2002 SAAB 9-3 Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 3

2002 SAAB 9-3 4 DR SE 2.0 turbo

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

Like the company says, "A state of Independence"

Faults:

My Brakes went bad around 30,000 miles because I'm just hard on my brakes. Replaced them with ceramic brakes and they are better than ever. There is no brake dust and they are suppose to last longer than the average brakes.

Connection to Starter motor came loose and caused car to suddenly not start one day, minor tighten of screw however at the dealership for $40.

General Comments:

The car is really reliable and I love it! It's a great looking car inside and out and if you're a SAAB enthusiast or not, it'll catch your attention as being different. All SAAB owners love there car for just being safe and different from the other cars on the block. I've had little problems with my car and they were minor or wear and tear problems. If your in the market for a new or used car, definitely stop by your local Saab Dealer, you won't be let down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2006

18th Sep 2006, 22:02

You told it like it is. The Saab 9-3 is a fantastic car!

2002 SAAB 9-3 SE hatchback

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles

Summary:

What a pile of GM junk

Faults:

This has been the worst car we have ever owned. I would NOT recommend anyone to buy a Saab unless they want to spend all their free time at the Saab dealership. This is our second and last Saab we have nothing, but problems with it.

2002 Saab 9-3 SE. Car has always been maintained 100% at the Saab dealership.

1. 40,000 Turbo charger stablizer valve needed changing.

2. 43,000 Turbo charger stablizer valve needed changing again.

3. Fuel sensor needed changing shortly afterwards.

3. 48,000 automatic Transmission needed changing.

4. The engine light is back on again and car left us stranded.

5. Starting problems spark plugs and leads needed changing two times within 150 miles.

It has been back to the dealership 5 times in 4 weeks.

General Comments:

This car has been very unreliable I wouldn't recommend it at all. It's obvious to me that GM hasn't invested anything into the brand to make it reliable. All types of electric problems. This car can only do a maximum of 50 miles before something goes wrong with it. Get a Japanese car instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2006

21st Jun 2006, 16:19

We bought a second hand Saab 9-3 with 48,000 miles on the clock an SE hatchback which has had similar problems. It had a full Saab service history and was one to two months out of warranty. The turbo stabilizer value needed changing and so did the transmission mounts on the gear box. The fuel sensor also needed changing as a result so did the spark plugs.

Although the reliability hasn't been perfect (hopefully it is now) I was very impressed with SAAB USA picking the bill up even though the car was out of warranty, I doubt any other car company would have done the same.

6th Aug 2011, 11:19

Oh please. Saab will no cover these bills.

2002 SAAB 9-3 SE 2.2

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Faults:

The engine makes a noise after sitting for 6 or more hours. The noise sounds similar to a power steering screech, but isn't. It only lasts 45-60 seconds. I've had three mechanic look at it, and none of them know with certainty, but speculate timing chain-related. None of them recommend doing anything with it right now in that it is expensive to replace the timing chain, and there's no guarantee that will eliminate the noise. There aren't any other problems as the power, compression, and temperature are all normal. My guess is that it's taking too long for the oil pump to get oil to the timing chain, but the mechanics say the oil pump seems fine.

The right rear tire or wheel just started making a noise too. Sounds like a blemmished/warped tire or one going flat, which isn't the case. I'll have it checked out next week. Could be a bearing going bad. Seems kind of early with only 67k miles though.

Other than these two things, the car is absolutely fantastic. I bought it off e-bay for only $12,700, and would do it again in a heart beat.

It's much quicker than the 900 Turbo I ahd several years ago. [Got rid of it with 227k miles on it, only because it lost fifth gear and would have cost too much to fix.] This 2002 9.3 is quicker, and as steady, quiet, and powerful at high speeds as my 1987 900 Turbo. Gets less MPG though, only 25-28. My 1987 900 got 33-35 MPG.

Saab blew it with the cup holder though, location, functionality, and design-wise.

If you have any advice regarding the engine noise, pleae e-mail me at crowman266@yahoo.com.

Sharp, sporty, rich looking, fast, and takes curves very well. Turns heads too! Gets lots of positive comments.

I highly recommned this car to anyone who drives fast and is image conscious, as it's quick, sporty, and classy looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2004

14th Sep 2004, 09:55

Its not the timing its the damper pulley.

4th Oct 2006, 01:55

Look out! My 9-3 engine started making the same short term noises. I took it to the dealer to have it checked out and he said there was no noise. Shortly afterwards the engine blew up. A new engine was quoted at almost $8,000. There is an engine sludge problem which is posted on the Internet. When you drive the car some distance, the oil warms up and begins lubricating the parts and the noise goes away, but not before the damage is done. Saab apparently does not back their extended warranty.

If you still have your Saab 9-3 and the engine is running this far after your initial post, I would be surprised.

Average review marks: 4.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews