Honda CR-V Reviews from Philippines

2003 Honda CR-V 4X2 2.0 gasoline

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carToyota VIOS

Summary:

Good for big families and emergency runs

Faults:

Stacked mileage list.

That cool air conditioning.

General Comments:

Nice looks and very comfortable.

Good air conditioning when fixed.

Good cornering and straightaway speed.

Nice car, but too expensive for its class. It also has bad gas consumption of 6.7 kms/l.

Nice power, can go to 120 km/h and up, but the brakes are a little weak.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2011

2004 Honda CR-V 2.0L 4x2

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4x2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

I love it to bits! (banal but true)

Faults:

So far, nothing. Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

The first thing I can say about the car is that it has a very conservative look. I honestly think Honda played it too safe and made a boring looking car.

Despite the no frill look of this car, the same cannot be said for what is underneath the bonnet. OR SO THEY SAY. The truth is, the car's so called "genius" i-VTEC engine feels sluggish in this car. It doesn't go as well as my old 12 year old Nissan Altima did. And the the fuel economy was about the same. What I do love about the CR-V's engine is also its downfall: the high revving engine. It feels smooth and good to drive. The truth is, I don't think its the go that annoys me, its the cruise. When you press the gas, it goes well enough really. But when you release the gas to keep a constant pace, the car slows down very quickly. I initially thought it was due to the drag forces or maybe the low range gear box. But our Nissan X-Trail doesn't suffer from the same problems despite the bulk or the low range gear box.

The interior is better than the X-Trail's though. Whereas the Nissan used too much cheap high gloss plastic, the CR-V at least tries to mask the cheap look of its plastics. The gear shift is well placed, easily in reach. The seats are nicely shaped and molded, but too hard. (can't recommend this car for old people) But the car is very fuel efficient for a SUV or a Crossover as it really is, and very practical.

The drive is good, if a bit slow. The gears shift smoothly and quietly, without the "thud" of my old Nissan Altima's pathetic gearbox. The suspensions are hard, giving this car a sharp and responsive handling. But despite hardness, still doesn't punish you too much at the bumps or pot holes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

20th Mar 2008, 01:46

My 2004 CRV does not slow down immediately when releasing the accelerator. It coast easily and maintain its speed for at least half a kilometer. Touch your rims after a leisurely drive and see if it is very hot. If yes I suggest you check your brakes that could be dragging your car permanently.

2006 Honda CR-V Basic 2.0

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Terrible electronic throttle system

Faults:

Nothing.

A testament to Honda reliability.

General Comments:

Horrible electronic throttle system.

This new electronic throttle system that Honda has incorporated to this model is just silly. I don't know why they had to shift to an electronic system with this kind of performance, when the previous system just works great and is very reliable as well.

This is the only downside to this model, but unfortunately for me it has somehow ruined the whole feel of the car. If you have driven the first gen CRV and this model, you would know what I mean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2007

10th Oct 2007, 09:35

I hope that electronic downside isn't so bad because I'm planning to get one. Never driven the 1st generation CRV.

27th Jun 2009, 14:09

I agree that the new electronic throttle system miss the feel that the previous model. I own a 2006 CR-V and my aunt own an 2005 CR-V and the difference is noticeable. The 2005 model feel much powerful that the 2006. But maybe for a inexperienced driver the 2005 could be more dangerous, because the engine is too powerful and the driver could loss the control if press the accelerator too quickly. In my opinion both models 2005 and 2006 are wonderful. The ride and seats are very comfortable. No problems at all.

28th Jun 2009, 15:01

I have a 2009 CRV and love the electronic throttle system. It is accurate and provides me the best gas mileage I can get... why wouldn't I want that. Of course it feels different from the first generation (I had one of those as well and traded for my new one). Both my CRV's were problem free, which is why I come back to Honda. The day of non- electronic throttle systems are going away, so get use to better mileage, low maintenance and longevity.

14th Jul 2009, 23:59

We have a Honda CRV 1997 model service in our company, it is really a super car; it reaches 210kmh on plain roads and it's amazing. But, I had a problem to it coz it is my responsibility. I can notice it if I'm driving slowly on curved lanes; something noisy rubbing things under the chassis, especially making a "U" turn. On that day, we removed the propeller shaft since there is still a front wheel drive so that we can use it. Then, the noise is gone but seems there is no damage of the prof shaft. Can anyone help me for this?

Appreciate that a lot.

6th Jul 2013, 21:33

The rear differential fluid needs to be replaced. The old fluid doesn't have enough friction modifiers in it to lubricate the clutch packs, hence the notable chatter when cornering. It takes special "dual pump" fluid, so just take it to Honda.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 3 reviews