2001 Volkswagen Golf Variant 1.6 petrol


Why on earth do people buy Volkswagens?


Sway bar linkages, ignition coil, EGR-valve, oil pressure gauge, air vent outlet, brake discs.

General Comments:

I bought this car since the mileage was relatively low. I wanted a cheap car that would just keep working if I just maintained it. I was told a VW Golf would be the best choice. What a piece of crap it was.

When I first serviced it, I replaced the original cam belt. One of the tensioners was loose and was about to fall off.

The front suspension was rattling, but new sway bar linkages took care of that.

I took care of some rusty spots on the body of the car. Not a lot so I can't complain there.

A heat shield above the catalyst had come loose and needed to be fastened.

One day the oil warning light came on and I thought the motor was dying. I towed the car to a garage and it was the oil pressure sending unit that was broken. After this the car started to rev up and down at red lights, which was caused by a broken vacuum hose from the power brake system.

Shortly after that hose was fixed, the check engine light came on. An ignition coil had broken down. I replaced it and the car worked fine for several days. Then it started cutting out and this time the EGR-valve had given up. I fixed that too.

Now the car was running perfectly well, so I sold it and bought a car made by an entirely different manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2016

11th May 2016, 21:02

You must have bought a bad example that had not been looked after. That's evident with the tensioner about to fall off as you said. No one who maintains a car well would let the timing belt and tensioners get that bad.

People buy VWs because generally they are good reliable cars, at least in Europe; usually the negative reviews on here come from the USA where VWs are built elsewhere and suffer quality issues according to some reviews.

1992 Volkswagen Golf 1.6 ECOdiesel


Cheap fun


Rear wheel bearing seized during a shorter trip without warning.

General Comments:

This is a turbodiesel without the added fuel when the boost comes on.

A friend turned up the fuel and it ran way better, but smoked a little more (not too bad).

Stock 80-120km/h in 4th gear 18.5 seconds.

Tuned 80-120km/h in 4th gear 9.5 seconds.

Fuel consumption before tuning was 0,55 litres/10km.

After tuning 0,52 litres/10km.

Talk about eating the cake and keeping it at the same time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2012

1988 Volkswagen Golf 1.6 natural aspirated diesel


Cheap car, but noisy for long trips


Steering ball joint went bad.

CV joints went bad.

Rear wheel bearing went bad.

Track rod end went bad.

After only a few months, the compression was getting worse and it became hard to start.

Probably blew the head gasket because before I sold it, because it started to leak oil all over the engine compartment.

General Comments:

VERY easy on the fuel always; measured 0,45 litres/10km no matter how I drove it (without trailer).

Hauling a trailer it got 0,65 litres/10km.

Acceleration was pretty good for only having 54 HP.

Noisy if driven at normal highway speed (110km/h).

This car was in bad shape, but I got it cheap, and used it for about 6 months until the winter came.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2012

1995 Volkswagen Golf CL 1.8


Worst piece of s**t I've ever owned


Front lights replaced twice due to manufacturing defect that the dealer and importer never admitted.

Partial respray of the lower parts of the car because of weak and thin paint layer, done the first year after about 10.000 km.

All 4 shock absorbers; the first failing at 25.000 km.

One front spring.

Aerial antenna.

Rear muffler.

Complete exhaust system, including the earlier replaced rear muffler.

Catalyst, failing at about 60.000 km.

O2 sensor.


Whining gear box (bearing starting to fail, expensive to fix at about 115.000 km).

Crank seal against gear box leaking, but not replaced.

Head gasket blew at 85.000 km and water pump was also replaced.

ABS sensor problems + later ABS system failure. ABS didn't work after that and was never fixed.

Rear linkage problem, worn bushings giving clunking noise after 110.000 km.

High beam selector shorted.

Last major problem was the fuel pump at 120.000 km.

Various electrical problems including radio.

General Comments:

Very practical and comfortable, but horrible quality. The worst car I've ever encountered and owned. Used to own a 15 year old BMW and a 20 year old Volvo; both were ten times as reliable as this new/near new VW, even though this Golf was well taken care for and always serviced on time.

Useless piece of s**t. Never backed up by the dealer, nor the importer. Never, never, any VAG products for me again.

The funny thing: I actually got a good trade in on this car that was a rolling wreck. Suckers are born every minute.

VW usually stood for quality some time back, but that means nothing nowadays.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2012

14th Sep 2012, 11:38

Original reviewer, also forgot:

Front brake disks, twice because of warping and poor manufacturing.

Wheel bearing on one side.

Servo pump leaking (not fixed, just added oil - too expensive to fix and was getting fed up with the car).

Some rubber hose on the axle (don't remember the name of it).

17th Sep 2012, 05:05

Did you actually read the review? It's over 10 years since I owned this car (luckily), and this car was purchased BRAND NEW from an authorized VW dealer. I had this car from 95 to 02, i.e. about 7 years.

17th Sep 2012, 17:26

Yes, I read all of the review.

19th Sep 2012, 15:21

So what's this about any accident; mind I had this car from new. This car barely had a parking ding on it when I sold it in 02, and was never in any accidents whatsoever. Besides the respray, all problems were mechanical and electrical, and not related to the car body. Is that so hard to understand?