1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SE V6 VG30E

Summary:

The greatest trucks ever built!

Faults:

Alternator failed at 210,000 miles.

The dash was cracked when I purchased the truck.

The front brakes were typical on wear for my style of driving- replaced every 40,000 to 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

After lowering the truck and installing newer Frontier wheels, this truck will handle like a well set up sports car.

Being fully loaded, creature comforts are very well designed, but the bucket seat could have have been designed better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2005

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4z

Summary:

I love my truck

Faults:

My dash lights quit working.

I put a new valve cover gasket on.

The plastic vents for the ac are brittle and cracking.

General Comments:

It has the original clutch in it and it will still hold a burnout.

It has been dropped 3 inches front and back, has performance shocks, so it handles extremely well.

I had 2 10's behind the seat, but took them out, because lack of leg room.

For a foreign vehicle, it is very fun to work with (oil change, tune up).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

27th Nov 2005, 20:50

I would check the dimmer switch on the dash for your dash lights no longer working. I just bypassed it and made them be at max brightness

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Hardbody 2.4 NAPZ

Summary:

This truck goes head to head with Toyota

Faults:

Sometimes the transmission will grind due to the synchronizers. I just have to drive it nice and it isn't a problem. At one time it was pretty bad, but over the last few months it has gone away and only happens on rare occasions.

General Comments:

It is a reliable truck that is cheap to maintain, has a good strong motor, gets good gas mileage, is really easy to drive and is very dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup EX 2.4 4 cylinder

Summary:

A good reliable fun truck

Faults:

Where do I start? Most recently the fuel pump went out.

I have replaced every radiator hose, and all three belts.

The truck was in a accident when I purchased it. The front bumper was replaced, as well as the headlights and marker lights. the passenger fender was replaced as well.

General Comments:

Overall, I love this truck and wouldn't trade it for anything.

It has decent power and handles pretty well.

These trucks are easily customized with a wide variety of parts available, and can be easily lowered in the front just by adjusting the torsion bar bolts.

I actually had fun fixing this truck. It has a 4inch lowering kit. A black paint job with racing stripes. I added euro lights front and back, as well as customizing the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SD25 2.5L diesel

Summary:

It will bring you every when you want for nothing

Faults:

Leaking from rear end of transmission at 245 000km.

Expensive center bearing on drive shaft.

Leaking oil pressure sensor.

Hard to find jobber parts (not listed).

General Comments:

This truck us very fun to drive considering the age.

It pulls like a horse, but it is not a fast truck.

Very cheap to run with low maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

2nd Dec 2003, 03:37

I have a Nissan SD25 diesel, I had a problem with the gearbox, it would select the gears alright, but nothing happened. It turns out that a gear that was keyed to the shaft sheared the top of the woodruff keys and was just spinning on the shaft. The mechanic that fixed the gearbox was amazed that it was keyed normally the gear and shaft are one. Because of this l don't have any confidence in the gear box, especially for driving in sand. Could you reassure me with the gearbox or is it a weakness with it like I have been told.

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4Z

Summary:

Good first truck for a 17yr old like myself

Faults:

The clutch (master and slave) cylinders went out. Blew a head gasket. It also blew a valve cover gasket. And it leaks and burns a little oil. It needs a new set of rings, but I don't have the time to put them in.

General Comments:

It's a very cool truck. I have 235/75 R15's with bullet hole wheels on it and it looks cool b/c its up in the air and that makes the paint job look a little better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2003