1974 Mercedes-Benz W115 Reviews

1974 Mercedes-Benz W115 240D 2.4 diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Summary:

The best car I've ever had

Faults:

The brakes failed in the highway and I had to use the emergency brake.

The transmission would not retain parking brake.

General Comments:

I love this car. All my friends and family tell me it looks like an old school gangster car. I got it painted 1 month ago. It looks great.

I love the big windshield. It gives you a lot of visibility all around.

The seats are very comfortable. It feels as if you weren't wearing seat belts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2008

9th Aug 2009, 06:17

Love my Mercedes over 20 years. 74 240D. Somewhat better than a Rolls Royce.

29th Jul 2012, 19:30

Hello to all. I've just discovered the 1974 W115's a few weeks ago, & have fallen in love with the car, and would like to buy an automatic. I have been looking at one, the owner says it has 3 gears. (3 speed automatic?) All my research shows only 4 speed automatics. Are there 3 speed automatics? Could the owner be wrong about his description? Or could there be something wrong with this car's gear shifting? Any info anyone can tell me will be greatly appreciated.

Are there any other issues unique to automatic W 115's I should be aware of when shopping for one?

Thanks & Best wishes to all.

1974 Mercedes-Benz W115 230.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car until recently, when for some reason it seems to move through the gears in a strange way, going from 4th gear to third, even though I was actually raising the speed and not decreasing it?

I was hoping some of the members could give me some feedback on why it is doing this, as the garage guy seems lost on how to find the solution.

The car itself is a 1974 Mercedes 230.4 automatic and is the most fantastic car I've ever driven (wish I could have afforded to buy one new in 1974). This must have been a beast in its day, far more advanced than any car that I know of at that time.

General Comments:

The car is still out of this world, I would not change it for a brand new Mercedes!

The seats are comfy and it cruises like a Rolls Royce.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2004

23rd Feb 2006, 12:10

The problem is caused by the vacuum system in your gearbox, this happen to me and the local garage fixed it in half an hour.

Hope this helps.

5th Mar 2006, 23:49

I drive one of these too.

Best car ever.

I've had her for nearly 10 years now, and I'm determined to keep her going for a long time yet.

1974 Mercedes-Benz W115 240D 2.4 diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired187000 miles
Most recent distance199350 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 240d

Summary:

A practical classic car that can be driven every day

Faults:

My 1974 Mercedes 240D had all the rust removed when I bought it in 2000. It was repainted the original Ivory color.

My transmission had to be replaced at 187,000 miles. I replaced it with a four speed automatic from a 300d.

The brake booster began to work improperly at 190,000 miles.

The master cylinder was replaced at 198,000 miles.

The car has a tendency to eat through tires, and I have to replace one about every 2000 miles.

The vacuum pump diaphragm began to leak at 189,000 miles. I promptly replaced it.

General Comments:

This car achieves an average of 34 miles per gallon. This tends to vary, as I get 30 in the city and up to 46 on the highway.

The vehicle is extremely comfortable, and has a strong air conditioning system, luxurious interior and chrome appointments.

The car is slow in accelerating, but it cruises well at 60 MPH.

This vehicle is extremely reliable, and has inexspensive maintenance costs.

The vehicle looks gorgeous, with chrome sidings and a lovely classic body style.

The vehicle handles well, and is very safe, being equipped with disc brakes, independent suspension and 3 point seat belts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

8th Jan 2003, 01:53

A 1974 Mercedes 240D should not eat tires. It should get 40K miles on a good matched set of radials. Mine did. It is a relatively light car with a good suspension.

19th Jan 2003, 23:13

I fixed my tire problem. I bought a brand new set. so far all is well.

13th May 2003, 11:01

A 240 4 speed will average around 30 mpg. 35-37 highway and 27-29 city.

14th Feb 2004, 17:10

I have a 74 240D and was getting poor mileage on the highway, around 24 at 65 to 70 mph. It came with a 3.63 rear end ratio. I installed a 3.07 from a W123 300 turbo. Wow, now I am getting 38 on the highway! The car is a little slower, but much nicer to drive.

21st Feb 2004, 14:31

I owned a 75 240D with 4 spd manual trans for about 4 years. My wife and I once drove it fom Vancouver to LA and back via Reno. Cruising at 60-65 mph gave about 41 mpg (imperial gallon). Pushing it to 70 would drop the economy down to about 33-35 mpg. Worst I ever got was the long climb from Bakersfield up to Lake Tahoe where it dropped to about 27 mpg.

15th Jun 2008, 15:24

Guys, I'm seriously thinking of getting a 1974 Mercedes... I'm almost convinced... should I? And which engine should I get? 240d? or 200? or?

26th Jun 2010, 04:48

I got 100,000 Km (62,000 miles) from a set of really cheap tyres on my '74 240D before I gave the car to my father, and he is still using the same tyres (but they're totally worn-out now.) Cheapest car I have ever owned on tyres & maintenance!

29th Jul 2012, 18:48

I've just discovered the 1974 115's a few weeks ago, & have fallen in love with the car, & would like to get one (automatic), & like you, I'd like to find out as much as I can before buying one.

Is it difficult finding parts for them?

Are there any problems unique to the car that I should look out for when shopping for one?

RE: your question about 240 engine vs 200 engine, what was the answer?

Thanks, Best wishes.

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews