2002 SAAB 9-3 Reviews from North America

2002 SAAB 9-3 SE 2.0 turbo

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 kilometres
Most recent distance215000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 900

Faults:

Almost everything.

Here is a list of all I had to replace, despite good maintenance and care:

Antennae motor (2006).

Rear muffler (2008).

Middle muffler (2009).

Intermediate pipe (2007).

A/C compressor (2007 and 2012).

A/C hose (2010).

Rear passenger window motor (2010).

Driver window hardware (2011).

Driver electric door lock (2012).

DIC cassette (2010).

Turbo sensor valve (2007 and 2009).

Front control arms, twice each side (from 2006 to 2011).

SID and CCU displays (have been dead for years, finally fixed in 2012).

Fuel gauge (2006).

Complete front suspension (2010).

Battery (2007 and 2011).

Power steering pressure hose (2008).

Complete engine (2010).

Lately, an ABS sensor died, getting almost every existing light on the dashboard to flash. Not replaced yet.

Transmission is giving signs of dying soon.

The car will not start randomly. Starter has to be replaced.

General Comments:

That's it! I am very stubborn, but the car finally had a total victory over me. After years of frustration, countless days off work to have the car serviced, numerous stalls on the roadside because of a recurrent faulty gas gauge, and thousands of dollars spent to keep a lemon running until the next major fault, I give up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2012

14th Aug 2012, 13:28

Describes my experience exactly. I have the Viggen, but it isn't any more reliable than the normal model from what I have read.

I've spent tons of money over the past two years, hoping that "this is the last thing that can go wrong." Wrong! Every single time I go to the stealership to get something fixed for an astronomical price, I can't even go a month before something else is calling for more and more money. I'm fed up.

The resale value is terrible due to all the negative buzz about Saab. I have around $11000 into the car, and it's only worth about $4-5k now. Horrible situation, but I need to get out.

I would never recommend anyone buy a Saab, unless you are okay with throwing your money and time away on a car that is worth nothing.

Bottom line: Looks great, fun to drive, but not nearly worth the stress.

2002 SAAB 9-3 Convertible SE turbo

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission turbo Don't Know
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Horrible

Faults:

Within first month of purchase; throttle body sensor went out $750.

Sid display not working properly.

Currently:

Water pump is broken, leaking transmission fluid out.

Electronic locks on doors, go on and off periodically.

Keys don't lock doors any longer.

Heater goes on and off periodically, will not stay on for long period.

Brake lights come on when you turn corners for no reason.

1 Hydraulic line blew to convertible, so it wouldn't work, spent about $250 for the part, which had to be made. Two weeks later, another one has blown, there are still 4 more to go.

Two weeks ago, transmission blew, no help from GM or Saab USA. Found someone to put in a used one for $2500, have been without car for over 2 weeks.

General Comments:

Worse car I have ever owned, I have been drained financially on this car. Once I get it back, I can't drive it quick enough to trade in for anything other than a SAAB. I never knew a car could cost you everything in the 2 years. I can't even come up with all the thousands more to fix it all. I am so disappointed.

What does it take for car makers to stand behind their product? I have read hundreds of owners complaining about the same things.

This car has really taken years off my life due to the extreme stress of not having a car, or figuring out how to come up with thousands each time.

The only positive thing I can say is the heated seats stayed working!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2009

15th Oct 2009, 09:27

Wow! I am sorry to hear about the problems with your Saab.

I own a 2003 9-3 convertible and it has been extremely reliable. I've owned it for over 3 years, but I am beginning to worry a little bit about when the warranty runs out in another year and a half though, after reading your review.

Thus far it has been the best car I've ever owned, and I certainly hope that it stays that way.

3rd Nov 2009, 08:43

I bought a SAAB 9-3SE 2002 Convertible with 72000Km 2 months ago. Motor oil started to leak a month after the purchase, I changed the oil radiator (400$). Car won't start properly when it is below 0degres. Heated seats fails. Weird noise when riding over 120Km. Loud brake squeak sounds. But I forgive all about that when my roof is down, it is a fast and fun car to drive. The look is awesome.

3rd Nov 2009, 17:44

Lemon lemon lemon, and Saab doesn't seem to care.

I leased convertible with 10k Electrical system had problems from day 1. Had the car towed 4 times - once it just stopped while driving down the road at 45mph. Remained at the dealership for almost a year because they claimed that since they could not replicate the problem (Ha Ha Ha) there was NO problem. How arrogant can one be? Yet, Saab financial was on my case every month to pay the lease fee. What a terrible company. I should have figured it out when every time I was at the dealership repair dept, there was a line of angry Saab convertible owners relaying horror stories. I will NEVER buy another Saab.

5th Jan 2010, 12:43

I can honestly say that I have NEVER seen ANY angry Saab customers at the dealership whenever I bring my Saab in for service. In fact, after owning my Saab for over 3 years, my wife traded in her Lexus for a Saab, and couldn't be happier with it.

We love our Saabs!

Average review marks: 4.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews