1990 Nissan Sentra sgx 1.6 gas


A everyday car and a sporty ride


The sidings become dilapidated because of poor quality in its materials.

The tachometer and speedometer does not work anymore.

General Comments:

It has a very good air conditioning not depending on its overall condition no matter how good or bad it is.

Very good sound quality in its stock clarion speakers.

Has a strong torque and power unless its engine is loosed compression.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th November, 2007

1990 Nissan Sentra SGX 1.6 gas


Reliable after all the first months of repairs


I bought this car 3 years ago and it cost me a lot for repairs such as: Engine ovehaul, Undercahsis, Power windows, Air conditioning and also bought a new radiator. I guess the first owner did not took care of this car very well.

General Comments:

Every thing went smoothly after the repairs. I would say that this car is reliable. The best feature of this car is the airconditioning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2006

1994 Nissan Sentra LEC 1.6 Twin Cam


My missdamnperfect


It is so hard for the car to run faster if the air con is on.

There is an annoying noise coming from the timing chain of my car that makes it sound like a motorcycle.

General Comments:

I actually got this car as a present from my dad for my 18th b-day because I'm a frustrated car racer. I really love using my car because the first time I used it, it was fast and I even raced a guy with a Honda Esi car, and luckily I beat him.. now I'm trying to customize it so that it looks hotter. I actually named her "missdamnperfect" and since then my friends call me that also. We have been together for 2 years now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2005

1991 Nissan Sentra SGX 1.6-liter, 12-valve engine


It seems to be too fragile on a per-kilometer basis


Replaced the balls and sockets.

Replaced the brake shoe.

Replaced the battery.

Replaced the water filter.

Replaced the engine support and left and right arm bushings.

The power steering mechanism continue to leak fluid despite repeated repairs by different mechanics.

Replaced the fan belts for the power steering, aircon and alternator.

Replaced the alternator with a second-hand one.

Had the front and rear power windows' mechanisms fixed.

All the above jobs within my first and second year of owning a car or within 1,000 kilometers.

The paint has faded since the day I purchased it at about US$2000.

General Comments:

The car is reliable enough, although newer models, even just 1.3-liter models would easily overtake it along the highway. Perhaps the car is just too old and original parts are giving up one by one. But this should not be the case considering its still relatively low (below 90,000 kilometers) mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

19th Mar 2008, 22:17

Nissan Sentra 1991 SGX :

Well, I could say that this car is very reliable enough for me although it is 13yrs old when I first acquire this car way back year 2004. What I want most in this car is the good performance of the air-con system, despite the age of this car the air-con system is quite good enough in term of performance, it can compete with the new cars as far as coldness is concern (as long as it is properly maintain). The performance of this car in general is very okay, the power steering, power windows, power side mirrors up to the speed it can reach when you drive it to the fullest. The maximum speed I've reached when I drove this car is 180kph! and still possible to reach the 200kph limit of this car. In able for us to maintain the good performance of our car, we should properly maintain our cars like as we maintaining ourselves. I'm satisfied with this car. The good looks of this box-type car with spoiler attached on it amazed me. The cockpit area of this car is very nice specially at night as well as the original Kenwood sound systems is still good. Maintaining our car to be in top condition is very expensive but it is more expensive if you have poor car maintenance habit.

Thank you... and God Bless...

1st Dec 2009, 11:20

My 1991 SGX is still in good condition, very reliable and easy to maintain. A speed of 140kph-up is still attainable with air-con and audio turn on. the only problem is the leaking power steering fluid.

Drive Safely.

5th Jan 2014, 07:53

I own it too (Nissan SGZ). It's very true that the car is reliable. I tested it driving a top speed on my own guts up to 130kph, and still this car can give you more, knowing the engine is stock with no upgrade done.

Made some repairs, since we know the car is kinda old, but won't cost you too much. The good thing about it, is that the parts are still available either brand new or surplus.

Thanks by the way for stating some of the repairs you made to your car. It's very helpful. Haven't done some of it, so I guess I have to check it also.

My question is, is it good to make the rear brakes to be disc brakes? And did you all make some upgrades to your engine, like making it more powerful? And what were the changes you made to the engine?

Thanks guys! More power to this forum!