1993 Plymouth Acclaim 4 cylinder 2.5L Non turbo


Cheap car, good mileage, short life


Head gasket had to be replaced due to leaking oil, dealership repaired under warranty.

Clutch changed at the same time.

Alternator started failing at 95k miles.

Distributor failed at 98k miles.

Head gasket started leaking oil again around 70k miles and has gotten worse slowly.

Rear brakes needed new drums around 80k miles.

Transmission seemed to have been running OK with a clacking noise when letting off the gas.

Car burned 1/4 - 1/2qt oil between changes.

General Comments:

Good car most of the time, low cost for the most part, gets close to 400 miles per tank after an oil change... dropping to about 350 miles per tank when nearing an oil change..

Parts started failing near the 100k mark which is probably normal for any car, but started to become a money pit.

Car was wrecked before hitting 100k miles - which was probably a good thing, rear brakes were making bad noises, exhaust system was rusted out and some fumes were getting into the car, engine was leaking oil which was common for this model of car, originally had a flimsy engine cover on it which was replaced, but started leaking oil again, wouldn't doubt it if the engine would have failed soon.

Car had some giddy up to it even though it was a non turbo version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2005

7th Jan 2005, 19:32

It's too bad the car was wrecked as these are great little cars that are cheap to keep on the road I have 300k and still going strong.

10th Mar 2005, 19:51

My 1993 Plymouth Acclaim need a new or rebuilt Transmission after 104,772 miles. It burns oil and oil needs to be checked. Otherwise it is a good running car.

1993 Plymouth Acclaim Base 3.0 Liter


This car was well worth the purchase price and I wish I could still drive it


Rear trailing arm is broken and supports on this trailing arm are of very poor design...cup-shaped and way up under the car so road salt, dirt and water accumulate and eat away at the supports.

Unibody construction, but frame near gas tank is getting weak. Tank must be removed so a body shop can "scab" a new piece over the rusted one.

Not the most sporty looking car, kind of boxy, in fact.

General Comments:

This has been a most dependable auto. We bought it new and have been very pleased with its performance.

The six cylinder engine gets great mileage and has a lot of pep left in it.

Air conditioning is inadequate for interior of this vehicle. Heat and defrost work very well.

Stainless exhaust has been virtually maintenance free and it's been 12 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

4th Jul 2006, 02:19

It's interesting to me that you have not had problems with your exhaust rusting out badly in 12yrs. The exhaust system on my Acclaim has gone through several mufflers due to rust and from what I understand it's common with the Acclaim. Is the difference maybe that my Acclaim has the 2.5L 4cyl. engine and therefore an different exhaust system?

1993 Plymouth Acclaim Base 2.5 I4


Awesome for a '93


The coil was working wrong $200.

Radiator broke down $300.

Rear brakes defective $50.

A/C broke (not repaired yet)

General Comments:

I've heard that the 2.5L four cylinders that I have is good for an all too low 100 hp, that's hard to believe, whenever I needed the power it never failed to give my a more than fair response.

It may not be a fancy car, and it may never have a fans club of it's own, but I find it to be a great piece of equipment, reliable and with a nice "americana" look that I love.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

11th Aug 2004, 23:41

If you think you get enough power from your 4banger, go test drive a v6 one, and you'll never want to go back.

12th Mar 2005, 18:22

I love my V6 '93 Acclaim. I think it deserves a fan club! I love it that it's not trendy or 'cool' looking - it's a car's car! ha ha Also - I can go over the speed limit and most cops never look twice.