Mercedes-Benz W115 Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 4

1983 Mercedes-Benz W115 240D diesel

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4600 miles
Most recent distance190567 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W115

Summary:

The very best

Faults:

I have replaced a lot of parts, but far less than any other car I have ever owned. Just remember, please listen, find a truck repair person (NOT A MERCEDES repair place), and buy your parts from rockauto.com, you can't fix any other car cheaper. The 240D will run for you forever.

General Comments:

This is one of the very best auto's you will EVER own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2009

29th Mar 2010, 19:19

What is the fuel economy on these 240 Mercedes?

1973 Mercedes-Benz W115 220D 2.2L

Model year1973
Year of manufacture1973
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

The best designed car, made safe and reliable

Faults:

New alternator, new windshield rubber and rear window rubber seals.

General Comments:

The 220D Mercedes is one of the best Mercedes I've owned. I've owned 4 different models. The beauty of this car is the simplicity; manual windows and door locks. No issues like on the later models that have vacuum leaks and problems with the heater vents not opening, nor the cost of fixing them.

It's not fast but cruises very comfortably and quietly.

It always starts well even in the cold. Keep up the service and it will outlast you.

I switched to Mobil 1 synthetic oil; what a difference! No leaks, and the engine runs so smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2008

1974 Mercedes-Benz W115 240D 2.4 diesel

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Summary:

The best car I've ever had

Faults:

The brakes failed in the highway and I had to use the emergency brake.

The transmission would not retain parking brake.

General Comments:

I love this car. All my friends and family tell me it looks like an old school gangster car. I got it painted 1 month ago. It looks great.

I love the big windshield. It gives you a lot of visibility all around.

The seats are very comfortable. It feels as if you weren't wearing seat belts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2008

9th Aug 2009, 06:17

Love my Mercedes over 20 years. 74 240D. Somewhat better than a Rolls Royce.

29th Jul 2012, 19:30

Hello to all. I've just discovered the 1974 W115's a few weeks ago, & have fallen in love with the car, and would like to buy an automatic. I have been looking at one, the owner says it has 3 gears. (3 speed automatic?) All my research shows only 4 speed automatics. Are there 3 speed automatics? Could the owner be wrong about his description? Or could there be something wrong with this car's gear shifting? Any info anyone can tell me will be greatly appreciated.

Are there any other issues unique to automatic W 115's I should be aware of when shopping for one?

Thanks & Best wishes to all.

1976 Mercedes-Benz W115 240 d

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Summary:

It is great!

Faults:

The air conditioning is not blowing coldly. I don't know what to do to get it working correctly. I also, have notice that the back seat is rusted and the fuel gauge is not working correctly. Also, heat comes from the engine to the feet area. But, besides these minor issue my baby Vanilla Ice is running great!

General Comments:

I love my car as it makes me feel very important when I drive it. I make my car look so great when I step out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2006

1976 Mercedes-Benz W115 240D 2.4

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

Wonderful car, would like to fix the smoke screen problem

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet. I just purchased this car from the original owner in Grand Junction Colorado. It seems to run great minus the fact that it blows more smoke than any car I have ever seen. Think "Uncle Buck" this is that car. I really am looking for any advice from anyone who might know where to start. Acceleration is typical black, which is ok. The second I let off the pedal it starts pouring out white and sometimes blue. At idle it runs high and just belts out blue smoke!!

The car is mint other than this annoying problem.

General Comments:

Love the car for the price runs great other than above problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

29th Oct 2004, 00:57

In general:

-blue smoke = car consumes oil; for instance when O-rings and/or valve stems are worn

-white smoke = water (sometimes due to condensation) in the mixture; for instance when the head gasket is gone

Hope that helps.

27th Nov 2004, 18:26

Hi, I have a 71 220D that does the same thing- I have been told it is a problem of the diesel injection pump-I live in Oklahoma City and it won't start if temp falls into the high 30's- I am looking for suggestions, as well- I love the way the car rides and drives- it actually runs good except for the cloud of black smoke- it also puts out a lot of blue smoke on a cool morning!! Thanks and good luck!!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews