Daewoo Espero Reviews from Philippines

1995 Daewoo Espero GLXi 1.5 DOHC

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance41397 kilometres
Previous carToyota LiteAce

Summary:

Money can buy much better things

Faults:

This car is a lemon, and so this car was born with a lot of problems and issues.

When it was six months old, the car did not want to shut off. At least it only happened one time.

Around the year 1996 or 1997, the doors did not want to close.

One of the biggest issue here was the air-con of the car. At least it works when it's working, but it is not as cold as you see in Japanese cars, but when it doesn't work, it's bad! The first time it happened (June 2000) it was fixed right away, but the second time (December 2000 - January 2001) it took us a month for it to be fixed. It's because of poor dealer support.

October 29, 2001 we were on our way home from hospital because mama had a minor operation, the shock absorbers acted up. Daewoo just gave us the parts needed, but did not bother to deal with the fix, so we had the fix in a gas station (that was All Saints Day 2001).

January 17, 2002 was the day the car had its last breath. The engine stalled in the middle of a busy avenue. From there we went to the house I think by taxi and got the other car. We contacted Daewoo, but said they can't do anything about it, and so we had it fixed the next day in the gas station, but on the way it was towed by a wrecker.

I remember when this car broke I was in Grade 2 at that time, and we were dismissed in school already after First Communion practices. I cried because my parents took a long time before I could be fetched, learning later that the car stalled and caused heavy traffic. After the car got out one week later, it was one piece of junk!

General Comments:

This 1995 Daewoo Espero originally belonged to my grandparents bought June 1995. They rarely used it, and we just borrowed this from them only about a couple of times before it was passed on to my dad in January 2000. This car took me to school almost everyday except for Wednesday, because of the number coding scheme, to the shopping mall, or other places in the Metro.

The only thing good about this car is its exterior, which looked nice. Also the car was comfortable. But when talking about under the hood, everything is crap!

The car gave too many headaches to my parents because the car was no good. Thank God there is no more Daewoo in this country. At least Chevrolet and Opel, which is now being sold here look better.

R.I.P

1995 Daewoo Espero

June 7, 1995 - January 17, 2002.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2009

1997 Daewoo Espero GLXi 1.5 DOHC

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres

Summary:

A great car for a cheap price

Faults:

Two of my door handles broke. The quality of the plastics used is poor.

Rear, right cabin light does not work. I think there's a broken connection in the wiring.

Air bag warning light does not go off in the dash. Computer problem.

Other than these problems, the car is OK.

General Comments:

The car has only been with me for about 6 or 7 months, and it's really great for city driving.

Acceleration is a bit slow for this heavy car with only a 1.5L engine. But I've replaced the air cleaner with a sport air filter and the acceleration has improved a bit.

I don't know if there's a defect in the engine, because it has difficulty reaching the 100 KPH mark.

It's very comfortable and roomy in the cabin. Lots of leg space.

Suspension is great at low speeds. But becomes bone-jarring at high speeds.

A gas-guzzler if you like to go fast.

It's easy and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

24th Feb 2007, 02:25

I have this car for a year now and I have only a few problems with this. the alternator was replaced with an 85 amperes. the previus one was 90 amperes. if there is some problem with the parts I buy it and replaced it immediately otherwise this car is super.

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews