Mercedes-Benz W115 Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 4

1975 Mercedes-Benz W115 240D 2.4 liter diesel

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired265000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Our 300SDL is fabulous car, but...

Faults:

Power steering bracket bolt broke at 272,000 miles.

Blower motor for the air conditioning stopped working at 280,000.

Fuel filter clogged at 290,000 miles.

Several small interior plastic trim pieces have broken.

Needs new exhaust tailpipe - the rest is still original and good.

General Comments:

With the exception of a three month period in between, this is a two-owner car.

Car has all service and repair records; the repair records are about ten items total - a few bushings, linkage, etc.

The transmission is a perfect match for the little 67hp engine: the four-speed manual makes the car actually fun to drive!

The trunk is big enough to sleep in.

The interior and exterior chrome is fabulous and the MB-Tex interior is great.

The dash has only two small cracks in it after 28 years.

The engine has no blow-by gases and starts great in cold weather, so it may make it another 300,000 miles (I hope).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

3rd Oct 2004, 18:30

Correction! A 300 SDL could only be 17 or 18 years old.

6th Mar 2007, 18:04

I think what they mean is, "My 300SDL is a great car... BUT this 240D is better (?) " They just didn't finish the sentence.

1972 Mercedes-Benz W115 220d 2.2 diesel

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired318000 miles
Most recent distance321000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W115

Summary:

If you know about it, the you will love it

Faults:

When I acquired the car it needed a new fuel injection pump diaphragm. this took a while to replace, but after that with some new belts and hoses, all was fine.

Brake booster began to die at 320,000.

Other than that its been great!

It did need a lot of body work... but it got done. rust wasn't too bad.

General Comments:

A 1972 220d isn't a rare car. I bought it at a body shop for $300. the owner insisted the motor was blown. the day I trailered the car home, it started up perfectly, albeit a lack of oil. I did sell it, but the present owner does not seem to appreciate her car to the fullest and it may return to me in time. I drove it around too. its alternator is weak, but that doesn't cause many problems. A/C system needs finishing.

This car will be good for many, many more miles. it is not a bad 220d at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2003

1974 Mercedes-Benz W115 240D 2.4 diesel

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired187000 miles
Most recent distance199350 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 240d

Summary:

A practical classic car that can be driven every day

Faults:

My 1974 Mercedes 240D had all the rust removed when I bought it in 2000. It was repainted the original Ivory color.

My transmission had to be replaced at 187,000 miles. I replaced it with a four speed automatic from a 300d.

The brake booster began to work improperly at 190,000 miles.

The master cylinder was replaced at 198,000 miles.

The car has a tendency to eat through tires, and I have to replace one about every 2000 miles.

The vacuum pump diaphragm began to leak at 189,000 miles. I promptly replaced it.

General Comments:

This car achieves an average of 34 miles per gallon. This tends to vary, as I get 30 in the city and up to 46 on the highway.

The vehicle is extremely comfortable, and has a strong air conditioning system, luxurious interior and chrome appointments.

The car is slow in accelerating, but it cruises well at 60 MPH.

This vehicle is extremely reliable, and has inexspensive maintenance costs.

The vehicle looks gorgeous, with chrome sidings and a lovely classic body style.

The vehicle handles well, and is very safe, being equipped with disc brakes, independent suspension and 3 point seat belts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

8th Jan 2003, 01:53

A 1974 Mercedes 240D should not eat tires. It should get 40K miles on a good matched set of radials. Mine did. It is a relatively light car with a good suspension.

19th Jan 2003, 23:13

I fixed my tire problem. I bought a brand new set. so far all is well.

13th May 2003, 11:01

A 240 4 speed will average around 30 mpg. 35-37 highway and 27-29 city.

14th Feb 2004, 17:10

I have a 74 240D and was getting poor mileage on the highway, around 24 at 65 to 70 mph. It came with a 3.63 rear end ratio. I installed a 3.07 from a W123 300 turbo. Wow, now I am getting 38 on the highway! The car is a little slower, but much nicer to drive.

21st Feb 2004, 14:31

I owned a 75 240D with 4 spd manual trans for about 4 years. My wife and I once drove it fom Vancouver to LA and back via Reno. Cruising at 60-65 mph gave about 41 mpg (imperial gallon). Pushing it to 70 would drop the economy down to about 33-35 mpg. Worst I ever got was the long climb from Bakersfield up to Lake Tahoe where it dropped to about 27 mpg.

15th Jun 2008, 15:24

Guys, I'm seriously thinking of getting a 1974 Mercedes... I'm almost convinced... should I? And which engine should I get? 240d? or 200? or?

26th Jun 2010, 04:48

I got 100,000 Km (62,000 miles) from a set of really cheap tyres on my '74 240D before I gave the car to my father, and he is still using the same tyres (but they're totally worn-out now.) Cheapest car I have ever owned on tyres & maintenance!

29th Jul 2012, 18:48

I've just discovered the 1974 115's a few weeks ago, & have fallen in love with the car, & would like to get one (automatic), & like you, I'd like to find out as much as I can before buying one.

Is it difficult finding parts for them?

Are there any problems unique to the car that I should look out for when shopping for one?

RE: your question about 240 engine vs 200 engine, what was the answer?

Thanks, Best wishes.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews