in 13.2. The XK8 coupe has a 5.7-5.9 0-60 and a quarter in 14.0. It also does not compare to the DB7, which 375+hp (actually lots more) and V12 engine would leave the Jag in the dust; with better resale value and a nicer interior. It sounds to me like you are trying to convince yourself the Jaguar is better.

1997 Jaguar XK8 4.0 V8

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance248200 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Milano

Summary:

A reliable car, my Jaguar!

Faults:

Nothing!

I never had problem with this car!

The reliability is excellent!

The quality of the finishing is good!

General Comments:

It's a good car.

The rear places are small.

The quality and the reliability are excellent.

The engine is powerful, but less than an Alfa Romeo.

I like this car and I did a lot of kilometers (almost in Canada).

The car is comfortable.

I am surprised, but the car is good for the winter in Boston.

So, of course, the car is easy and fun to drive.

The suspensions are soft and good!

The radio has a bad sound!!!

So, that's all!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

1st Dec 2003, 16:45

You will be well advised to keep a check on the engine. Problems with early model engines and their Nic-o-sil cylinder lining. These engines cannot handle any above normal heat, even brief thermostat failure.

6th Jan 2004, 06:07

The Nikasil problem has nothing to do with excess heat, excess heat will damage any engine.

Nikasil is a cylinder wall coating that was used by Jaguar and BMW which meant they could do away with heavy iron cylinder liners. They didn't realise at the time that poor quality petrol with a high sulphur content would eat away at the lining, causing premature engine wear. This problem is compounded by using the car for short journeys where the engine never reaches operating temperature which leaves unburnt acidic compounds to further attack the lining.

Jaguar and BWM replaced engines under warranty where required, however, many cars did not and will not need replacement engines because they have been run on low sulphur quality petrol and used on longer journeys. It is also vital to service the car on the dot and only use recommended engine fluids.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews