Audi 90 Reviews from UK and Ireland

1982 Audi 90 Quattro 2.2 litre 5 cylinder petrol

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre 5 cylinder petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous carFiat Strada

Summary:

Rare - expensive but truly worth it - converted my Jag dad to Audis

Faults:

Loom fire at 105,000 miles.

General Comments:

Spectacular performance, and truly remarkable handling handling - could drive round small roundabouts at really high speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2009

1990 Audi 90 Quattro 2.3

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carAudi 100

Summary:

She will be around when 2007 cars are long gone

Faults:

Rear discs and pads replaced when I first had her, then nothing until this spring when the main radiator failed. I couldn't source the correct part. Audi UK had 10 in stock @ £345 each, guess what I told them. Instead I fitted one from an ordinary non quattro 90 and blanked off the pipes to the secondary radiator. She has run great all summer, pulling our trailer through the mountains of Wales and has never got hot. Question. What is the secondary supposed to do? Unless you live in Death Valley I don't see the need for it.

She is my third Audi and the best by a mile. 100% reliable, summer and winter, She is nearly 18 years old now, but going as strong as ever.

General Comments:

Not much goes past us on the local Welsh roads; it's real fun watching the rest when snow is on the ground.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2007

1987 Audi 90 2.2e 2.2 petrol

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance221000 kilometres
Previous carAudi 100

Summary:

Excellent value and performance with an outstanding engine and bodywork

Faults:

Very little, radiator needed changing otherwise just the battery once in a while, seats probably need covering now.

General Comments:

Fast, slick and reliable, however boot is a bit small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2006

1988 Audi 90 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

Understated and brilliant

Faults:

I had to do a few jobs when I first bought this - some due to lack of use, it's 18 years old and only got 61k on the clock - one previous owner.

Temperature sender, idle control valve and some wishbone bushes had it as good as new.

General Comments:

This is one of the few cars I have owned that's a "repeat buy". Audi 90s are that good I couldn't do without one!

Its shape doesn't seem to have aged much, and with a private plate mine looks newer than it is.

Comfy, reasonable on fuel, the fantastic torquey 5 pot engine.. parts are not too dear if you know where to go (GSF or similar) although some jobs are tricky.

If you are looking for one, go for the 2.2 or 2.3 10 valve. The 2.0 I have is lacking slightly in power and the 20v models don't have the same low end torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2006

1985 Audi 90 Quattro 2.2

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 miles
Most recent distance199000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Great car, brilliant to drive, converted me to Audi

Faults:

Radiator leaked, replaced with good used item.

Rear brake caliper seized, new part from Audi dealer fitted.

Drivers seat frame fractured (common problem on the older models), replaced with good used item.

Headlamp reflectors dulled (MOT failure), so replaced with good used units.

Various areas of corrosion to the bodywork as the models as old as mine were not galvanized.

Various very minor niggles throughout ownership, but generally very happy with it considering the mileage I covered and it being such an old car.

General Comments:

Was loaned this car whilst my own car was in for bodywork refurbishment and liked it so much I kept it!

An absolute delight to drive with superior road holding & rock solid build quality.

Lovely engine & pleasing V5 exhaust burble!

Surprisingly economical despite bing a performance saloon!

I normally drive automatic cars, but took to this manual transmission with no problems at all, very good gearbox & precise clutch action.

On return of my refurbished car I unfortunately had to sell the Audi and even now, dearly miss it. The new owner (who I know) has also fallen in love with it & really enjoys the drive and has had no problems at all after 6 months owned... touch wood!

Now seriously considering selling my refurbished Vauxhall & buying another Audi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2005

16th Oct 2007, 13:03

It is not a V5, but an inline 5. It is a great engine I agree, and they are ROCK SOLID vehicles.

26th Oct 2009, 16:37

Actually, due to the unique arrangement of the cylinders, it is a V5. They are stacked at a tight angle, but enough of an angle to qualify as a V. I can't say that that kind of engine sounds very balanced, though.

5th Nov 2009, 21:13

If you have an Audi 5 cylinder, then it's an in-line 5. No V formation 5 cylinder engine exists. 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12. That's about it.

3rd Sep 2010, 16:42

V engines have equal cylinders on each bank, how could you achieve this with a five cylinder? A V5 engine refers to the amount of valves per cylinder in V.A.G engines.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews