Rolls Royce Silver Shadow Reviews from North America

1976 Rolls Royce Silver Shadow

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Nice to look at, but having trouble with it now

Faults:

Electrical problems and fuel leaks.

General Comments:

Suddenly we noticed gas leaking from the bottom of the car in one area, which has now spread all along the bottom from back wheel area to front wheel area. I hear there is a recall from the wiki website. Can anyone confirm this? We would like to know how much it would cost to replace the fuel line?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2010

17th Jan 2010, 07:26

I have an 1989 Silver Spur and had a similar problem. There is a return fuel line from the engine to the fuel tank. It is located along the left or driver's side. Mine had rusted and was leaking. The defective section was cut out and replaced by my local garage. Cost $40. Hope that this helps.

rayhutch@lks.net

18th Jan 2010, 22:22

I am sure this is one of the vehicles that you had better do your homework on, even if bought cheap. Or park it and enjoy looking at it.

1967 Rolls Royce Silver Shadow

Model year1967
Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

A lot of fun, but not a daily driver

Faults:

The brakes went out and had to be replaced (using Jaguar brakes).

The blue leather seats are fading from the sun.

The car had sat for years, so the tires needed replacement, and a small rodent had made its home in the engine compartment.

General Comments:

This is my father's car, but I've driven it enough to write about it. He bought it for $10,000 USD in 2003, and the car is in really nice shape. It didn't run when he bought it, but he got it running. It is going to need a ring job in the future, but it doesn't get driven enough to warrant one right now.

I love the way people stop what they are doing and stare when I drive down the road. This car commands respect from everyone who sees it. I've taken it to car shows, and people with American muscle cars get annoyed because I park a hand-made luxury car next to their Camaro. Oh well.

I don't like the lack of seat belts. There is an aftermarket lap belt in the front seat, but that is it. If I inherit the car, I will have seat belts installed. I don't care what that does to the value; I'm not driving with my family in a car without seat belts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2008

22nd Mar 2008, 08:04

Ring job on a 76k RR?

No: you do not need a ring job. Please do not even touch the engine internals. Leave them alone, please.

Put Marvel Mystery Oil in it and use 10-40 regular grade oil and drive it a few thousand miles miles at hiway speeds.

Everything will clear up.

Don't worry. Everything will be fine. Please please please do not have anyone touch the engine (in any way shape or form) except to replace the water pump and alternator when the time comes.

Have fun!

1972 Rolls Royce Silver Shadow Long Wheelbase 6.75 litre V8

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6.75 litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

The ultimate status symbol

Faults:

It was literally owned by a little old lady who could no longer drive it, and it sat for a couple years before I came across it. The engine ran a little rough at first, and the power steering pump leaked, but there have been no problems since.

I'm used to a Beetle diesel as my daily driver, so 13mpg on premium really hurts!

General Comments:

I bought this as a fun summer car, and it's turned into a really fun daily driver! I really dread putting it away for the winter.

Even though it is 31 years old, and has some wear around the edges, the engine is very powerful and the ride is very smooth.

But 31 years later, luxury is at a completely new level. A Honda has almost all the "luxury" features that this car does at almost the same price.

I've done all the maintenance myself, and prices on parts have been surprisingly reasonable. I would turn it over to a professional for anything more than a basic tune-up. The brakes a especially tricky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2003

19th Nov 2005, 14:20

Equipment is not luxury, luxury is not a quantitative matter, and I think Rolls Royces remain unsurpassed on this point even nowadays.

2nd Mar 2006, 08:29

I have a Rolls Royce. It is a 1972 Silver Shadow and has only 48K miles. It is indeed a luxury car and I am very lucky to have it. But I do need the garage space it occupies. Thanks, Rusty York, Greensburg, Indiana.

28th Apr 2006, 18:03

Y would like to know what the quantity of r12 for my silver shadow┬┤s a.c.?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 5 reviews