1993 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5


Terrific for students on a tight budget


Both ball joints.

The windshield wiper arm broke.

One rear bearing.

The gas tank was rusted through when I bought it.

Front brakes were completely replaced.

General Comments:

This is a great first car. It's cheap to buy and very cheap to repair. My front brake job only cost $40 for parts and no more than $30 for labor. Compare that to the hundreds of dollars it costs on some other cars.

This car is quite comfortable although the seats can get annoying on long trips. It handles superbly at high speeds; you always feel in control, no matter what the speedometer says. It's just a shame the car has so much trouble getting to those speeds.

Another great thing about this car is the room inside. You can easily fit 3 people, two cats and piles of Christmas presents without even trying too hard.

In general it's a terrific car that doesn't cost too much to run and it gets you from point A to point B without too much trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

16th Sep 2004, 22:24

What area do you live in where you got labor done for 30$?

If it's in cincinnati, let me know... innatebeauti@yahoo.com.

15th Feb 2005, 09:30

I live in Quebec City. I got the brake job done at a little Taxi garage near my place. It cost $30 because it took one hour to replace both sides and that was their hourly rate.

1993 Plymouth Acclaim Base 2.4 liter


Car that's worth its weight in dirt


Head gasket blew twice.

Transmission had be rebuilt twice within a years span.

Hood release is bent.

Tail light fell off three times.

Engine has bad vibration when shifting gears.

Engine makes weird sound (like popcorn in the microwave) when accelerating.

No heat. (Boy is it chilly in the winter!)

General Comments:

This car started off fairly well, but has gone to crap. I would not reccommend this car to anyone unless they are giving it as a joke or to someone they despise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

19th Oct 2003, 00:45

Your review needs to be better. I find it difficult to understand you complaining about a car which you bought at 102,000 miles and expecting it to last forever. My 1994 Acclaim has 191,000 miles on it and I just put a new transmission in it. So that means my 94 is a joke. I bought this car at 23 miles and am original owner. With improper care any car can be a lemon. I even had a Toyota Tercel which did not last as long as this 94. The Tercel was literally falling apart at the seams at 110,000 miles.

1993 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5L


Few options, but cheap and dependable


Starter cable came loose. Trunk leaks periodically. Wheel wobble we can't diagnose.

General Comments:

For a 2.5 liter it has a lot of pick up and it doesn't matter if it's got 1 passenger or 4.

Weatherstrip may be worn or doors are out of align, but this car is louder than any I've owned in the last twenty years (highway noise)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

26th May 2003, 22:46

The Plymouth Acclaim is pretty noisy on the highway. You can thank Chrysler for not putting enough sound insulation in and thank the gearing of the tranny for causing the engine to rev too high at highway speeds, which helps make all that engine noise.

10th Oct 2004, 20:49

Very dependable car, 3.0L 6 cylinder has a lot of pep. Car has always had a lot of undercarriage noise in the front since the day we drove it home new.

1993 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5L. 4 cylinder


A unreliable money pit


Computer went bad at 94000.

Fuel pump went bad at 95000.

Relay switch went bad at 95000.

Brakes went bad at 95000.

Ball joints went bad at 100000.

Front struts went bad at 100000.

General Comments:

This car is extremely slow and handles worse than any car I have every driven before. Due to hefty vehicle weight the engine is constantly straining and gas mileage is far below par.

Reliability has been a real problem for this car. The car seems to not want to hold up after a 100000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

10th Jul 2002, 08:42

Wow, that is quite unreliable. But that is very unusual for a Plymouth Acclaim... of any year model. I owned one for 182,000 miles and it was the best and most reliable car I had ever owned. I never had to replace the ball joints, fuel pump or other things you had trouble with. You must have gotten a lemon. And far as your comment on fuel economy... what were you driving before? A Metro? The Acclaim is very good on gas for a compact car. I used to get 35mpg on the highway.