1994 Fiat Uno Pacer SX 1.4 petrol




1. Clutch master cylinder.

2. C. V Joint Boots.

3. Brake Hose (Front Right)

4. Driver Seat beginning to fray.

5. Clutch/pressure plates need replacing.

6. 2nd Gear Synchros need replacing / servicing.

7. Central Locking stopped working on rear left door.

8. carburettor needs constant adjustments.

9. handbrake doesn't work too well anymore.

General Comments:

I own a 1994 fiat uno Pacer SX 5dr 1.4 petrol with 5spd manual gearbox. this is my first vehicle, and most of the problems that I experienced were as a direct result of the previous owner's gross neglect of the car. it performs quite well for a 1400, and is relatively low-cost to maintain. its acceleration is phenomenal! handling is superb for a car of its class and weight... top speeds are not all that good (probably due to the condition of the clutch) and a few strange noises are coming from the front left wheel. overall it's a stunning car and I'm enjoying it! it's a good choice for a beginner car as it is very comfortable and phenomenally easy to drive... I think it deserves an 8/10!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2007

12th Nov 2007, 08:34

I have had exactly the same ocurrences as you. The noise that you hear on the left could possibly be the wheel like you say, but you might like to check the rear engine mounting, as this is a common problem with Uno's. The rubber gets worn out and the metal on metal noise starts.

I hope this will help.

Pamela Zabbia.

1993 Fiat Uno Fire 1.1


The most reliable car we have ever owned


Replaced the gearbox at 260000 km with a reconditioned unit.

Replaced rear brake shoes.

Replaced front brake discs.

General Comments:

An absolutely unbelievable car. There just seemed to be no end to it. Nothing ever broke with the exception of the gearbox.

Unfortunately we will never know how long it could have lasted because it was stolen recently.

We have replaced it with a Punto.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2006

2003 Fiat Uno 1.1


This is the worst car ever produced!!!


I have had to replace the clutch twice. Nearly every time I take it for a service or repairs on something, I have to take it back as they have fixed the wrong thing. This is from several dealers, as I have lived in two provinces with the car.

The aftersales service is currently the worst that I have had to endure. After many letters, e-mails etc to the head of Fiat in South Africa, still no joy, and I gave up trying to get the problem sorted. After being told that the car will have a high resale value from Fiat themselves, I still cannot sell the car to actually get money back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

11th May 2006, 13:53

Clutch change is normally driver's fault. I had 1 for 120000 and only changed clutch once. I ask you, is there anything that works good in South Africa other than the murdering of foreigners for a few bucks?

14th Jul 2006, 03:11

You buy an Uno because of the value for money aspect. It's not a sporty car, and cannot go faster than 140kmh, but you knew that, right?

I firmly believe that if you treat the car with the respect it deserves, it will give you many k's of motoring pleasure.

Lastly, with petrol about to go through the 7 rand a litre barrier, do not be too hasty in selling your Uno. Appreciate the car for what it is, it's not like you paid R100000 for it, did you?

1993 Fiat Uno Mia 1.1


Not satisfied at all


Doors leak and dust gets in.

No floor panel for foot.

General Comments:

The vehicle is very cost effective and only this fact that vehicles are so expensive is the only reason I still have this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

2000 Fiat Uno Mia 1.1


I love it!


I have had absolutely no problems with my Mia. I have no rust whatsoever. The only disadvantage is that the body is fairly soft and dents easily.

It's very reliable and has never broken down or anything.

General Comments:

It's very comfortable and roomy inside the front, but a bit cramped at the back, however this is to be expected as it is a 3door model.

Even though it has a very little engine it accelerates well and goes fine, only battling a bit on sleep uphills with 4 or 5 people in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

26th May 2005, 02:50

Glad to hear of a happy Uno owner in SA, but I reckon it's a sure bet you don't live anywhere near the coast??? Am I right???

22nd Mar 2007, 07:57

I own an Uno Mia. I've had the car for three years now and apart from routine servicing it has been totally reliable. I've even driven it from Cape Town to East London and back with no problems! The car is in daily use covering over 100km a day, six days a week. I think that the later model Uno's are very under rated little cars. Like all vehicles, if you look after them they will reward you with good service.

2000 Fiat Uno Mia 1.1


A rust bucket within two years of manufacture


RUST RUST and more RUST.

General Comments:

Purchased from new. Mechanically without fault, but mileage covered is still low.

Major disappointment is the rust which has attacked practically every body panel and chassis.

Although still under FIAT warranty. They were very quick to repudiate, without even looking at the vehicle, because of an "out of time" service. (Not over on mileage, over the 12 month interval for the 2nd service!!)

I am disheartened and disgusted in the extreme with the apathetic attitude of FIAT S.A. and their reluctance to recognise a manufacturing defect at face value. FIAT??? Never again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2002

30th Jun 2003, 01:47

Hi Steven, Thanks for the input. Vehicle was off the shop floor - brand new. No doubt about it. Maybe in Europe UNO went off the market, but I think maybe FIAT used South Africa as their "dumping ground"for what they did not sell elsewhere. Trust me, would need bucketfulls of superglue to cover the rust. (Actually maybe not a bad idea - might use it to hold the car together!!!)

Thanks again.