2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L

Summary:

Great deal for low price

Faults:

The lights that show which gear the vehicle is currently in burnt out.

General Comments:

The car is a bit tipsy for handling corners fast.

Lots of kick for such a small engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2005

2002 Pontiac Sunfire unleaded

Summary:

Great for price

Faults:

The seat belt gets stuck in between the door and the seat.

Some problems with the anitlock breaks having a mind of their own.

The air conditioning is a bit on the wimpy side. There is no happy medium with it, the air either blows to hard or not enough.

General Comments:

The Sunfire gets great gas mileage, and is a good car for the price of it.

I would despite the few glitches buy another Pontiac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE coupe

Faults:

Nothing, just standard wear and tear. Still looks brand new.

General Comments:

Excellent in the snow and rain. No damage or injuries when I was rear ended, but the other car was crunched in the front end. The car handles great on the roads. Could be little more sound proof inside, but I do have a sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2005

2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2

Summary:

The car leans away from turns putting excess curb weight on the wheel.

Faults:

Water Pump.

General Comments:

I love the car. My favorite part is the sporty front end design and the rear spoiler. I love the red illumination lights on the dashboard, a Pontiac staple. My question to other Sunfire owners is about the suspension. Does it dip low when cornering like it needs new struts. The dealership said that is normal for this car because it doesn't have a suspension bar underneath.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

8th Mar 2005, 13:43

You bet, I have one and I cannot take corners like I do on my Motorcycle. If you want a car that can handle corners you'll need $10 000 more on your next purchase!

17th Oct 2005, 23:11

I'm glad someone else is having the same problems with the Sunfire. I have a 2002 GT model, and I love it for the most part, but the cornering is a disappointment. Not to mention every time I hit a piece of gum on the road, it feels like I'm driving through the Grand Canyon. It's a very rough ride.

On the upside, it has great take-off, a feisty little motor, and of course, it looks good!

21st Jan 2006, 23:59

To the dipping, leaving excess curb weight problem... it does not do that on my Sunfire. It might just be a problem with the suspension underneath, you could get that checked out

5th Feb 2009, 22:56

Slow pick up? The car kicks and sounds great, c'mon people your dealing with a low class car, it's not some TL, or Evo, and about the cornering... your suspension needs some help LOL.

2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L

Summary:

Good car for a new driver

Faults:

On delivery of drivers door was not set correctly allowing wind and snow in the car.

Front spindles were making noises, and had to be replaced at approx. 3500 miles.

At 9000 the windshield started pulling off the car around the bottom left. Only noticed when snow was blowing into my face.

At 14000 the Air conditioning started blowing warm air.

At 16000 the drivers seat broke, and springs started poking out the back.

General Comments:

Surprisingly this car has been a good car. No major problem the dealer could not fix in a days time.

Driver area could be a little bigger, compared to my wifes Cavalier, it has lesser room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

14th Sep 2005, 14:44

What you're saying happens in almost every car ever built...

Foreign cars are not exempt from these things either... There is room in the car. I'm 40 with a family of 4 and we've drove cross country in my sunfire and it was very comfortable... So I can't get into what you're saying!

2002 Pontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Poor quality and not worth the money paid for it

Faults:

The Sunfire has been in the shop from the first month I owned it to date for the same problem over and over.

The first was a fire in the dashboard; the installation of the radio by the dealer had not been grounded since they pulled the dash out, hot air blows constantly even with the air conditioner on. The dealer says nothing is wrong.

The growling noise when you hit the brakes quickly has gotten worse and know the steering locks when it happens; yesterday the dealer said they found nothing wrong. They didn't drive the vehicle more than a mile- mileage into the shop was 35816 and out of the shop 35817.

General Comments:

The Pontiac has problems with the ABS or brakes and warranty or not the dealer just doesn't investigate it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

16th Nov 2004, 22:33

It appears that you bought your car used. The condition of a used car is subject to how well the previous owner took care of it. Any make or any model of any car can be run into the ground by the previous owner. My Sunfire now has 125,750 and I bought it used at about 87,000. I have yet to take it to the shop. It was a lease turn in with a complete maintenance history available. The previous owner took good care of the car and today, my '02 still runs like new.

5th Feb 2009, 22:51

I've had my 2002 Sunfire now for 3 months, ran about 2000kms on it, and the only problems I've had and will have in the future was the drums and pads were worn out, suspension in the back is finished, and the full pump and alternator has been changed. The reason why is because the previous owner did not take care of the car at all..

Ohh yeah, the body has 299846 km on it, engine about 70,000 - 75,000kms on it.

Right now because my alternator is going (car died on me 4 times coming home, but still started when I turned it off and on) I gotta change but it still got me home. Other than the alternator (1st time going), before the car ran beautiful, and also the car is the best with new drivers because you can learn so much from an American car, than an Asian one.