1993 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5L TBI


Engine block and head were cracked when I got it, replaced engine.

Transmission blew apart, Replaced at the same time as the engine.

Needs some body work.

The trunk leaks sometimes.

Front struts replaced.

General Comments:

Got the car for free, and got a rebuilt engine and transmission for free.

This is my first car. Very comfortable seats, lots of head room for tall people like myself.

I think it's a good looking car, but kind of boxy,

The 2.5 is very reliable and has lots of power. It has never left me on the side of the road. It doesn't burn a drop of oil and runs very good. I know for sure I will have this car for many years to come!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2006

1993 Plymouth Acclaim 1.5


The car is utter crap and wasn't worth it


Battery Died.

Blew the head gasket.

The cylinder head is warped.

Engine overheats.

The car leaks water and anti-freeze.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I've ever been in. I paid $900 and it really was not worth it.

The car isn't even drivable. I've had it for about 3 months and I've only been able to drive it about 1 of those months!

If you're trying to find a cheap car, do not buy one of these. You'll surely regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2006

22nd Mar 2006, 10:49

Agreed. There is no way the owner would have had all those problems 'out of the blue' if he had a proper inspection done prior to purchase.

Potential buyers, regardless of vehicle, should do what Intellichoice does so well - find out the real cost of maintaining the vehicle even if it is in good condition.

For example, buying a used Jaguar for $5,000 sounds like a great deal until you find out it needs $3,000 worth of estimated repairs in the first year.

19th Apr 2006, 05:49

I have a 1993 Plymouth Acclaim. It has 68,000 miles and had 40,000 when I purchased it one year ago for only $1000.00. I have had some problems, but nothing serious. I love my car so much that I gave her a name...Mamie. She definitely is an "old lady" car, but all in all, has been worth the 1000.00.

21st Jul 2006, 01:05

I have had a 1991 Plymouth Acclaim for six years and I wouln't trade it for ANYTHING else. The problems I have had is transmission sensors (2 of them), the exhaust system needed replaced and the headlights build up condensation. Regardless I wouldn't trade "Plummy" for the world.

23rd Jan 2007, 09:28

I don't know why you are so mad about those little problems! If you owned other cars you know that there will be more than just an oil change fee here and there. General Care could have prevented all of that! Oil changes could have ran you what $12.00 to save you $400.00?? It had miles on it what do you expect. I have had mine since 89' and there is no problems yet!

13th Mar 2007, 13:04

By the way, no Acclaim ever came with a 1.5 liter engine. I hope that was a typo, because otherwise you wouldn't know what you are talking about. Most Acclaims that you see used have not been maintained well for some reason. To anyone looking to buy one: It's worth a look, they are durable and economic cars that will probably last longer than the new economy cars. People who don't maintain them have just given them a bad reputation.

1993 Plymouth Acclaim standard


Classic that unfortunately doesn't last forever


Fine until 2003, then one rear wheel bearing/spindle, random squeaking gears, suddenly started stalling at cold temperatures and no repairs have helped (fuel filter replacement, gas line inspection, fuel additives to remove condensation). Now does not start below freezing. Cruise control no longer works.

General Comments:

That first part sounds worse than it is for an abused car. Repairs have been frequent, but extremely cheap. Regular tune-up kept this car in line late in life.

I think it's time to give up on the car now at 86,000 miles over 12 years. It was reliable for 10 years and now I can't trust it anymore. Sometimes I push on the gas when the light turns green and nothing happens for a few seconds. It stalls in the winter all of the sudden, even if I've been driving along for awhile. The thing is, this car may perform perfectly in a test drive if I just put a fresh tank of gas in it, but at half a tank it's a pretty clunky, slow car.

My initial complaints of this car compared to my Sundance was that it's slower (heavier car with same engine), has less usable storage (trunk and back seat not connected), and has a lot of wind noise at high speeds (if you can reach them).

Good aspects are that it still looks brand new, inside and out. Despite recent headaches, it's sad to let go of this car's timeless design. Probably the cheapest car that's still at home parked among Cadillacs and Mercedes at the restaurant valet thanks to the classy body style. I need to spend at least $10,000 to replace it and still feel like I'm getting something better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

14th Nov 2006, 18:14

It's been reliable and I like the design. Can be very classy after a good cleaning - does need frequent ones. A couple of years ago we had to spend a couple of thousand dollars on it. for the last few years, it has been good, but I feel it could die at any moment. Our cooling system has broken down, which makes it almost unbearable in summer for long car trips. But it is sturdy, and has lasted 13 years without any serious worries. Repairs have been minor. We've noticed lately though that it has began to make an aweful screeching noise whenever we idle. The brakes are taking longer to press down, the same for the gas, but it is a good little car, classy while durable and with a lot of spunk.