1973 Lincoln Mark IV Continental 7.5 460

Summary:

Titanic of 70's

Faults:

A/C clutch was bad when I bought it.

Window switches are a bit loose.

Other than that, everything looks good.

General Comments:

I wasn't particularly looking for a Mark IV, but this car was too good to pass up. White with black top and white leather.

This car is unlike any other when it comes to style and design. On the highway it's just as quiet as my Lexus LS400 I recently sold. Power is just enough to get it going, and it feels fine on the highway with enough left to pass other cars.

AS a vehicle it makes no sense at all. For such a huge car, the interior is a bit small, and trunk space is not the biggest either, but who cares?

I also own a Mark VII and owned a Mark VIII at some point. Driving this car is just such a breeze. I enjoy being the only one on the road in such a unique car. Sadly, most people drive cars that all look the same and have no character, but their loss is my gain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2009

23rd Sep 2009, 19:23

"Titanic of 70's"

- And it belongs in Davy Jones' locker along with the original Titanic!

24th Sep 2009, 09:06

Do you have a Continental, or a Mark IV? Your review is not clear, and these two vehicles are quite different.

27th Sep 2009, 21:43

"- And it belongs in Davy Jones' locker along with the original Titanic!"

And why is that? Because it's large and pollutes the air perhaps? Yes it does. And I'm all for saving the environment, but cars like this are heritage. They (for the most part) are not used as daily drivers and are basically just show cars or weekend cruisers. I like helping the environment, but I also like to enjoy driving as well.

1972 Lincoln Mark IV 460 ci

Summary:

A magnificent example of lost American automotive luxury

Faults:

When I bought the car, the brakes were rusted from lack of use (the car had been in storage the last nine years) and needed a full overhaul, including master cylinder.

The transmission oil pan seal leaked and was replaced.

The vehicle also needed fresh shocks.

Other than these repairs and a full fluid flush, the car was in excellent condition mechanically.

General Comments:

I've wanted a Mark IV ever since I was a child and saw these magnificent vehicles cruising the streets of New York.

A few months ago, I located a '72 in our area and decided to take the plunge and purchase it. The car was in outstanding cosmetic condition, with a professional repaint and new vinyl top, and the mileage was very low for the model year.

This car just glides silently along the highway at high speeds and is a joy to drive. Yes, the steering has too much play and the brakes are not up to modern standards, but there is simply no vehicle today that can give the experience of driving a Mark IV.

What impresses me most about the vehicle is the fit-and-finish; the panels gaps are tight and uniform, the interior is made of very high-quality materials, and the whole car exudes quality and care of assembly.

I've been a long-time Cadillac fan and own a '72 Eldorado Convertible, but I have to admit that the Mark IV's fit-and-finish is superior to that of the Cadi. This fact and the styling is probably why the Mark IV and V consistently outsold Cadillac's "personal car" throughout most of the '70's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2009

24th Feb 2009, 13:45

I have to agree with you. I own several marks (III, IV's and V's) as well as a 72. I do enjoy driving my 72, but my 71 has more power and is a great deal more agile.

My 79 Collectors Series mark is more opulent, but my 72 just has the boldest front end with that large chrome grille.

My friends all make fun of me, as I work as a lead technician for a korean automaker, and the newest vehicle I own is 30 years old!!!

25th Feb 2009, 09:46

On a road full of economical, egg-shaped, imaginative and most often disappointing examples of modern automotive engineering, the Marks of 1968-1979 are true starships. Even the most opulent BMW or the most expensive Mercedes cannot even hint at the curb appeal of these truly beautiful works of automotive art.

Hold on to your example, they will explode in value soon. The classic car world is just now starting to re-evaluate cars from the 70's and when the stumble blindly upon the Mark's III, IV, and V, they will be the most sought after of all vehicles from that era. Trust me. I own 7 of them. ;)

M.O.C

24th Oct 2010, 00:40

Just got my Mark IV; it truly is rolling art. The car is very quiet. The ride is just like floating down the road, and I love the smiles and comments I get. I will keep this car forever.