1986 Rolls Royce Silver Spirit 6.75 liter V8

Summary:

Not to be used as your only vehicle!

Faults:

All four tires went "out of round." The car had not been driven more than a few miles every 2-3 months for the previous 2 years.

One of the AC/radiator fan belts failed--luckily there are actually two identical belts, so this did not stop the car, but it made some awful noises!!!

Relays that control position of transmission (park, reverse, etc) intermittently need to be reset, and sometimes even then the car will not change gears when the lever is moved. Still looking for the problem.

General Comments:

Drives better than expected--not as numb and "floaty" as I expected.

Engine is powerful and moves the car with authority and a deep bass rumble, but at the expense of dismal fuel economy (13 mpg highway).

Decadent interior: leather, wood, chrome, and wool everywhere. Power everything (except, strangely, for seat back angle!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

4th Apr 2003, 07:21

Not to be used as your only vehicle? Why not? It's the ideal family car for us.

4th Apr 2003, 07:23

You front seats have power tilt, as have all Rolls-Royce motor cars since 1965.

13th Nov 2003, 20:35

These cars can most definitely be used as a daily vehicle --indeed that is what they were designed for. Unfortunately, a lot of people buy these cars for the wrong reasons and keep them in the garage, ready to brag about low miles. Let's not forget these cars are the most complex vehicles on the planet -- a RR has 80,000 parts. An S-Class Benz about 12,000. With the complex hydraulic systems etc, a Rolls should be looked at in the same way one would look at owning a light aircraft. If they are driven, and maintained as the Owners Handbooks clearly states, these sturdy cars are capable of a lifetime of service. My 1982 Silver Spirit has been in daily use, with proper maintenance since new. And is now as good as new at just a bit over 200,000 miles. It is also important that people regularly treat the leather with nothing, but Hide Food. Reupholstering one of these cars correctly will cost $20,000 - $25,000. And of course, use ONLY HSMO Hydraulic Mineral Oil and POSITIVELY NO OTHER to top up the twin reservoirs.

1989 Rolls Royce Silver Spirit

Summary:

An expensive car to own, but great to be seen in.

Faults:

Rear struts both failed.

Air conditioning compressor failed.

Front passenger and left rear passenger power window motors failed.

Hydraulic levelling pump failed.

Have noticed cracking in paint at roof line and next to grille.

General Comments:

Car was 10 years old with only 15000 miles, so many systems needed attention. These cars prefer to be driven, not parked.

This is a daily commuter vehicle for me and is now very reliable albeit an anachronism.

Although this model is fuel injected the actual performance is quite staid. I managed to get the fuel consumption up to 14 miles per gallon (US gallon) by not having the automatic climate control left on which always runs the air conditioning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2002

30th Apr 2003, 23:38

I had the privilege of driving a right hand drive Silver Shadow once. The first thing I noticed, was that the car still seemed tight after over 20 years and 100k miles. Also, when the brakes were applied fairly hard, the front didn't do the 'nosedive' that is so typical of American luxury cars. I've tried to duplicate the ride and I've come very close with my '89 Mercury Grand Marquis by adding stiffer shocks and wider, lower profile tires.

1982 Rolls Royce Silver Spirit V8

Summary:

Lovely

Faults:

I have replaced the rear leveling system valves, brakes, belts, and the hoses.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful car and I would not own any other make. It is a joy to drive and reeks of wealth.

The gas mileage is poor, but I have learned to live with it.

The interior is starting to wear, but that is because I use it as my office as well as my daily driver.

I have found it very hard to find a decent and honest mechanic so I work on it myself. Most mechanics here in South Florida are only interested in overcharging you and ripping you off!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

4th Feb 2003, 22:30

This attitude that Rolls-Royces are meant to be parked rather than driven and admired rather than used is why so many are in sad shape, with rotten hoses and cracked leather! I think it's great the car sees daily use - mine does and is all the better for it.

28th Sep 2005, 11:23

As with any car, mechanical health is very important. A car does need to be driven in order for the parts to be lubricated, etc.. But for a Rolls Royce to be Overdriven is sick. I have 49,000 on my 81 Spirit, and 278,000 on my S-class diesel. I know which one to "Overkill" with driving.

23rd Jun 2007, 13:27

If you can't afford one, don't buy it, its for special people... with tons of cash.