2004 Toyota VIOS 15.E VVT-i

Summary:

Wonderful

Faults:

The trunk sounds too light when it is being closed.

General Comments:

It is a very nice car, the design is good, and the torque and the cornering are excellent. It is very fuel efficient.

However, there needs to be a little more space in the rear seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2009

2007 Toyota VIOS E 1.5 VVTI

Summary:

Buy it and enjoy the ride!

Faults:

So far, it has been very satisfactory (Toyota didn't pay me to say this).

General Comments:

Car gives top value for its class, and the children love it. It is going to be one enjoyable drive after another. I would recommend it to everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2008

2006 Toyota VIOS E 1.5

Summary:

No Regrets so far

Faults:

It's still new. If something is already wrong, I'll give Toyota a 0 score. Anything hot off the oven shouldn't be inedible because of defects.

My first servicing was about 2 weeks ago.

There shouldn't be anything wrong with it right now. Anyway I'm still monitoring...

Ultimately, I do not harbour high expectations on the car. It's supposed to be my workhorse, and also my entertainment.

General Comments:

Interior is sufficiently spacious, with plenty of pockets, nooks and crannies to keep little things here and there.

Noise insulation is good. Handles well. Good acceleration. Good cornering characteristics. Like the slightly higher driver sitting position. So that i can peer through the SUV in front of me for traffic conditions far ahead.

Initially, thought its weird to have a center-mounted instrument panel. But now I believe it to be most cool :-)

My model is a basic one with no frills and manual transmission. No modifications to tyres, body kits, or something like that. They add to rolling resistance and aerodynamic drag.

Believe it or not, it managed to get 15.5km/l for the first tank of gas. After the first servicing, it returned an average of 18.5km/l, with about 60% use on highway and 40% in other roads. If I find that after 5000kms my return on gas is still similar or better, I'd not think twice in having a second Vios (or equivalent) for my next car. Anyway, with air-con on 50% of the time.

Manual transmission is still the best. Raw power from the engine is transmitted to the road, without an auto-box trying to predict my driving pattern and road conditions. I don't lose that "in control" feeling. The fun begins when it enters a traffic jam...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2007

18th Jun 2007, 01:46

Hi, had second servicing. Now, it runs on synthetic engine oil with new oil filter. Agent said change the oil filter only after 10,000km but anyway, with the kind of mileage, it's fair to plow back the savings for slightly better maintenance to be even.

Mileage now about 7000km. Vios is an excellent machine. Mileage for +90% highway is +18km/ltr. (Aircon off 50%, otherwise low; Driver only + dog occasionally; intelligent driving)

Nothing wrong with car up till 7000km.

Just waxed 6 sections of the paintwork. Another 6 sections to go... this two weeks. Will update again.

2004 Toyota VIOS 1.5

Summary:

An excellent family economical car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

This car makes you feel light (light on your budget I mean), nimble and pack with power when driving on the road.

Its compact size makes driving, U-turning and parking a whole lot easier and relaxing.

The boot size is huge, and rear passenger space is good enough to fetch 3 normal sized adults (or 2 adults and 1 baby carseat).

An excellent choice for a family of 4 who wants the convenient of a problem-free car at a minimum costs.

Aircon is really strong. Very cooling inside.

The 1.5 VVTI engine is really powerful and yet fuel saving.

This car has met all my need as a family man.

But please note that its ride stability, sound insulation and spaciousness cannot match with the more expensive cars, of course, and cannot match with some similar priced cars from other brands (but I only trust Toyota). Nonetheless, I am not at all bothered by these slight downsides of this car.

So far no regret after 1.5years of owning this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2006

2003 Toyota VIOS Sports Edition 1.5

Summary:

A good bargain

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

The car is a dollar for value car. So far the car is fuel efficienct. It runs about 600km on a full tank.

The sports edition comes with front & rear fog lamps. Useful for long distance trips up to KL.

Cornering at high speed is stable with no over-steering. Although it is a sports edition, it does not perform like one as it has a 1.5L engine with a rather slow pick up from zero acceleration. Once it has accelerated, it is pretty stable up to 125km/h.

Although it is not as spacious as the Toyota Corolla (Altis), it is a good buy for a family unit of 4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2004

15th Dec 2004, 00:36

I am an owner of a Toyota Vios and I totally disagree with the statement about the car's performance. For your info the performance of a car is NOT determined by the c/c of the car rather than the power to weight ratio. The Vios has one of the most efficient engines in its class. Its 0-100kmph acceleration time is 9.8secs which beats many higher c/c cars because it has got 109hp compared to a kerb weight of about 940kg. For a comparison, there are only 2 cars in PROTON that have a faster acceleration (8.8secs) which is the Putra and the Satria GTI and the both of them have 1.8L engines. So imagine how powerful the Vios 1.5L engine is! I test drove the Vios 7 times and did extensive research before I bought it so trust me when I say that the car is an excellent buy in all aspects.