1978 Peugeot 504 Sedan 2.3L diesel

Summary:

One ride and you're hooked

Faults:

The alternator needed rebuilding.

The glow plug controller needed replacing.

General Comments:

The Peugeot 504 is the most comfortable car, with the possible exception of a Citroen, I've ever driven.

It is very economical getting between 24 - 29 miles per US gallon of biodiesel.

I've been driving 504's for more than 25 years and have no plans of changing.

It is a very beautiful and distinctive car. You never lose it in a parking lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2008

26th Oct 2008, 13:51

There are still a lot of these used as taxis in Egypt.

27th Oct 2008, 06:35

Good to see someone also driving a 504. Have owned a 1979 504 for last 18years, the car has done 330,000 kms. The engine is still like new and does not use a drop of oil.

Suffering from rust in sills. Have managed to source new panels and hope to have it repaired.

The car is otherwise in perfect condition, cannot bear to sell the car to someone who may not look after it.

Best of luck with yours.

21st Dec 2008, 17:59

Well try to look after your 504s. I use to have one, a 504 ti sedan, and if I won the state lottery I would go and find one again, because whatever it is about them, will always grab attention like no other car ever produced. THEIR STYLING IS AND WAS PERFECT.

20th May 2014, 14:02

Author of this comment. Just sold my 504 after owning it for about 25 years. Sold it to a friend who was already the owner of a similar 504. The car was getting no use, but still in perfect order. Sad to see it go, but better for somebody to get some use out of it.

Great car, will miss it.

1977 Peugeot 504 estate/wagon 2.3L diesel

Summary:

A rugged, versatile, comfortable work horse

Faults:

The alternator failed at 300,000 miles. I assume it had been replaced once prior to my ownership.

The engine required major work at about 225,000 miles including rings and cylinder head work. The head work consisted of the welding of small cracks and a "valve job." Replaced the water pump at the same time.

Replaced the wiper/headlight switch at 325,000 miles.

The power steering failed before I purchased the car. I haven't fixed it. It builds upper body strength.

The driver's seat is badly worn.

General Comments:

Considering the mileage on this vehicle, the upkeep costs have been remarkably low over the years.

The 504 wagon has a prodigious hauling capacity.

This car has some the most comfortable seats in the universe.

The driving position in combination with the seating comfort has made the 504 the most pleasing vehicle I have ever lived with.

I also like a car with "personality," and the 504 has lots of it.

It was suggested to me that my 504 is a little like that eccentric relative that everyone in the family loves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

1975 Peugeot 504 GLD XD 90 - diesel

Summary:

This car is a well-built, rather slow, very comfortable, dependable 'tank'

Faults:

Motor required rebuild at 94,000 (due to dried cylinder seals only)

Rear brake compensator valve rebuilt

Brake and clutch cylinders rebuilt

Surface rust on rocker panels needs frequent inspection/attention.

General Comments:

My father purchased this car new, and I took over its care 10 years later. Not one element of comfort or drive-ability has changed in the last 27 years. With proper care it seems this car will outlast any and all drivers.

Most wonderful seats I've ever had the pleasure to command; 4-6 hours produces no driving fatigue! (much better than my Lincoln!)

Very inexpensive car to keep.

I'm currently searching for a 5-speed, as it is rather slow by today's standards - 70 mph is about max. Does very well on curves and stopping.

Very well-designed and built, I only wish cars of its quality were being built today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2002

1st Jun 2005, 12:46

If you are still looking for a five speed gearbox, the 505gti has an interchangable gearbox. This should plug straight on.

1982 Peugeot 504 Wagon Diesel

Faults:

Engine worn out at 130,000 miles, should last longer.

Normal wear and tear items.

General Comments:

I love this car because it can do many things, is comfortable and has good winter traction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

3rd Oct 2001, 04:15

I would like to see that wonderful car.

I'm falling in love of this kind of car and it's so important to me to read all the information that you can publish about that car.