1985 Toyota Celica Reviews from North America

1985 Toyota Celica Hatchback 2.4

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Best car out there!!!

Faults:

Well I bought this car for 400 bucks, it had sat for 2 and half years, but it did run.

The tank had rust, so I cleaned that out, after putting in 100 bucks to get it running.

After that it's a solid car, but it had a leak, and now I have to rebuild the engine. Does have some rust on the hatch, but it's not that big.

General Comments:

It handles freakin' amazing.

This is my very first car that I bought and put it my name. It's always started, I drive over 100 miles per day, and it's never let me down.

It's fast, I raced many Hondas and always won, the RWD is great on turns, and you have more control when you are driving.

I upgraded the stereo and speakers, I've been replacing the inside parts to make it look better, but I love this car.

Now I'm getting ready to rebuild the engine and rebuild everything in the car. Can't wait to be driving my baby again, it's the best car I have ever owned, and I will keep this car my whole life. I would tell anyone to buy this car, it's worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2011

13th Dec 2011, 13:51

Every parents nightmare - the thought that their child might be off somewhere racing around in a 25 year old car with over 200,000 miles on it - or racing around in any car for the matter.

My suggestion is to give up cars and walk - the roads will be safer for ALL of us if you did.

1985 Toyota Celica GTS 2.4

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance214000 miles

Summary:

Reliable fun with distinctive styling

Faults:

Faults while owned:

Worn out clutch was replaced shortly after purchase.

Sunroof can't be opened. Gets stuck.

Burns a little oil, but it's manageable.

Fan clutch replaced, was causing overheating.

Rust is problem.

Brake master cylinder replaced.

Slave cylinder replaced.

Faults car already had prior to purchase:

Power antenna doesn't work.

Power Steering doesn't work.

A/C doesn't work.

Rust.

General Comments:

This car was my first car, and I cannot part with it. I got it from my dad, so I knew it already had many faults.

I mainly used the car for work, school and just getting around.

This car always started the first time every time for about the first 3 years. What this car lacks for power, it makes up for reliability. The engine and tranny are bullet proof. Basic Maintenance is all the car needs to keep going.

The car is very fun to drive even without power steering. The seats are very comfortable and supportive on long trips. Not to mention good gas mileage too.

The interior is mostly intact, but needs some serious reconditioning (sun backed dashboard, torn drivers seat, worn carpet etc).

The biggest flaw with this car is the rust. Over the years it has formed into big holes. Behind the rear window, the lower metal behind the rear tires and some other spots.

Despite the list of flaws this car just keeps going and going... For about a year, now the car is used rarely. It's been garaged and is having the body work done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2010

1985 Toyota Celica GT-S 22R-E, 2.4

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 22R-E, 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance113500 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma 4x4 - also, not previous

Summary:

Great "sleeper" performance car with a power-train tough enough to be used in the truck line-up.

Faults:

I bought the car for $1000 knowing that it needed some work.

The steering had a lot of free-play so I replaced the rack-and-pinion unit (which was worn and leaking fluid) as well as the shocks/struts with koni/kyb units respectively.

I also replaced the cylinder head which had a cracked valve and worn valve stem seals.

While the engine was torn apart I replaced all the timing components and oil pump.

Replaced the clutch after I destroyed it while practicing 180 degree turnarounds at speed with the handbrake.

Lastly, 4 new Falken Ziex ZE-502 tires on those beautiful 14"x7" alloy wheels.

The above cost around $1000, mainly for parts having done most the work myself.

There is still a little slop in the steering so near future plans include ball joints, wheel bearings, bushings.

Will probably also replace the brake rotors/pads.

General Comments:

I noticed one survey noted they thought this model was built with rallying in mind, I concur and bought the car with that in mind. I have participated in SCCA RallyCross events with this car usually beating at least a few of the all-wheel-drive Subaru's. I hope to eventually get rally tires, a roll-cage, and some safety equipment installed so I can really rally it.

The 22R-E engine was used in Toyota Trucks through 1995, so parts and performance mods are readily available.

This car had in 1985 many features that are still considered desirable today and found mainly only in performance cars such as :

4 wheel disc brakes

Independent rear suspension

Rack-and-pinion steering

Close ratio 5spd transmission

8-way adjustable seats

A mere.34 drag coefficient

Wide 60 series tires on 14"x7" wheels (lots of imports cars then had 13-14" by 4-5.5" wide wheels)

Interior includes:

Tilt wheel

AM/FM Cassette stereo with graphic equalizer and Dolby noise reduction

Rear defrost and wiper with it's own washer fluid system

Retractable cargo cover in hatch area to guard against prying eyes

Power windows, locks, mirrors.

One thing that does annoy me is that if you open the door while the ignition is on, when you close the door it locks. I can appreciate Toyota efforts here though since '85 was when car-jackings were getting started. It's funny though now because my past '95 and current '01 Toyota Tacoma's won't let you close a locked door while the engine is running, it automatically unlocks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2005

10th May 2005, 16:04

How much do you think it would be to replace the head on a 1991 Celica? Did you get an estimate, because I'm looking at one that needs a head.

26th Nov 2005, 20:27

Good review, I have an 84 GTS which I just paid 1,800.00 for. It is mechanically sound at 193,000 miles. It has the 5 speed stick shift and is white with blue interior.

I got lucky with this one, it's an original California car bought right here in my town according to the original owners manual. The only unusual thing about it is it had way too much oil in the pan when I bought it, about 1/2 an inch over the full mark on the dipstick. Does anyone find this unusual? I drained nearly a quart of oil out of it.

Also has anyone put in 5W-30 oil in their older Celica? Just wondering if it would help or hurt the small engine?

Again good review, for an old car these cars are great.

26th Jan 2006, 01:35

4 Wheel disc brakes? Independent rear suspension? You sure you're not driving a Celica Supra? Or did you swap the rear end out of one?

16th Apr 2006, 16:22

The Celica GTS came from the factory with 4 wheel disc and IRS. The only difference from the Supra was the engine, an inline 6 on the Supra and different rear diff gearing.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews