2002 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews from North America

2002 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance325000 miles

Faults:

Fuel pump failed at 100,000km.

Then again at 300,000 km.

Just tires & front disc rotors every few years.

Great car, good mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2012

2002 Pontiac Sunfire

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance188000 kilometres
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Good, cheap starter car

Faults:

Broke down at roadside twice in first year of my owning it.

Heater stopped working.

Ball joints replaced.

Starting to rust.

Noisy drive.

General Comments:

We paid $5000 for this car at 6 years old, and had to put several hundred dollars into it the first year.

However, overall we have spent very little on maintenance and repair, gas is cheap, and parts are easy to find and are also inexpensive.

This car is a basic automobile, gets us around. Looks plain, drives plain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2011

6th Aug 2012, 15:25

I have had this car since new. It now has 240,000 miles on it. Besides brakes and oil changes, I have put about $1000 into this car. It still has the original clutch. It does not burn a drop of oil. Take care of this car, and it will last a long time.

2002 Pontiac Sunfire LX

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Temp gauge went out at 150000.

General Comments:

I would buy another Pontiac, because my Sunfire went through Hurricane Katrina, and is still running. I still have water in my car; like when I had to replace my license plate lights, a bunch of water came out, but overall a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2010

2002 Pontiac Sunfire

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  

Summary:

I wish I had never got this car

Faults:

Needed new engine at 35000 miles.

Now need new fuel pump.

General Comments:

This car sucks. I would never buy another Sunfire or anything from this automaker.

Feels like it will fall apart when you hit a bump; rattles and shakes.

Has a new engine, only year old now, needs a fuel pump.

Don't buy this car at all! The only good thing about car is stereo and sunroof; wow, that's it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2010

2002 Pontiac Sunfire

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Overall it is a decent car for the money, as long as you don't pay too much

Faults:

First thing I did not like was the way the tail pipe put too much pressure on flex pipe in front of cat. Causes it to crack.

Second thing was door panels only hold by plastic pins that over time fail. Then panel just hangs there. Yes I know, put new pins in. Till they fail too.

Third, this car does not like non OEM brakes, drums, rotors.

General Comments:

As far as snow driving, like everyone else says, proper tires is everything on any car or truck. Also the driver. You can be a good driver in normal conditions, but if you don't know how to react in snow, it does not matter what you drive. I've taken my wife's Sunfire & my Honda and passed a plow truck going too darn slow. But it was on straight away, in normal fluffy snow, not slush or ice.

As for traction control, I agree with the one posting of it being a pain for ex. drivers. I also turn mine off. It is for less ex. drivers. It cuts power in half till it gets traction.

My opinion is this car does fine in snow for a front wheel drive car. NOT better than my 4x4 full size Bronco with good tires that goes EVERYWHERE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2010

2002 Pontiac Sunfire

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10

Summary:

Good car when mileage is low, but not over 100,000

Faults:

I have had this car in the shop every other month for repairs. My car is overheating on the highway or when the weather is hot, and repair shops aren't fixing it!!! It's costing me too much money to keep this car in good condition, and not enough people know how to fix them.

Otherwise I've really loved the comfort and ride of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2009

2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE Coupe 2.2L

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

A good car for the price and for a young person

Faults:

One of the muffler straps broke at 110,000 miles.

I have an small Anti-Freeze leak, which is leaking into the vent of the Ac/Heat.

General Comments:

I am sorry that everyone has had bad experiences with Pontiac Sunfires, but I have owned two and not had any major problems! I had a 1999 model, that I traded in at 68,000 miles for a 2002 model.

The problems I am having right now are because my car has 110,000 miles on it, not because it's a GM/Pontiac. Plus my car is not garaged, which does make a difference, too.

One of the muffler straps broke at 110,000 miles, and I have an small Anti-Freeze leak, which is leaking into the one vent of the AC/Heat.

I believe that once a car is over 50,000 miles beware... anything can go wrong. That's why most car companies only offer 3 years/50,000 miles as the standard warranty.

I don't believe in buying a used car w/o a warranty, or keeping a car after the warranty, if you can help it... cars don't last forever, like in the good old days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2007

23rd Feb 2012, 16:19

I am 60 years old, and have been driving since I was 15. I'm here to tell ya that cars did not last forever in the good old days. Time was that cars seldom ran for over 100,000 miles, without a major rebuild. Why do you think the odometers only needed 5 digits, and rolling one over past 99,999 was a cause for celebration. You got maybe 15-17 MPG out of a six cylinder, and maybe 100 HP. Sure, it's a lot more costly to repair a car now, but when you add all the bells and whistles on that we all seem to need now, there's a lot more to go wrong. I can also remember buying gas for 29.9, and a new full size Ford for $3,000.

24th Feb 2012, 08:00

It is funny how people perceive that old cars last forever, because they see mint examples at shows and such. They don't seem to realize the work that goes into restoring and keeping an old car in good condition.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 30 reviews