1993 Plymouth Acclaim Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 4

1993 Plymouth Acclaim Base 3.0 Liter

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carMercury Colony Park

Summary:

This car was well worth the purchase price and I wish I could still drive it

Faults:

Rear trailing arm is broken and supports on this trailing arm are of very poor design...cup-shaped and way up under the car so road salt, dirt and water accumulate and eat away at the supports.

Unibody construction, but frame near gas tank is getting weak. Tank must be removed so a body shop can "scab" a new piece over the rusted one.

Not the most sporty looking car, kind of boxy, in fact.

General Comments:

This has been a most dependable auto. We bought it new and have been very pleased with its performance.

The six cylinder engine gets great mileage and has a lot of pep left in it.

Air conditioning is inadequate for interior of this vehicle. Heat and defrost work very well.

Stainless exhaust has been virtually maintenance free and it's been 12 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

4th Jul 2006, 02:19

It's interesting to me that you have not had problems with your exhaust rusting out badly in 12yrs. The exhaust system on my Acclaim has gone through several mufflers due to rust and from what I understand it's common with the Acclaim. Is the difference maybe that my Acclaim has the 2.5L 4cyl. engine and therefore an different exhaust system?

1993 Plymouth Acclaim Base 2.5 I4

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 I4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carnone none

Summary:

Awesome for a '93

Faults:

The coil was working wrong $200.

Radiator broke down $300.

Rear brakes defective $50.

A/C broke (not repaired yet)

General Comments:

I've heard that the 2.5L four cylinders that I have is good for an all too low 100 hp, that's hard to believe, whenever I needed the power it never failed to give my a more than fair response.

It may not be a fancy car, and it may never have a fans club of it's own, but I find it to be a great piece of equipment, reliable and with a nice "americana" look that I love.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

11th Aug 2004, 23:41

If you think you get enough power from your 4banger, go test drive a v6 one, and you'll never want to go back.

12th Mar 2005, 18:22

I love my V6 '93 Acclaim. I think it deserves a fan club! I love it that it's not trendy or 'cool' looking - it's a car's car! ha ha Also - I can go over the speed limit and most cops never look twice.

1993 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired187000 kilometres
Most recent distance206000 kilometres

Summary:

Terrific for students on a tight budget

Faults:

Both ball joints.

The windshield wiper arm broke.

One rear bearing.

The gas tank was rusted through when I bought it.

Front brakes were completely replaced.

General Comments:

This is a great first car. It's cheap to buy and very cheap to repair. My front brake job only cost $40 for parts and no more than $30 for labor. Compare that to the hundreds of dollars it costs on some other cars.

This car is quite comfortable although the seats can get annoying on long trips. It handles superbly at high speeds; you always feel in control, no matter what the speedometer says. It's just a shame the car has so much trouble getting to those speeds.

Another great thing about this car is the room inside. You can easily fit 3 people, two cats and piles of Christmas presents without even trying too hard.

In general it's a terrific car that doesn't cost too much to run and it gets you from point A to point B without too much trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

16th Sep 2004, 22:24

What area do you live in where you got labor done for 30$?

If it's in cincinnati, let me know... innatebeauti@yahoo.com.

15th Feb 2005, 09:30

I live in Quebec City. I got the brake job done at a little Taxi garage near my place. It cost $30 because it took one hour to replace both sides and that was their hourly rate.

1993 Plymouth Acclaim Base 2.4 liter

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

Car that's worth its weight in dirt

Faults:

Head gasket blew twice.

Transmission had be rebuilt twice within a years span.

Hood release is bent.

Tail light fell off three times.

Engine has bad vibration when shifting gears.

Engine makes weird sound (like popcorn in the microwave) when accelerating.

No heat. (Boy is it chilly in the winter!)

General Comments:

This car started off fairly well, but has gone to crap. I would not reccommend this car to anyone unless they are giving it as a joke or to someone they despise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

19th Oct 2003, 00:45

Your review needs to be better. I find it difficult to understand you complaining about a car which you bought at 102,000 miles and expecting it to last forever. My 1994 Acclaim has 191,000 miles on it and I just put a new transmission in it. So that means my 94 is a joke. I bought this car at 23 miles and am original owner. With improper care any car can be a lemon. I even had a Toyota Tercel which did not last as long as this 94. The Tercel was literally falling apart at the seams at 110,000 miles.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews