Suzuki Vitara Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 4

2001 Suzuki Vitara soft top 2.1

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Fun, reliable and economical to run

Faults:

So far nothing

Brake pads wear out quicker, but that is probably because I go 4x4 quite a lot.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I have ever had

Great fuel economy, fun to drive and the 4x4 is excellent when driving in winter and wheb the roads are slick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2006

9th Sep 2006, 15:48

Yea the Suzuki Vitara is a good vehicle I love mine, but let me warn you they don't hold up well in an accident. I think I'm lucky to even be alive.

10th May 2007, 09:38

I've gotten over 225,000 miles out of mine, I've only had to replace tires once, battery once and idler pulley (and supretyme belt) once. It's an automatic 2 wheel drive and I've never had a better auto.

Bob Palmer

1999 Suzuki Vitara JX 1.8

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles

Summary:

Invest the money on an SUV that provides reliability

Faults:

The transmission went at 50,000 miles.

The dealership wanted to charge me an outrageous sum and of course it was not covered under the warranty.

Also have had problems with the A/C and the fan belts (had to have those replaced 3 times in the first year.)

General Comments:

I would never buy a Suzuki car again. The Suzuki service people seemed very annoyed at having to work on my car. I suppose I don't blame them. You get what you pay for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2005

2001 Suzuki Vitara JLX 2.0

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance26500 miles

Summary:

It was an decent vehicle.

Faults:

Well the power window on the driver side was the first thing to go. It would go down at a slant. To get the window back up you had to lift the window back in place.

Other problem was the paint. We have a lot of salt here on the roads in the winter, that may have been a factor. Anyways lots of little rusty dots showed up. Nothing terribly noticable unless you looked closely. Makes you wonder what the car will look like in a couple years tho.

Wind noise was a factor on the highway.

General Comments:

Good gas mileage. Handled really well in the snow. Gotta love shift on the fly 4 wheel drive. Excellent turning and low roll factor. Good little SUV for city driving. Doesn't make sense to have a big-ass Excursion to drive to work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

7th Mar 2005, 14:42

Doesn't make sense having a big-ass Excursion at all! The little Suzuki 4x4's a great, economical, and reliable little trucks. They're affordable to purchase, to fuel, and to maintain! It's somewhat costly to take care of the rust once it appears, but it's not too hard to prevent, or to maintain if you get it repainted. A Suzuki can last as long as you want it to!

7th Aug 2006, 08:53

I couldn't agree more. Why buy a $30000 big-ass SUV that gets 12 MPG and will have tons of problems in the future. These Vitaras are bullet proof. No, they are not Bentleys or Mercedes, but how expensive is it to fix a lock, a window or little stuff like that. Specially on a vehicle that had a low initial cost. So suck it up, don't complain and get your car fixed. Large American SUV's are only large, shiny pieces of junk that are only driven by people with personality issues.

1999 Suzuki Vitara 2 door soft top, 4x4, stick 2.0L

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good fun, economical and practical. Utilitarian

Faults:

The soft top has some ripped stitches around the rear window.

Hard to get into 3rd gear from 4th, and reverse sometimes.

Mother in law broke passenger interior door panel off.

Various plastic bits falling off.

Sometimes stalls when waiting at lights when cold.

General Comments:

Fun, economical little vehicle.

Very practical.

Rear seats fold down so holds a lot of stuff.

I've even carried a 20' ladder utilizing the sunroof.

Very good off road (4x4, Hi & Low) - gets into some tight spots.

Seems to get 25 mpg all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

7th Mar 2005, 14:39

Good mileage, and good off-road are traits of the Suzuki 4x4's! However they do have some chincy interior. A worthwhile sacrifice if you ask me, seeing as they are so affordable. Is the shifting difficult because of the amount of force required, or because of the small space between the forks in the shift boot area? I got used to that part quickly, but if you have to push hard, you could probably use a good transmission flush and filter change. That helps a lot. And for the stalling problem, a thorough fuel system flush will solve that. Restoring fuel flow makes a huge difference in power, as well. If you do get your fuel system flushed, be sure you change the fuel filter as well, to keep the fuel lines clean for a good long time.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 11 reviews