1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 4 cylinder

Summary:

A good truck for the price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this pickup. Routine maintenance is all this pickup needs. An oil change, new brakes and tires and this truck will run forever.

General Comments:

This is a great truck for anyone wanting to go off road. It's very economical. I get about 26-28 mpg on highway. A lift kit would help if you wanted to go off road. The stock clearance isn't all that great. The ride isn't the best. When there is a strong wind and going up a hill there isn't much more left in the little 4 cylinder. If you're looking for more power try to find a SE. This has the V-6. One thing though I know people that have over 300,000 miles on this same pickup. So this truck will last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2002

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup King Cab XE 2.4 litre

Summary:

A really reliable useful automobile

Faults:

Now that the vehicle is getting more miles on it. I have noticed more leaks on the ground under the car lately.

The speedometer broke and the transmission is slipping out of first and is grinding when I gear down. The usual wear and tear is starting to be more noticeable, like worn seats and cracks in the dash board. Overall I really like the unit and would purchase a new one when I retire this one.

General Comments:

This little truck is really quick and has loads of torque. It rides like a mid size car and really hugs the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

8th May 2004, 00:01

My speedometer in my 1987 Nissan Pickup went out as well. Now I have modified it to function, but unfortunately the speedometer is reading anywhere between 5 and 15 over.

Have you found anywhere that offers a replacement unit at a good price?

I appreciate your response to ScttPr@hotmail.com.

13th Jan 2011, 17:36

My speedometer is broken too, but here in Mexico, you don't really need it. I just paid for a new clutch though.

16th Mar 2013, 14:39

There are local shops that specialize in speedometers and alternators... My speedometer was stuck on 25 mph and would not operate until I passed 25 mph... I found this small shop, and for $75.00, had it repaired, to include fixing the needle and works great... best $75.00 spent on my '87 Nissan Pickup.

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 4x4 2.4 liter

Summary:

A bad 4x4 machine

Faults:

Alignment went at 200,000.

Rotors went at 280,000.

Body Rot in wheel wells of bed.

Transmission went at 200,000.

General Comments:

My Nissan has been the best 4x4 I have seen in a while. It is to small on the interior, but good for having fun in. I took it off a 20' drop in a riverbed doing 60mph and only broke the windshield with my forehead and bent the bars on the front. This is a truck that won't break.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2002

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Z24 inline 4

Summary:

Good truck

Faults:

This is a very reliable truck, for anyone, but it makes a really good teenagers first car. I'm 18 and I love the truck, the only thing wrong so far, is that the brake master cylinder went out or is leaking, but I'm getting a new one soon, but this truck is great!!

General Comments:

This truck has pretty good power for a 4 banger engine, I'm always passing Toyotas, Mazdas, and small Dodge d50's on the highway up hills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

17th Oct 2002, 13:07

I have A Nissan hard body pickup and I find it great. It had some rust when I got it, but after I fixed that the truck looks great. It could use a little more power up hills, but otherwise the truck is a great. I don't find it to be a older person truck tho. I and 17 and I love this thing, it is fun any where you drive it.

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup D21 3.0 V-6

Summary:

A very reliable truck

Faults:

The rear drive shaft went bad, worn out. Couldn't find a match, had to use a Pathfinder shaft to work with the trucks old shaft. It's hard to find parts for these trucks.

General Comments:

The truck itself is very reliable and yes the body is made of tinfoil, but the engine and the running gears are good.

My truck had the Z-24 in it and I pulled it out and put the 3.0 in, what a difference! The 4 banger is so underpowered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

11th Jun 2001, 16:18

Would like to get in touch with the author regarding replacing my 2.4L with the 3.0L.

25th Nov 2001, 21:53

I had an 89 that the rear U-joint went out in as well... couldn't fix it because they're staked in. Couldn't find one in a junkyard because they only used those for a couple years and Nissans won't die!!! I'm upset though because after waiting 2 months to have someone fabricate a new drive-shaft for it, I got T-boned at an intersection and totaled the truck! Oh well, now somebody else will be able to get my nice new drive-shaft from the bone yard (I still visit it sometimes...).

7th Feb 2002, 23:46

I too have had to replace my drive shafts 3 times, I found a place in Gardena Ca, fixed it for $35.00 plus they inserted a zerk fitting into it.