Hyundai Getz Reviews from Philippines - Page 2 of 3

2008 Hyundai Getz CRDI 1.5 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carIsuzu Pickup

Summary:

Economical and fast

Faults:

Hankook tires seem to be made of paper, came with the car from the dealership. Had to replace 2 tires in 5k kms.

Broke my oil pan after running through big pointy rocks.

Light duty suspension is very weak.

General Comments:

This car flies. For a diesel hatch, the turbo really does make a big difference, but at the same time, it's very economical to use. Pure city driving runs 13-14kms/liter, and provincial driving runs 18-22kms/liter.

Brought this car to Baguio (winding roads going up), and it showed no hesitation and was able to climb the mountain with no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2008

2007 Hyundai Getz 1.1

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7500 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

This is a cool car

Faults:

I have been driving this car for more than a year now, or one year and two months to be exact. Recently I would hear unusual sounds under the car when maneuvering on rough roads, it's sounds like an empty water drum being tapped or something like that. Anyway I went to the service center to have it checked. I thought after the servicing, it would be fixed, but to my disappointment it wasn't.

A week after, another thing that I have noticed is when my gas tank is half empty I could hear something is knocking inside the gas tank whenever I hit bumps on the road.

General Comments:

Compared to my past 2 cars, I find this car economical (I saved 50% of my fuel budget), comfortable and it has a well designed interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th August, 2008

27th Apr 2010, 01:12

About the knocking sound... better check the rubber attached to your muffler and exhaust pipe (I think there are three rubbers) and replace it with a new one (don't worry its cheap). I'm sure it is the cause. The rubber serves as vibration absorber of the exhaust pipe.

2006 Hyundai Getz CRDi 1.5 turbo intercooler diesel

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo intercooler diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Economical

Faults:

A slight problem of my car is that it has a lot of vibration, rattles and squeaking noise when traversing unevenly paved roads.

NOW the BIG problem is that the dealer who sold the car to me, has a quality of service WORSE than what a group of monkeys with wrenches can offer. Monkeys can be more knowledgeable than the service crews that tried to fix the rattle and squeak problem in my car!

I'll never buy another Hyundai!

General Comments:

Well besides the BAD HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP that got me so frustrated and made me decide not to ever buy a Hyundai ever again, I'm pretty happy with my Getz!

It gives me tremendous savings when it comes to fuel economy. I can get 17kms/liter on highway driving, and around 12kms/liter city driving.

My previous car was a 95 Honda Civic hatchback EG with a B18c Spoon engine with some minor modifications like standalone engine management, Edelbrock intakes and Greddy exhaust. But I gave it all up for economy, and I got old, so I don't need a fast car, plus I already have 3 kids, so I need the money that I can save, and my Honda was killing me with its 6kms/liter fuel consumption city driving, and 7.5kms/liter consumption highway driving.

To my surprise, this little Getz with 1.5 CRDi diesel engine and turbo intercooler packs a lot of punch. Of course I can't compare it with my Civic EG, but the Getz is really one quick car.

What I like about this car the most, is that it almost has the same torque as my Honda EG, and it's really fast. The fastest speed I dared to try with my Getz was 175kph, and the engine feels like it can still give more, although I was bit afraid to try more, because I was nearing the red line.

It's economical, it's compact, and it has a lot of unwanted noise that my dealership can't fix!

STILL... I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2006

30th Jul 2007, 02:57

I guess its not the car's fault. I think you are frustrated with the dealer. You should find a better dealership that could manage your service intervals. :)

25th Nov 2007, 04:54

I expect something wrong with the fuel consumption you claim.

"I can get 17kms/liter on highway driving and around 12kms/liter city driving."

This gives 6 L/100 km on highway and 8 L/100km in town. Hyundai claims 30% less fuel consumption, respectively 4.1 and 5.6 L/100 km.

7th Oct 2009, 08:08

Hi, we're from Ilocos Norte. We have a 2006 model of Getz. A month ago an accident happened in our car, our insurance is very aggressive to give an immediate service, but sad to say and up to this time, no spare parts are available according to them. Please don't just sell, make sure that spare parts are always available.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews