2002 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2L Ecotec

Summary:

Underrated and well worth your money!

Faults:

None! Only routine maintainance.

General Comments:

It will never win any looks competitions, but is very reliable and comfortable.

The standard features on this car are a tremendous value (cruise, power sunroof, CD player with 6 speakers, fog lamps).

This car is very gas efficient, especially if driven responsibly. I get 400 miles out of a 12 gallon tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2007

25th Feb 2007, 20:08

Well, welcome to the Wonderful World of Pontiac. Regardless of opinions to the contrary, the Pontiac Sunfire is a great car. My best friend bought one after having 2 Corollas, neither of which made it past 100,000 miles. I currently drive a 2001 Grand Am with 60,000 miles that has never had a single repair of any kind and looks and drives like brand new. In addition, my family also has a 1955 Pontiac that has been in the family for THREE GENERATIONS, and has outlived 2 of its previous owners!! It STILL runs great!!

14th Mar 2007, 11:28

Mine is about to cross 100,000k.

The car is fuel efficient, but 400 miles on a 12 gallon tank (33.33 mpg) is a little exaggerated, unless you're go 55 mph on flat ground. Usually, I can get about 32 mpg of highway driving, but during the winter, that can drop to 25 mpg.

A few light bulbs have burned out. The 1st speed of the fan has broken twice. The front axle has begun to squeak and rattle and the engine has been whining in extreme cold weather, but that could also be the driver. The OE tires lasted 80k miles.

2002 Pontiac Sunfire SE 4 DR 2.2

Summary:

Bad quality with worse reliability

Faults:

This car is very poorly built. The air conditioning compressor went out at 48k.The transmission needed to be replaced at 50k.The seat backing springs have been replaced for breaking 5 times and the lever for the seat recline broke off. It squeaks due to lower control arm bushings that started to go bad at 36k.The rear door panel won't stay on even with new pins. The steering wheel material separated from the steel ring which is dangerous. This car is just very poor quality which is disappointing. I bought it for my wife and had planned on keeping it forever, but I just don't feel it's reliable for her. I work on my own cars and do all the maintenance on this car, it just doesn't have the build quality.

General Comments:

I would not recommend this car to anyone. It may seem inexpensive to purchase, but GM will make their money on it for years to come due to repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

2002 Pontiac Sunfire 72,000 2.2

Summary:

It is a good car, but the electical system needs a major recall

Faults:

I have had to replace the heater fan at 25,000.

I now have now day time running lights and no bright lights at 42,000 is when they stopped working and it will cost $365.00 to fix them.

General Comments:

GM maked a good car, but it's electrical system needs a major recall.

I would like all other Sunfire owners to report their problem to GM by calling 1-800-762-2737.

The more GM knows about this problem we can all get this fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2006

28th Nov 2006, 00:35

Why bother! sell it & move on. There are millions of good to excellent used cars, for probably a lot less than you paid for that. GM, do they really care???

I say I don't think so, they made it, I think to break!!!

29th Oct 2008, 15:30

My windows on my 2002 sunfire have had several problems in the past. I have had the motors changed out several times, and gm said that they would not fix it any more since my vehicle is out of the warranty. yet they will not recall this device.

12th Feb 2011, 03:06

GM and every other vehicle manufacturing company never will recall any vehicle part that doesn't present a safety hazard. Vehicle manufacturing company's only recall parts that present a safety hazard! Or affect more than half of the certain model/year overall production total!