1978 Peugeot 504 Reviews

1978 Peugeot 504 Sedan 2.3L diesel from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.3L diesel Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 504

Summary:

One ride and you're hooked

Faults:

The alternator needed rebuilding.

The glow plug controller needed replacing.

General Comments:

The Peugeot 504 is the most comfortable car, with the possible exception of a Citroen, I've ever driven.

It is very economical getting between 24 - 29 miles per US gallon of biodiesel.

I've been driving 504's for more than 25 years and have no plans of changing.

It is a very beautiful and distinctive car. You never lose it in a parking lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2008

26th Oct 2008, 13:51

There are still a lot of these used as taxis in Egypt.

27th Oct 2008, 06:35

Good to see someone also driving a 504. Have owned a 1979 504 for last 18years, the car has done 330,000 kms. The engine is still like new and does not use a drop of oil.

Suffering from rust in sills. Have managed to source new panels and hope to have it repaired.

The car is otherwise in perfect condition, cannot bear to sell the car to someone who may not look after it.

Best of luck with yours.

21st Dec 2008, 17:59

Well try to look after your 504s. I use to have one, a 504 ti sedan, and if I won the state lottery I would go and find one again, because whatever it is about them, will always grab attention like no other car ever produced. THEIR STYLING IS AND WAS PERFECT.

1978 Peugeot 504 Ti from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 504

Summary:

Unashamed Luxury

Faults:

Alternator is a little on the slow side following a prolonged spell in the garage. It has alway taken many miles of driving to correct itself. This problem was also evident in my other 504, a GL.

Worn exhaust had caused many miles worth of head aches with a constant vibration rattle through the gear selector. Thankfully, the radio was able to drown out the noise.

General Comments:

Unlike the GL, the Ti is a far superior car with the Kugel Fischer injection system. The car pulls cleanly away hot or cold and starting is prompt. This system enables you to drive using all the available power with ease unlike the GL with a carburetor that uses the second choke as an on/off switch. This isn't so good when attached to an automatique gearbox as kick down is in exactly the same place as kick down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

26th Mar 2010, 16:09

I bought one of these - gloriously comfortable ride, easy long legs, pretty fast for its day and with quite a few toys considering it was a mid-70s car. It was let down by some not so good reliability - it was the only car I've ever had that I actually had to change a broken piston. Guess you can't have everything. For all its faults, this was the nicest car I've ever owned, and if it had been reliable, I might even still have it.

1978 Peugeot 504 GL 2.0 from Egypt

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1982
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance171000 kilometres

Summary:

A high performance car

Faults:

The car is overall working well till this present since I got it in 1982.

With the automatic transmission it's a more comfortable ride with an exception that it takes a couple of extra seconds to get to higher speeds.

Overall it's as light as a bird and it's pretty fast too reaching speeds of 140km/h which is impressive for a 1978 car.

Haven't had any mechanical problems lately just the regular oil changes and maintenance.

General Comments:

I prefer to keep the car till it doesn't move an inch.

I don't plan on selling it whatever price I get for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2002

1978 Peugeot 504 GL 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired900000 kilometres
Most recent distance1100000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Patrol

Summary:

It does everything well, and nothing badly

Faults:

Rebuilt carby.

Front right wheel bearing.

Broke a window winder. Total cost about $250.

Only stopped running once, due to a break in a rubber fuel line. Repaired at the roadside in ten minutes. No other faults.

General Comments:

This car is a something the other makers should aspire to make. If Peugeot made a 4x4 I would have bought it. My sister has had 2 Peugeots and had a very similiar experience to my own. What a fantastic (if odd-looking!) vehicle. Outstanding and recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2001

7th May 2004, 09:23

This is exactly what I've been preaching about. Brilliant car. No other car comes close!

1978 Peugeot 504 GLD 2.3 diesel from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 2.3 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired226000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 404

Summary:

Nice, economical, reliable and spacious car

Faults:

In our climate the body easily rusts and normally they will not last longer than 8-10 years. This car had a good body, the first owner took really good care of it by using waxoil from new.

General Comments:

I found the Peugeot 504 diesel a very nice car with a lovely smooth ride. The suspension is very good and so are the seats.

The engine is very strong but does not last long if you rev it up when it is cold or when you go to fast with it. I did 110 km/hour on the highway with a little bit bigger tires on the back (185-15). Does not use a lot of diesel, I did 14 km on one liter. I was also very careful on coolant leakages because the cylinder head will go easily if you overheat it.

I had to replace the radiator, the diesel tank and one front strut. No other problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2000

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews