Kia Carnival Reviews from Philippines - Page 2 of 2

2001 Kia Carnival LS 2.9

Year of manufacture2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired36500 kilometres
Most recent distance38500 kilometres

Faults:

I had alternator problem!

Most of the time, ABS light is on.

Sometimes, airbag light also on.

CD player not reliable.

General Comments:

This minivan is a good choice at its current price. However, I had a bad day with this van 3 weeks ago, alternator problem!

Interior is pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

2nd Sep 2005, 03:05

I experienced and feel a slight vibration in my KIA Carnival 2001 model whenever I shift the gear to D or R, is there a problem with the transmission or any other related trouble?

27th May 2006, 07:09

I also got several problem with my Kia Carnival 2001,2.9L turbo diesel.

1. High diesel consumption. 4.8kms to 5.2kms per liter. City driving

2. Rattle sound on my left sliding door.

3. Temperature up whenever I'm on uphill driving like going to tagaytay. Temperature gauge went to 3/4 but not overheating. Or when I drove the engine to 3000rpm the temp will go up.

4. Vibration on rear or drive position. (automatic transmission)

5. power steering assembly keeps on dripping oil.

6. Oil coming out from the turbo.

Wish somebody can help me solve the problem.

2000 Kia Carnival LS 2.9

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carKia Mitsubishi GLXI

Summary:

It is an economical van with an economical price, but requires maintenance every now and then.

Faults:

Black smoke is very evident when one is caught in traffic. The certified dealer changed the whole muffler system with no charge, but after a few months the smoke was again obviously catching the eye of the traffic enforcers and anti-smoke belching officers. Because of this I bring the van to the dealer to clean my exhaust system. They could not permanently solve the problem.

The fuel pump always accumulates air. Everyday before going to office I have to pump out the air. One day I made a test not to pump out the air. On the fifth day the van could not start, and I had to call the authorized mechanic from the dealer. He loosened some bolts and cranked the engine so the air would come out. I had to pay for that service and I could not work for that day.

Plastic guides on the sliding doors make noises which are irritating when you drive long distances.

General Comments:

The van is comfortable.

It is roomy and relaxing.

It has a smooth ride when cruising.

The engine noise is bearable since it is a diesel engine.

Engine performance is quite commendable except for the smoke that it emits.

Workmanship is below par considering the irritating noises from doors, hinges, and other mechanical assemblies within the cabin.

Air conditioning system is alright, although this has no thermostat control. I have to manually turn off the aircon switch to limit the coldness inside the cabin. Not driver-friendly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

2000 Kia Carnival LS 1.9

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance33000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Very poor and not worth it

Faults:

At 33,000 kilometers My timing chain broke.

2x replaced rotor discs.

Replaced brake pads every 5,000 kilometers.

Brakes rattles when braking.

Airbag light indicator goes on.

Steering oil pump always replaced.

General Comments:

Kia Carnival might be a good quality and comfortable car.

However the car should always be maintained for possible break outs in the parts and engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

1st May 2004, 21:24

I don't believe on what you have commented. Because we have the same model, I am very much contented with my Kia Carnival LS. Of course you have to regularly maintain your car. Any brand, even German brand, if you don't properly use it and don't regularly maintain it, it will definitely goes out of the way. My piece of advice is to use your car with proper care and regular maintenance like you take care of your self.

2001 Kia Carnival LS 2.9 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A powerful and comfortable family van

Faults:

The middle seat tilt levers bent easily.

Moisture seeped into the fog light lens.

There was a rattling sound coming from the middle seat.

The digital clock stopped working.

The rubber seals inside the door handle assembly came loose.

General Comments:

I took it for a long drive in the country and acceleration was good when overtaking.

Automatic transmission worked smoothly, especially when you floor the accelerator.

Sound system is good.

The air conditioning works well and vents are generously provided throughout the interior.

Nice creature comforts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2002

2001 Kia Carnival LS 2.9 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pickup

Summary:

A car worth more than its price

Faults:

A bit hard to engage the first gear, but it eventually went away. I can't see the front so it's hard to park and weave thru traffic.

There was a squeaking sound near the sliding doors, but it also went away.

General Comments:

The problems were nothing compared to what I get from the Carnival. The power is awesome for a diesel, I can leave gasoline powered vehicles behind yet its very economical. Climbing power is very good, Pajeros and other SUVs are left behind. The interior space and ride is so comfortable, my daughters always fall asleep when they ride it.

The stereo is OK, just needed a sub woofer to enhance the quality of the sound. Dashboard design is very impressive especially at night and there are so many features not found in other cars, lockable drawer, cup holders, eyeglass holder, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2002

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews