Mitsubishi Pajero Reviews from Philippines - Page 2 of 2

1992 Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Most recent distance237000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

A reliable off-roader

Faults:

Air conditioning has always been a problem. Not that it breaks down a lot, but it just fails to cool down the cabin especially on hot sunny days.

General Comments:

This vehicle is a true workhorse. Rock-solid in construction and very, very reliable. I haven't had any major problems with my Pajero.

However, it lacks power to cruise the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

3rd May 2005, 07:21

My 1992 Pajero has the same problem on the airconditioner. I'd appreciate it very much if somebody can give me a good solution to remedy this problem.

25th Nov 2005, 16:04

I had the same problem with my pajero. I found the problem was the fan seen from the outside of the grille which cools down the air-con radiator. The fan motor was full of carbon deposits, cleaned out the motor and it worked perfectly. So air was lovely and cold all the time. hope this helps with peoples problems,It did it for me.

1992 Mitsubishi Pajero GLX 2.6 petrol

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired44500 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Indestructible

Faults:

Fuel and air mixture screw on carburetor "flew off", I fortunately found it.

"Silent shaft" noise is present indicating a loose bearing after almost 12 years of use.

General Comments:

Maintenance is very easy, parts have to be sourced out carefully.

Mileage is about 4.5km/ltr city driving and 6.5km/ltr on long drives out of town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

2nd Mar 2005, 03:10

Had the same problem with mine where the air fuel screw fell off and engine won't run smooth. Luckily found it again cause finding a replacement screw is not easy. Mechanic put a dab of glue on it so it won't fall next time. Very useful vehicle and gives owner pride of ownership even after many years of usage. A bit underpowered for the weight of vehicle, but very reliable engine compared with the v6 ones where crankcase pulley bolt is a known problem. Would recommend friends to buy this particular model.

1993 Mitsubishi Pajero GLX 2.6 petrol

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A true workhorse

Faults:

Air conditioning evaporator/s required replacement.

General Comments:

This 4WD is a genuine reliable off roader good for family use also.

The engine (4G54) lacks power, but it makes it for it by being so easy to maintain with regular tune ups and oil changes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

19th Feb 2004, 05:44

This vehicle is so simple to maintain yet it is very luxurious and comfortable. The only problem is the availability of certain parts related to the engine or transmission because the available ones are normally for diesel engines.

13th Apr 2004, 01:11

Parts are a concern especially for engine and transmission. However most of the parts for the suspension and under chassis are the same as the diesel counterparts.

6th Feb 2008, 07:32

Previously a had a 89 4d56 2.5td. I didn't had any problems with that. I replaced it with a 96 4g54. A newer body. I'm satisfied with it's performance, though a little more power would be great. I'm thinking of replacing it again. And I've been scouting around for a better ride, but with no luck. It's a practical car for me. No headaches. Comfortable and easy to maintain.

1993 Mitsubishi Pajero Exceed 2.5 diesel

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

A very good and reliable car

Faults:

There are a few rattles.

Had the alternator replaced with a higher amp one.

General Comments:

The Pajero is very comfortable on or off road, I would recommend it to anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews